We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windermere Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £119
The Windermere Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Christine M Carlisle, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    178
    196
    77
    41
    28
See reviews for
55
315
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (520)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from a coast and country, self drive, weekend at this hotel. Really enjoyed our stay and no complaints at all. The staff were very pleasant and obliging, the breakfast and dinner were excellent. Entertainment in evening was okay but we went out to the local pubs anyway in the evenings, the Queens was good and had plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 5 day holiday at The Windermere Hotel on a Shearing's tour and we enjoyed the magnificent view from our upgraded tiny room! We were really disappointed with the size of the room, cramped isn't the description we could give as that would give an impression of space! We had to move a chair just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel. Great food and drink. Room was clean and serviced regularly. We have a 12 month old and were accommodated perfectly both at dinner and in the bar. One thing I would comment on is the amount of non English speaking staff in the restaurant. We struggled understanding them at times and weren't on our own!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed at Windermere hotel for 3 nights had a loveley time seeing Bowness and all surrounding areas.The hotel is really good and in an exellent location. Being a celiac I found the whole experience of eating really good as they have as seperate menu for gluten free. I would definitely come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Windermere Hotel, food was good, staff polite and helpful, our room was nice with plenty of hot water for showers. The only downside for us was the bar area was set out like a waiting room, also the entertainment was poor, one night a man on a piano, quite boring,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the food and found our staff polite and helpful. We do take customer service very seriously here at The Windermere Hotel. We will look into your comments regarding our entertainers, but we haven’t had any complaints before about either the entertainers or the... More 

Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed at The Windermere Hotel and would like to congratulate Giles and his team on a job well done! The room was spotless, with a beautiful view of Lake Windermere and the care was second to none. There was a slight problem with our room door on arrival which was resolved quickly by immediately calling a locksmith and dealing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the food and found our staff polite and helpful. We do take customer service very seriously here at The Windermere Hotel. We will look into your comments regarding our entertainers, but we haven’t had any complaints before about either the entertainers or the... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 2 night break at this hotel and didn't enjoy it too much. When booked I hadn't realised that the hotel was owned by Shearings Holidays so the hotel was full of old people on coach holidays. Given keys to one room which was completely depressing, very small, dark and should have been a single not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Although most of our guests tend to be of an older generation, however we do cater to customers of all ages and have quite a lot of customers who drive themselves. As you stated we do try and make sure all our customers are happy and you did stay in room 218 which like you said has just... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5 day break with Shearings. Good weather to see this beautiful scenery. Paid £29 each to have scenic view which we really enjoyed. Room comfortable with good wardrobe and cupboard space . Small TV. Bathroom very small with very little space for toiletries. Soap,shower stuff,shampoo,hair dryer provided.We got missed out one day by housekeeping. Food generally very good with ample... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am glad that you got to experience the beauty of Windermere in the sun along with the stunning views from your room! Also I am happy to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the variety of food we have to offer. My apologies about your room being missed out, we do try our best... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old hotel, but a very warm welcome from reception staff. Food excellent rooms small but comfortable. We had a breath taking view of lake. Great location for exploring lakes. Only I criticism is that lift is small,

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are an old hotel, built in 1847 and been open ever since! I am very glad that you enjoyed the view from your room. It is most certainly a great place to explore being opposite the bus and train stations. Kind Regards Giles More 

sandbach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tired Hotel the owners have tried to cater for coach trips for mainly the elderly food and reserant was good as was the service but the place is let down by the tired bedrooms and rotting and mancy window frames

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

“Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned we do Escorted Coach tour holidays in the hotel and we do our best to cater for customers of all ages. We are continuously refurbishing bedrooms and I am sorry for your disappointment and we will be investigating your comments. Kind Regards Giles More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 19 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel
Beech Hill Hotel
#19 of 19 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 19 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay