We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Windermere hotels

The Windermere Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
The Windermere Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Bob G Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    167
    70
    38
    25
See reviews for
46
278
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (452)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Make no mistake this is a well managed, clean hotel with great facilities, good food and extremely friendly staff. But why oh why do they spoil it all by being prejudiced against guests who prefer to eat cheese and biscuits, instead of dessert, at meal time? Unbelievably you have to pay an extra £4 per day supplement for the "privilege"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked last minute online fof our 1 night Saturday night break.cost £50 great room clean tidy on suite bathroom.Great breakfast included,Had evening meal at lamplighters rester aunt nearby,slightly more expensive than others around but fantastic food well worth the extra. Most hotels in the lakes will not do Saturday night only so pleased this hotel does,Great stay very reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed friday to monday on a shearings direct holiday which was very good value. The room was small and appeared clean, but after a good inspection left a bit to be desired with numerous cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and dust on skirting, lamps etc, (perhaps a check by management on a regular basis ?). Food was very good,staff friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
norfolk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back after a weekend break with Shearings coach trip,Had a wonderful time,good food and staff,had ground floor room,which was very small for 2 people,shower was very hard to move around in and to get to toilet and I am no waya large person.The room needs quite a good clean which is a shame because it has been updated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a Shearings short break with a group of friends. Enjoyed it immensely. Food good, service excellent, staff friendly, hotel warm and welcoming. Stayed in room 125. More attention needed to cleaning but other members of our party were happy with their rooms. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were made to feel very welcome by the staff at the Windermere Hotel, the overall first impression of the hotel was very good. An old building with lots of lovely history which had been tastefully redecorated and brought up-to-date on the inside. We were given the key to our room and directed to where we could find it -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liverpool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a Shearings coast and country break at this hotel.Firstly our coach driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the area.Checking in was quick and friendly our room was nice and warm the bed was very comfy.All the staff are very pleasant and helpful,the food is very good and presented very well.The hotel is at the top of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at the Windermere Hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others. I look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards Giles More 

peterborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at the Windermere hotel and checked in. We were put into room 45. The room smelt of very bad dampness. We made our way back through the hotel to reception. We complained about the room and were offered the keys to have a look at another room. This room was a superior room which was better, but I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review. I apologise for the issue with the room you were allocated, this matter in being looked into. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and staff. I hope that the initial problem will not put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Giles More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were made most welcome by the lovely Giles and his friendly team. Nothing was too much trouble. The menus were perfect for the New Year break and the tables in the restaurent looked very festive. The food in general was very good. The public rooms were all very nice, but we did feel that although the bedrooms were clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your New Year break with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your family get together here. Windermere is certainly and ideal place to stay to explore the area and well worth another visit!! I hope to see you very soon. Kind Regards Giles More 

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely helpful staff from many different countries provide good old-fashioned service quality. We stayed over Christmas. The menu was varied, beautifully presented, served hot, and promptly. We were allocated a table that was easy to reach on mobility scooter and a veteran (Polish) waiter for the whole 4 days. Reception staff answered all questions and problems often with appropriate action.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review regarding your Christmas break with us. I am so pleased you had such a great time and you were happy with everything during your stay. We all had a great Christmas too and that is down to the wonderful guests we had staying over the Christmas period. I hope to see you next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Windermere

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay