We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windermere Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
The Windermere Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
billiemo Manchester
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    181
    73
    39
    25
See reviews for
46
297
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went here on a weekend coach trip with Shearings and the journey was less than 2 hours from the Stretton interchange. We couldn't book into our rooms until 4pm so had to leave our luggage in reception. However, once we got into room 204 we found it clean and comfortable. The view was lovely it had all the necessary facilities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you found your room, staff & food to your liking. At peak times our bar does get very busy and you are right in saying there is not enough seats to accommodate everyone at one time however,... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the worst standard room we have ever had in this budget hotel chain. The door catch was hanging off the door jam. The door needed a coat of decent paint. The room was tiny and not very clean. We complained and nothing happened. However the restaurant waiting staff were good and mostly east European. The lake district is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read you had issues with your room which were not rectified during your stay and I apologise for that. I wish you all the best with your future travels. Kind Regards Giles More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had a wonderful Easter Week end at the Windermere Hotel.The Staff were pleasant and helpful. The meals were excellent and we were served promptly by the very efficient waiters. The Hotel is in an ideal location for shops, buses, train and beautiful walks. We highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your Easter break here with us. We are in a fantastic location for exploring the surrounding area. Hopefully you will be back in the future. Kind Regards Giles More 

North East Coast
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
64 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a two night week end break at the Windermere in early March, very good value. Room was pleasant, but the bed a bit smaller than we usually find at Coast and Country hotels so sleep compromised a little. Pleasant view from our front facing room on second floor(lift available), no traffic noise, handy for rail or bus travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for such a great review, I was delighted to read you had a good break. I look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards Giles More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

lovely central hotel,would rate higher if based on the staff and position off hotel, the rooms badly need up dating thats why only average rating. shame.can not fault the excellent staff,view from room 120.beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding the hotel & staff. All being well we are hoping to continue with our refurbishment programme in November. I hope you will return in the future. Kind Regards Giles More 

Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Windemere Hotel is one of the most friendly and efficient I have stayed in. We booked a three night weekend stay.(Friday to Monday). We were given room 26,right next to the "notorious" room 24,no problem,a fairly spacious standard room on the ground floor front. The main meals are on a "half boarders" menu which changes daily.there are three courses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for your comprehensive review regarding your stay here at the Windermere Hotel. I am sure future guests will find it very helpful and help them to make the decision to book with us. I was delighted to read you found us so friendly and efficient. Once again thank you for your review. Kind Regards... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Windermere. Couldn't fault anything for the price paid. Fast and pleasant service for meals, the food of good quality, and quite a selection. This is our second stay here in the last twelve months, and sure to come back again. Keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for such a great review regarding your second stay here. We will definitely keep up the good work. I look forward to seeing you on your third visit! Kind Regards Giles More 

hartlepool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel, as have in the past paid a lot more for bad service in other hotels. The food was good an surroundings very nice. Staff very pleasant and helpfull a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here with us. I was pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I hope to see you return in the not too distant future Kind Regards Giles More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thank you to all the staff at the Windermere Hotel. You all went the 'extra mile' to ensure that our stay was perfect in every way. The food, service, cleanliness and friendliness was the best and we would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am over the moon your stay was “perfect in every way”. We always try to go the “extra mile” to try and ensure our guests have a pleasant stay with us and obviously on this occasion we succeeded! I look forward to welcoming you back once again very... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I spent a lovely five day, four night, stay with two friends recently via a Shearing coach holiday booked over the internet. We had a great time, the coach journey and the driver were excellent. Our rooms were adequate, but the public amenities and dining facilities were good. Everything was well organised, the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for such a great review. I was delighted you read you had a great time with your friends here at the Windermere. All your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on in our next meeting. I hope to see you all again very soon Kind Regards Giles More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question