We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    149
    22
    12
    14
See reviews for
72
244
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (414)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

The hotel was warm and immaculate, very comfortable room, spotless clean, hot efficient shower. Lovely staff and the food was top of the range, flavoursome and excellent selection. I did book specifically for the spa, which late rooms and the hotel website said was available. It has now been changed and hopefully the renovations will be complete. I can see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it is so good to hear positive remarks and much appreciated. Sorry about the Leisure Club it has caused me a few problems with guests booking through booking partners but it is beyond my control. Hopefully it will reopen on 1st April. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

I booked the Glenburn at the last minute for myself and my partner. Originally, I found the hotel on laterooms but decided to check their website instead. I'm glad I did, as they had a better offer. When I called I spoke with the very friendly lady on reception and she advised me to go for room 7, one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you so much. We have some good offers on at the moment so booking direct is the best option as they are not available on other sites. Thank you for "the lovely lady" on reception... hope that was me and Room 7 is one of my favourite rooms so I always recommend it. Hope you will visit... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I think we got unlucky and have perhaps been spoiled with some great hotel stays recently, but I can only describe our recent stay as average. We were attracted to the Glenburn because of the access to spa and leisure club at parklands and I have to say paid over the odds in anticipation of this! When we arrived we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Very disappointing to hear that we were just average. Thought I did spoil my guests by giving them complimentary coffee and biscuits in the lounge ..making phone calls on their behalf... free wifi. Maybe I should charge for these extras like the other hotels. The leisure club said the facilities would be open on 1st... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We have been to this hotel absolutely fantastic we had a few nights for our anniversary .the staff were amazing couldn't do enough for you the food was delicious everything was fantastic for our anniversary room was well presented very clean and comfortable definitely recommend this hotel . We will be going back one to remember fabulous hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both. My staff remember you very well as you told them you wished to be well looked after and it seems you were so. Look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn More 

Workington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We booked this hotel just for the one night, but had a really great experience. The staff couldn't have been more helpful (before and during the visit). Really nice, modern décor throughout and the room had a spa bath and rain shower. The hotel restaurant was excellent, really nice food (we had evening meal and breakfast) with very reasonably-priced 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We had a great two night stay at the glenburn hotel .breakfast was lovely we had two evening meals ,they were delicious recommend you try ,the room was spotless and the staff and owners were very welcoming we will be back again in the near future,a big thank you Chris and Joan x

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and nice comments. It was lovely chatting to you both. Hope you enjoyed your weekend with the family. Come and visit again next time you are passing through .. many thanks More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We booked this hotel for my husband's birthday last year and have to say it is a beautiful hotel, good food, great staff and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The bedroom was very clean and the bed was comfortable. This was a very delightful stay and we will definitely stay again. Thank you very much. My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased you had a lovely stay with us and I will pass your comments on to the staff..... Ouch ! not the best shoes to wear for an uphill climb but at least you know for the next time .. see you soon I hope thank you .. by the way we have had a... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Excellent hotel! The food was gorgeous! And the staff very friendly! We loved the four poster bed! The room was beautiful! When we arrived the owners were very welcoming! They could not do enough for us! A big thank you to them and the lovely staff! Sharon and Karina! X

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you ladies for taking the time to write a review. It seems you had a lovely time even though the weekend got off to a bad start with the puncture. It was lovely to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I stayed in the four poster bedroom which was really clean the bedroom was spacious with beautiful furniture the staff were very helpful and always making sure yo had everything you needed the food was amazing especially the breakfast really good choice of different breakfast food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

Our stay at The Glenburn Hotel was a gift from our Daughter and Son in Law, and what a lovely gift it was, two nights stay bed breakfast and evening meal, and what can we say about the welcome that we received when we arrived, and the food is of excellent quality, nothing is too much trouble, Lamb Shanks, Steak,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It was a lovely treat for you both. Pleased you enjoyed the food ..chef's back this weekend so no more cooking for me for a while. Lovely to meet you and see you again I hope More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question