We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Windermere hotels

The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
88%
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Simon H
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    143
    19
    11
    14
See reviews for
65
221
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for two nights, a Friday and Saturday. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was excellent and the bathroom clean and spacious. The breakfast was very nice and the staff again were pleasant and helpful. The next time we visit Windermere we will be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a couple of nights celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. We were in room 18 and although the room a bit small it was adequate. We chose tohave a meal for our anniversary on the second evening and the food was amazing!! The staff are VERY attentive but unfortunately when I called to give our time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room (15) very comfortable and attractively decorated. This room is at the back of the hotel so is quiet. The Bathroom is small but adequate, although it could do with an extra shelf and somewhere to put things in the shower cubicle. We had dinner in the hotel on 2 of our 3 nights and thought it was excellent, particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were friendly, and the room we stayed in was a nice size, and clean; although it was not hoovered during our stay, so fluff and bits of leaf built up, despite us wiping pour shoes at the front door. Good choice at breakfast, and staff were attentive. We had the whirlpool bath, and after using it I understand why... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and I have noted your comments about the spa bath .. I think most woman would tie there hair up.. but I did have a gentleman with rather long hair at the weekend.. on a lighter note I hope that wasn't you my dear .. I will have a word with the staff about... More

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our young family came to stay at Glenburn Hotel and we checked out a day early. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and looking at their website, we were convinced this would be a lovely place for us to stay, but in all honesty it was a disappointment. We understood that the hotel could not provide a cot bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and apologies for the disappointing stay. It was at the guests request to bring a cot as he was afraid the child would fall out of the bottom bunk bed. We did not refuse to supply a cot we asked the guest if he had his own cot and he said yes. Breakfast can be... More

Bicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for a week at the glenburn with our children and parents and had a lovely stay. As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome and shown the restaurant menu and local areas of interest that the children may like. We stayed for dinner the first evening which we all found delicious ,and the cooked breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Glenburn. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Stanthorpe, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed 4 nights at Glenburn. Thank you to the staff who all were friendly, helpful and in every way helped us to feel welcome and cared for. We had dinner in the hotel on two occasions and the food was delicious and beautifully served, as were our breakfasts. Located between two villages meant that we had the best of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed the food in the restaurant. I will pass your comments to the staff .. they will be delighted. Thank you and hope to see you again at The Glenburn More

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of the month.Like previous reviews from other people we cannot find fault with it.We had a four-poster room,number 7,which is at the front of the hotel but you cannot hear any traffic from the road at all.The staff were terrific,very helpful and hardworking.The breakfast was excellent and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What can I say... THANK YOU ! what a fantastic review. It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The staff will enjoy reading your comments it is great to get good feedback. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My mum and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Glenburn with my 9 and 6 year olds. I cannot say a bad word about this lovely little hotel! We were greeted at the reception desk by a very friendly lady who showed us round the hotel lounge, bar and restaurant and then to our room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Wonderful review thank you. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments were a treat to read! We are considering changing the family room to a room with bath and shower because we understand most parents wish to bath their children. It was a pleasure to have the children staying at the hotel and we... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Late booking for 2 nights only room left was number 6. It was nicely presented with plenty of room and a large en suite with spa bath. Didn't use the hotel bar and only had breakfast on one day which was good even though my poached eggs were not runny.....overall it was a lovely break and I would definitely stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glenglen, Owner at The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Windermere and your stay at The Glenburn. Hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenburn Hotel And Restaurant
Glenburn Hotel Windermere
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Windermere with
any amenities