We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windermere Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £119
The Windermere Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Mrsmac34 County Durham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    176
    191
    77
    40
    28
See reviews for
53
309
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (512)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Old hotel, but a very warm welcome from reception staff. Food excellent rooms small but comfortable. We had a breath taking view of lake. Great location for exploring lakes. Only I criticism is that lift is small,

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandbach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tired Hotel the owners have tried to cater for coach trips for mainly the elderly food and reserant was good as was the service but the place is let down by the tired bedrooms and rotting and mancy window frames

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

“Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned we do Escorted Coach tour holidays in the hotel and we do our best to cater for customers of all ages. We are continuously refurbishing bedrooms and I am sorry for your disappointment and we will be investigating your comments. Kind Regards Giles More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took my elderly parents to this hotel (they chose it) for a weekend break. The receptionist was amazing, dealing with the significant mobility needs of my mother in the most efficient way possible. She showed us to their (pre-booked) disabled access room which was on the ground floor. She then explained the level access arrangements from the car park,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Firstly thank you for your kind comments regarding the receptionist on duty. We do pride ourselves in the customer service skills of our staff and aim to make all of our customers stays as enjoyable as possible. Also we are glad that you liked our rooms and the stunning views and hope you to see you again in... More 

Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Family holiday for my mother stayed 3 nights half board. Good location for Windermere, Bowness and train station. Hotel represented good value for money. The standard menu is fine but would highly recommend the al a carte menu. Staff eager to please and are friendly . Decor needs some attention, but it is clean. For my elderly mother access via... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing wrong with this place whatsoever. Our twin room was clean, spacious and had a good view over the town and lake beyond. Half board price Monday to Friday was competitive. Great choice at breakfast and dinner including a chef's special each evening. A choice to upgrade to a la carte menu available but we were delighted with the set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Firstly thank you for your kind comments regarding the receptionist on duty. We do pride ourselves in the customer service skills of our staff and aim to make all of our customers stays as enjoyable as possible. Also we are glad that you liked our rooms and the stunning views and hope you to see you again in... More 

Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely stay at the Windermere hotel. The room was lovely, food excellent, & the staff friendly & attentive. Nothing was too much trouble, even down to somewhere to park our motorbike. Thanks to all at The Windermere Hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The Bowens Firstly thank you for your feedback and the lovely comments which I will pass on to the team with pride. I am so glad you enjoyed all aspects your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Giles More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for one night, the hotel is lovely we couldn't see any of the issues that a few of the previous reviews mentioned. Hotel very clean, room light and airy and large. staff excellant nothing too much trouble and Giles the General Manager, made everyone welcome and on hand, in fact at reception dealing with everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on all your lovely comments to team. I am very proud of my team here at the Windermere hotel and pride ourselves in our customer service. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Giles More 

Market Harborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A long weekend break with my husband and Mum (both of whom hold blue badges. By booking with the local Red Cross we had arranged for a wheelchair to be delivered for my husband and the hotel took receipt and kept it handy for our arrival. They ensured by mother of 90 had a very comfortable room near our twin.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your very kind comments. Glad you had such a wonderful stay and found everything to your liking. We do try our best to make everybody’s stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Giles More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the hotel the staff was very friendly gave us keys to are room.are room was very dirty dust everywhere around curtains on cupboards scenting boards.shower curtain was dirty and stained and also blankets and bedding was stained very Un happy.we called reception they put us in another room twin room 29 was ok not worth £130 at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not find your room up to your standard. As you state we did move you to another room as soon as you brought up that you were unhappy. I am glad that you found our staff friendly. We are currently investigating your... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You start by thanking the wonderful caring professional international staff, at this great located hotel, excellent food .The hotel caters for some elderly people you will enjoy yourself, we did and will return soon. Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your very kind review. Your lovely comments regarding the staff, Hotel & food are greatly appreciated and will be passed on. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Giles More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay