We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windermere Centre

Oldfield Road | Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2BY, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Windermere Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Windermere Centre
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This pleasant house of Lakeland Stone is a training centre, mainly for Christian activities. It is open to other visitors to Windermere if they want to stay for bed and breakfast. The rooms cannot be compared with a hotel as they many are smaIl with only the basic furniture. The beds are comfortable and all rooms are en suite. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca G, Marketing Manager at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. Rebecca. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Absolutely never again.dirty room and ... nice to have a breakfast sitting on the corner of table due to lack of room (elbow 2 elbow).coffee and sugar provided at room stuck to plate and when try to use sugar - rock hard. would be waste fo time 2 describe what the shower was look like. Windemere it's a lovely place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca G, Marketing Manager at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Oh, I'm so sorry that you've had a bad experience like this. I am very surprised and concerned to hear that the room wasn't clean - certainly if you had drawn this to the attention of a member of staff while you were here, we would have been keen to try to rectify the situation immediately for you. If you... More

Wolfsberg, Austria
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stopped here for one night with a friend, each booking a single room. I'm happy to note that the single price is exactly half of a double room - which not many places seem to do these days. This is a christian centre, run purely at weekends it appears. It was a pleasant place to stay. We had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca G, Marketing Manager at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Thank you - we're very pleased to hear of your experience. Oh, and we're not just for weekends, honest! More

Merseyside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Came here for a church weekend early March. Very pleasant place to stay. Food excellent apart from Saturday lunch which was a strange pasta dish! Having a bar was a nice touch. Not too far from town centre. Lovely grounds adjoining church where we were made most welcome. Hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca G, Marketing Manager at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm very sorry you didn't like the pasta! It's great to hear you had a lovely time with us, though - thanks for letting us know. More

Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was able to get this hotel at a good deal in booking.com for one night and was thrilled on reading the reviews on trip advisor. The room that was offered to me was next to the parking lot. I could hardly sleep during the night and the next day was surprised to find cockroaches in the washroom. When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca G, Marketing Officer at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback - we appreciate your review. We're shocked and dismayed that this has been your experience of the Centre. As it was a while ago that you stayed with us and we don't currently have the full information about your stay, it's not very easy for us to track... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and I was impressed both times. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and well maintained. Food here is always absolutely fantastic; I have several food allergies and when staying away I have become accustomed to getting what everyone else is getting but without some defining ingredient such as the sauce and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca G, Marketing Officer at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, Andy - we look forward to having you back with us, too! More

Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed twice before and have booked to stay again in march. I love the friendliness of all the staff, the food is wonderful.The rooms are clean and there is no need for a tv in the room. The timetable for the art course is great, leaving a couple of hours spare time in the afternoon to visit local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca G, Marketing Officer at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We're very pleased that you've enjoyed your stays with us, and we look forward to having you back in March! More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was here for a weekend in November 2013. This is the fourth time I've stayed at this center as it is used for residential weekends as part of a course I am doing. It is a lovely place to stay, all the staff are welcoming and friendly, the rooms are spotlessly clean. This weekend I had a large three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca G, Marketing Officer at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Aw, that's great to hear - thank you for this lovely review! More

Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this centre whilst attending a conference recently. It is a Christian run establishment which is welcoming and inclusive. The food was beautiful and there was no problem catering for special diets. It is a short walk from the centre to the centre of Windermere so is close to shops, cafes, pubs restaurant etc. My room was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rebecca G, Marketing Officer at The Windermere Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful time with us, and we hope to see you again soon. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Windermere Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Centre

Address: Oldfield Road | Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Windermere Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windermere Centre Lake District

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay