We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Windermere hotels

The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Hotel amenities
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
88%
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Stewart C
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    145
    19
    12
    14
See reviews for
66
226
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (113)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had stayed at this hotel in April so we knew what to expect. Comfy warm room, excellent breakfast, friendly and professional service and an ideal base to tour the lakes. Try the blueberry scones at The Waterside Coffee Shop near the pier in Ambleside. Grizedale forest for walking, cycling and activities for all. Grasmere - check out the gingerbread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Old, renovated guest house. Tiny bedroom but comfy bed and tiny clean en-suite (shower no bath). Up two narrow flights of stairs, ancient key to lock flimsy door. Every word and sound can be heard from the next bedroom. If you want dinner from the 'restaurant' you must book by 3pm and specify what you are having. Our Tika chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was going to say not my hotel then I realised when the chicken in the tikka was missing. Like me ordering a vegemite sandwich from Australia and not knowing what to expect. I remember the guests from down under very well because I was cooking that night. The guests ordered Chicken Tikka not Tikka... More

Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights on 17th & 18th September in room 18 which was facing the main road. Really nice room and bathroom and room were both spotless. Nice touch were the towels done up like swans on the bed. Only thing that wasn't a real issue was the noise from the early morning traffic when you had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SW England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I used this hotel several times, a few years ago, but it changed hands shortly after our last visit. Now, a few years later, we have enjoyed a weekend at the hotel. I am pleased to say that standards certainly have not dropped. The hotel is clean and tidy, the rooms well presented and comfortable. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Always good to see returning guests at The Glenburn. Love your comments and pleased our standards are as good as the previous owners as he was a hard act to follow and it takes time to achieve a good reputation. Many thanks and look forward to seeing you again. More

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Lakes for a two-day walking holiday in September and chose, again, the delightful Glenburn Hotel in Windermere. The Owners and staff were all very welcoming, and friendly, as usual, and special praise to the lovely black-haired waitress, who is such a treasure, and asset to this hotel. We dined at the hotel on both nights, and the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Always a pleasure to see you both at The Glenburn... your comments are greatly appreciated and I will pass on your comments. More

Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a beautiful stay, pretty close to the lake(5 mins walk). The rooms were nice and cozy with a Jacuzzi in the bathroom ! Friendly staff (they served us chocolate cake pretty late in the night on request ) and good breakfast! We loved the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights, a Friday and Saturday. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was excellent and the bathroom clean and spacious. The breakfast was very nice and the staff again were pleasant and helpful. The next time we visit Windermere we will be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Lovely review thank... appreciate you taking the time to write this. My staff read all of the reviews so I am sure they will really pleased with your comments. Thank you ..See you again at The Glenburn More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a couple of nights celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. We were in room 18 and although the room a bit small it was adequate. We chose tohave a meal for our anniversary on the second evening and the food was amazing!! The staff are VERY attentive but unfortunately when I called to give our time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Sorry about the mix up with the wine. I have spoken with the girls about the telephone call and they said all they could here was crackling on the line when you called to book for the restaurant and this is why they could not understand what you were saying.... I don't think... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room (15) very comfortable and attractively decorated. This room is at the back of the hotel so is quiet. The Bathroom is small but adequate, although it could do with an extra shelf and somewhere to put things in the shower cubicle. We had dinner in the hotel on 2 of our 3 nights and thought it was excellent, particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for your comments about our food. You seem to have had an enjoyable stay at The Glenburn. I will pass your comments onto the staff they will appreciate that all there hard work is appreciated from the guests. Look forward to seeing you again sometime More

Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly, and the room we stayed in was a nice size, and clean; although it was not hoovered during our stay, so fluff and bits of leaf built up, despite us wiping pour shoes at the front door. Good choice at breakfast, and staff were attentive. We had the whirlpool bath, and after using it I understand why... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and I have noted your comments about the spa bath .. I think most woman would tie there hair up.. but I did have a gentleman with rather long hair at the weekend.. on a lighter note I hope that wasn't you my dear .. I will have a word with the staff about... More

Do you own or manage The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant