We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crompton House

Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Hotel amenities
Crompton House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #81 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011
Kez040 Cornwall
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    24
    13
    6
    22
See reviews for
19
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
There are newer reviews for Crompton House
See the most recent reviews
Cornwall
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We arrived late and hence had little contact with the owners (Eddie served us breakfast - we didn't meet Susan) which doesn't particularly bother us but was quite unusual for a B&B. Our only complaint is that we feel the website is a bit misleading. We paid £65 for our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I was looking forward to the wkend away an feel the only thing that let it down was the place in which we stayed. The room was cold the bed had a summer quilt on wen it was winter which I cudnt understand an the only time we seen any 1 was on the last day in which I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

Your girl friend made this reservation with us as a treat for your birthday, when she made the reservation with us our checkin times ect were explained to her. as you had not arrived by our latest check in time and we could not get in touch with you, we decided to leave your keys for you. We only did... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have stayed at Crompton House several times now and would always make it our firast choice when staying in Windermere. Susan and Eddie always make us feel very welcome. The room is always clean and warm, perfect on a cold winters day. Breakfast ,well simply huge and very filling and of a very good quality. This is our little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen/Cardiff, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I came to stay on my way home to Wales from Scotland with my girlfriend for two nights. We didn't really know what to expect and I must say, the stay was magnificent. We stayed on the top floor so we had a great view of the snowy surroundings which were all very pretty. The room was very nicely decorated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, its always a pleasure having people like yourselves stay. More 

lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This b&b was ok! We were greated rather quickly told the basics and then told where our room was and found our way there. The room was very clean. The bathroom was excellent very modern we was in room three. The bedroom was ok the bed was very comfortable which is the main thing. Suitable parking and is in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Salford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is our second stay at Crompton house & Sue & Eddie are a nice couple who made us feel very welcome on arrival (no matter what time of day or night!) We have stayed in 2 different rooms now & both were very clean & tidy & the bed was like sleeping on a huge marshmallow according to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Tyneside
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Both Eddie and Susan were there to greet us as we arrived they were very pleaseant and friendly throughout our stay and couldnt do enough to help. the room was very clean and very cozy and our breakfast was most enjoyable. I would reccomend this hotel to all my friends and family

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guisborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

excellent family run,clean comfortable rooms, great breakfast excellent location and the bonus pass to the leisure center is great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I have stayed at Crompton House for many years and Eddie and Sue have become firm friends of myself, my Mum and my fiance. You are always welcomed with a smile (and hug in our case!) and do not want for anything. They are always on hand to help and the rooms have under gone some lovely decorating recently which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

I don't usually bother writing reviews on places I've stayed but would hate for anyone to read all the excellent write ups on this place and think they're going to be stopping at some 5 star, surprisingly cheap, hotel. Its a tired, pretty sad B&B on a busy road on the outskirts of Bowness. The rooms need a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

I have been waiting for this review for some time, you simply did not adhere to the terms and conditions of your reservation . As for your comments about the room , there are pictures of all of our rooms on our web site for anyone to look at . We have nothing to hide. We are inspected every year... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question