We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    148
    22
    12
    14
See reviews for
69
242
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (408)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a gem The Glenburn Hotel is - it's rare to find such a well presented and cared for hotel, with owners and staff who really look after their guests. The location is ideal, an easy walk into both Windermere and Bowness, yet overlooking woodland and very peaceful at night. The bedrooms are stunning: tastefully decorated, well furnished and spacious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the River Cottage belonging to The Glenburn Hotel for 2 nights with some friends. The cottage was very clean and spacious, enough for the 5 of us and it was walking distance to the town centre. My friends even remarked that it should be classed as a 4* accommodation, not 3*. Even though it was supposed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was an amazing trip the hotel room was decorated beautifully, The bed had swan towels and chocolates on arrival, and a spa bath. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was really tasty and lots of choices All in all a great place to stay. A star recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a night with my wife and daughter. The room was small and the room and hotel need a lot of work to update it. My wife is gluten free but when I asked the staff in the morning they simply said they didn't know, Im sure there are laws about this now, anyway, don't think we'll stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can assure the guest that we do cater for guests who are Gluten Free. Normally guests let us know in advance and I myself go out and purchase any products required. I am not sure which room the guest stayed in as this goes back to November but our family triple room is a... More 

UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was warm and immaculate, very comfortable room, spotless clean, hot efficient shower. Lovely staff and the food was top of the range, flavoursome and excellent selection. I did book specifically for the spa, which late rooms and the hotel website said was available. It has now been changed and hopefully the renovations will be complete. I can see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it is so good to hear positive remarks and much appreciated. Sorry about the Leisure Club it has caused me a few problems with guests booking through booking partners but it is beyond my control. Hopefully it will reopen on 1st April. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the Glenburn at the last minute for myself and my partner. Originally, I found the hotel on laterooms but decided to check their website instead. I'm glad I did, as they had a better offer. When I called I spoke with the very friendly lady on reception and she advised me to go for room 7, one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you so much. We have some good offers on at the moment so booking direct is the best option as they are not available on other sites. Thank you for "the lovely lady" on reception... hope that was me and Room 7 is one of my favourite rooms so I always recommend it. Hope you will visit... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think we got unlucky and have perhaps been spoiled with some great hotel stays recently, but I can only describe our recent stay as average. We were attracted to the Glenburn because of the access to spa and leisure club at parklands and I have to say paid over the odds in anticipation of this! When we arrived we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Very disappointing to hear that we were just average. Thought I did spoil my guests by giving them complimentary coffee and biscuits in the lounge ..making phone calls on their behalf... free wifi. Maybe I should charge for these extras like the other hotels. The leisure club said the facilities would be open on 1st... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to this hotel absolutely fantastic we had a few nights for our anniversary .the staff were amazing couldn't do enough for you the food was delicious everything was fantastic for our anniversary room was well presented very clean and comfortable definitely recommend this hotel . We will be going back one to remember fabulous hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both. My staff remember you very well as you told them you wished to be well looked after and it seems you were so. Look forward to seeing you again at The Glenburn More 

Workington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We booked this hotel just for the one night, but had a really great experience. The staff couldn't have been more helpful (before and during the visit). Really nice, modern décor throughout and the room had a spa bath and rain shower. The hotel restaurant was excellent, really nice food (we had evening meal and breakfast) with very reasonably-priced 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We had a great two night stay at the glenburn hotel .breakfast was lovely we had two evening meals ,they were delicious recommend you try ,the room was spotless and the staff and owners were very welcoming we will be back again in the near future,a big thank you Chris and Joan x

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and nice comments. It was lovely chatting to you both. Hope you enjoyed your weekend with the family. Come and visit again next time you are passing through .. many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question