We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 113 Windermere B&Bs / inns

Thornbank House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thornbank House to your Saves list
Thornbank House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
97%
Ranked #32 of 113 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Hilary A Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Warm and friendly greeting in a beautiful establishment. A marvellous location with Mark and Jane our hosts being extremely knowledgeable about the area. Combining that a wonderful breakfast with a varied menu. Well worth a visit and very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and my Husband came here for a weekend trip for our wedding anniversary, the room was clean and very comfortable, the bed especially. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of options to choose from, it's in a perfect location to explore the surrounding areas, would defiantly go back the this wonderful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thank-you Megan for your great review. Its good to hear uou had a good weekend. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards Jane and Mark More

Brotton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent another weekend here and really enjoyed it. The room and breakfas were faultless. Mark and Jane were very friendly and accomodating. We felt as though we were old freind. Location is ideal 10 mins walk to Boweness to the lake. Plenty of activities going on. Mark and Jane were very helpful with ideas and sugestions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thank you H & E for the great review. It was lovely to see you again and catch up with all the family news. Same time next year ? Jane and Mark More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My father and his partner stayed here recently and loved their mini break. Location was perfect and plenty to do. Room and breakfast or should I say overall was faultless. Staff were accommodating and car space was available my whole stay. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. It's always good to hear we're getting it right. Regards Jane and Mark More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

me and my girlfriend stayed here over the valentines weekend. excellent price for the time of the year. guest house is top notch, excellent comfy beds in very nicely decorated rooms. breakfast was delicious and hosts were very helpful, even providing us with skimmed milk when they stock semi brilliant location, close to the lake with plenty of activities yet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the great review, much appreciated. Good to hear you had a good time at Thornbank , see you again soon? Best regards Jane and Mark More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Pristine premises throughout. Very welcoming, thoughtful and hard working hosts. Comfortable and beautifully decorated room where heating can be adjusted which is a really positive point. Excellent warm bathroom with toiletries, plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. Pleasant, well appointed and comfortable dining room Lots of local information for visits and trips as well as advice on local eateries.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thnak you so much for such an amazing review. It is really apprieciated and we are pleased you had such a lovely time. Hope to see you again soon.Best regards Jane and Mark More

Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Very nice welcome from the owner, helpful information during our stay. My room unfortunately was next to the kitchen, noisy & radio blasting through the walls! Breakfast good but served very early for the holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the radio, we will ensure this does not happen again.We did not realise it was so loud. We are always very happy to accomodate any requests from our guests for a later (or earlier) breakfast time. Best Regards Jane and Mark. More

Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights just before Christmas at Thornbank House and couldnt fault the service we received! The room was beautifully decorated and well equipped, the location perfect (nestled between Windermere and Bowness) and the breakfast extremely filling (catering for a gluten free diet also). Jane and Mark were perfect hosts and advised us on where best to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. I must admit fell running during your stay was ambitious, but we admired your stamina ! Special dietery requirements are never a problem if ordered in advance. Love to Derby , best regards Jane and Mark More

Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

just back from a very wet but happy new year in bowness .we made a good choice in staying at the thornbank .jane and mark made us feel at home from the start .it was cosy and warm and great to get back to after walking in the rain all day . the shower in the bathroom was powerfull and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Lovely review, thank-you. It certainly was wet this New Year but glad you appreciated the heating turned to flat out ! Thanks also for mentioning the marmalade - best regards Jane and Mark More

UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night break celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and bringing in the New Year in Bowness, staying at Thornbank House. I must highly recommend this B&B. The hosts are more than welcoming without being intrusive, the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, the location is great, being more or less half way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, very welcome. It was rather damp during your stay but you definately made the best of it. Best wishes Jane and Mark More

Been to Thornbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornbank House

Also Known As:
Thornbank House Windermere, Lake District
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornbank House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Thornbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.