We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillthwaite Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Special Rate
Dinner, B&B from £149prpn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillthwaite Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    569
    220
    78
    38
    18
See reviews for
63
683
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (923)
  • Mar-May only
    (267)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (230)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (166)
All months
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

2 night Travel Zoo break. Classic room instead of cosy double but still on the small side. refurbished room and bathroom lovely. No view but didn't bother us as we went and sat on the terrace in the evening. Lovely setting and view. Used the pool and spa, changing facilities a bit tight and wish I'd taken a robe so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel with views towards the lake and an excellent restaurant. We booked through Secret Escapes and decided to go for one of the 4 Classic Plus rooms which have the view. Ours was Number 33. It had obviously been renovated quite recently and was excellent. The bathroom included a classy walk in shower and a jacuzzi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidGH59 thank you for taking the time in posting your rewarding review about you recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed the lovely views and found the restaurant to be excellent. Please rest assure that I will pass these comments on to the team. Once again thank you for your review and looking forward... More 

Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Second visit after being enticed back with the lure of a refurbishment. The pictures on the net show a stunning setting for a great get away in a fabulous hotel. However we were given a room no 31 that must have been in another hotel. With dated décor, dirty carpet, cracked bath panel, poor knocked about furniture and sockets in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RichardTraveller_13 thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. Your views are extremely important to the way in which we manage the hotel; the issues you have raised relating to Room 31 have been looked into and we are currently working on correcting and improving these areas, and we do have... More 

London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed had a 3 day break at the end of June for my husband's birthday and were not disappointed. The hotel is incredibly clean and in a great location with free parking. We stayed in the Wordsworth suite which is exactly as pictured and was the room I requested at the time of booking. It has beautiful decor, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bostewa thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were not disappointed . It was pleased to read that you found the hotel very clean and that you enjoyed all the facilities within your room. I am glad that the food and service... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff all helped to make our stay with family and friends a really memorable one. The food, rooms and service were excellent. There were 19 of us and we had a whole area of the restaurant to ourselves which made it really private. All our guests commented on the choice and quality of food. We even had a complementary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill F thank you so much for your great review. I am glad that we met your expectations and that we made your stay with your family and friends really memorable. I am very glad that you enjoyed your dining experience in the restaurant, Please rest assured that I will pass these comments on to the team. Once again... More 

Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very disappointed with our two day break to the Hillthwaite House Hotel. Advertised and rated 4* you would expect to have high expectations for this hotel. The hotel is situated up a steep hill and is absolutely not accessible for people with disability problems, this isn't mentioned At all in their write up. Parking is dire and the entrance via... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BillingeRoamer, thank you so much for your review regarding your recent two day break at the hotel. I am sorry that, unlike the vast majority of our guests and online reviewers, you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. I would also like to thank you for taking... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

went to Hillthwait for 2 night break.had cosy double room.no view but room was perfect for what we wanted.spotlessly clean and decorated to high standard. we had a great choice of menu,served by staff who catered for all our needs. all the staff made us feel so welcome. we will certainly return at some time.thanks to all at hillthwait.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm K, thank you so much for your wonderful review about the room , food and our team. It was great to read that you experienced a warm and friendly welcome from our team. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hillthwaite in the near future.... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have only visited once and used the swimming pool and restaurant. The swimming pool was small and didn't have any reclining chairs, the sauna and steam room were both small too. Afternoon Tea was delicious with a varied selection of savoury and sweet delicacies. I would visit the restaurant again but not use the pool area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cazbaz6, thank you for your recent review regarding your recent visit to the hotel for Afternoon tea and use of the spa. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the afternoon tea. I was however disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in relation to the Spa. I will certainly address the issues you... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful room in an excellent hotel in a wonderful location. Nice swimming pool and sauna+steam room to ease aching legs after long walk. Full Cumbrian breakfast was excellent. Lake view from the "occasion room" was amazing 😀

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Thank you for your recent review about your short break at the hotel, we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Once again thank you for your review as we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards Dawid Croukamp More 

lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The £255.00 two night break, with one 4 course meal included, was dis-appointing. It did not match all the reviews I had read previously. The hotel location was very good, between Windermere and Bowness. It was uphill from Bowness but downhill on entering our room, number 19. The view from the window was of the kitchen air extractor chimney and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear forgetthebull, I would first of all like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for not meeting with your expectations on this occasion regarding your room, dining in the Poets Bar and Restaurant or the facilities offered such as the number of TV channels available in your room. We appreciate that we do not get everything right although we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

303 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay