We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 112 Windermere B&Bs / inns

Brendan Chase

1-3 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Hotel amenities
Brendan Chase
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brendan Chase to your Saves list
Ranked #92 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Frank G London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    9
    8
    26
See reviews for
24
28
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

David was nice and patient with us. We are visiting from Ruckersville, Virginia. Our room was clean and spacious. The breakfast he served was delicious. We only wish we could have stayed longer! We plan to stay here again the next time we visit Cumbria in the Lake District.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed for one night with family. Location is very good and also fair priced. I felt room was bit cramped but overall a decent B&B. Owner David comes across as little rude englishman with his straight forward talks. We reached early for the check-in time, but after initially saying us to wait, David allowed us to go to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed in a few b&b's but this one is awful! The owner David is 'Victor Meldrew' so be warned. He speaks his mind, can come across as very rude and is definitely in the wrong job! We stayed in the family room 6 which was average but when we were showed our room we were told the aerial connection for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Litespeed1947, Owner at Brendan Chase, responded to this review

We do have to apologise for disturbing these guests due to a problem with the TV reception. As a result of a fault we had to make a temporary repair in the absence of an engineer . We apologised profusely at the time to all concerned. The fault has now been located and rectified. You made no mention of these... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

I had a superb stay at the Brendan Chase Hotel and found David the host to be extremely helpful; giving very valuable information to ensure that my stay in the Lake District was not wasted. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the breakfast was plentiful. Thank you David, I will most definitely be visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I may not have many B&B experiences, but this is the worst of all. The owner (? guess he`s an owner, because any manager with this attitude would be fired) behaved like a retired teacher (no offence) after a very hard dramatic life. Treated me, probably because of my foreign accent, as I wouldn`t understand anything, assuming I arrived with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed here only a night, and to start with the positives, because they are deserved, the room was clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was shiny and new, the location of the B and B was excellent, and breakfast was filling. There is plenty of information to be had in the living room, and David who runs the place made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ramsey, Isle Of Man
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night with my family. Hotel was clean, although the toilet I used in the morning was not. David was helpful, but although I'd booked a twin room and a small double room, we were put in 2 very cramped rooms at the top of the house which were basically single rooms with double beds, this meant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I have to say we were a little worried about staying at Brendan Chase due to the negative reviews on here. We need not have worried as David was generally very friendly and helpful. I think perhaps he has a very dry sense of humour and speaks his mind but in regards to his 'rules' which people refer to, what's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was one of the worst B&B experiences I've had. 1. The house stinks of cooking fat. I have posted a picture of a nasty pan of old cooking fat that sits out all day in the kitchen. The smell from this fills the house. I couldn't sleep because of the smell. I had to wash ALL our clothes after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here. It is dirty - the whole place smells of old cooking fat. Even my clothes that had been in the room stank of old cooking fat and I had to wash everything when I got home. The owner is rude and makes you feel uncomfortable. The rooms are old and very cold and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 16

Been to Brendan Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brendan Chase

Address: 1-3 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brendan Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brendan Chase Hotel Windermere
Brendan Chase Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brendan Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.