We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Windermere hotels

Holbeck Ghyll Country House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay from £150 prpn.
Save Saved
You added Holbeck Ghyll Country House to your Saves list
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
89%
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    81
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
53
370
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a one night stay at the Holbeck Ghyll for 16.04.14 on a DB&B basis with only a days notice. Have wanted to stay here and dine in the Michelin star restaurant for a long time so had high expectations and I'm pleased to say that this was one of those rare occasions where a hotel not only meets your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our son booked us (and the dog) dinner, bed and breakfast as a surprise birthday treat. He had been before but we were'nt sure what to expect,especially after reading some recent reviews. We arrived and were instantly welcomed by staff and shown to our room in the lodge.The views were stunning and although the room's decor looked as if it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just returned from Holdbeck Gyhll, having stayed eight times over a six year period at least once a year. we despair at some of the comments some guests add to trip adviser. Personally I feel some guests just go out of there way to pick fault and moan because others have rated the hotel very well.That's there choice I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for one night Dinner Bed & Breakfast. Not cheap but worth every penny. Food out of this world, very comfortable accommodation, excellent spa and hot tub. Breakfast was as good as dinner and the whole experience was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great score; I have posted it onto our staff notice board and everyone is delighted. Very glad you enjoyed the outdoor hot tub! Can I suggest that you sign up to our newsletter - we always put our very best offers into our monthly e-shot (we only do one a month so you won't be bombarded).... More

Stalybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a stunning location. The views are magnificent and it has beautiful grounds. Last year I got married at this hotel and despite the beauty of the location I was so disappointed by the standard of customer service that we received at this hotel. The spa and staff at the spa were wonderful and the wedding photographer,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

We are all so shocked to read your review a year later. We are so sorry that you were with out water for so long. We all remember the issue clearly - Greg, our Wedding co-ordintor got the water connected again within minutes of your call; I am sorry that it had been disconnected at all. There should have been... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A big disappointment over all. We booked in for the tasting menu and even though it was specifically requested on booking we were told they had ran out upon arrival. This is completely unacceptable. We were left with the normal menu which was not what we wanted. We ordered gin and tonics with lemon and no ice. They arrived with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read that you had such a poor experience in my restaurant. If that is how one of my team dealt with a simple mistake I offer my sincere apologies. Such lack of customer service is inexcusable. As I don't know your name or the date you came to dine I am unable to comment on... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a very lucky person. My wife had booked a two night stay at Holbeck Ghyll for my 40th birthday. I had looked at the hotel website numerous times in the days leading up to our stay. I then searched for guest reviews and saw some negative comments on this website regarding construction works/noise. I alerted my wife and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Dear Phil and Wendy, Thank you very much for your great review and I am delighted that your visit was very enjoyable. I have posted your comments on our staff noticeboard as well as making a note in your Guest Profile notes that you enjoyed your stay. When you are considering coming back to us please do contact me directly... More

Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
53 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband & I stayed here in 2000 before the hotel became so well known & got it's Michelin star. We were delighted by it then, very comfortable with excellent service & meals. I think Holbeck Ghyll has become complacent & no longer deserves it's reputation. I was annoyed during booking to be asked for a £200 debit card deposit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was saddened to read your posting. I was the chap who refunded your newspaper charge on departure; I really wish that you had mentioned all these things to me when I could have done something about them. I have passed your comments and preferences onto our kitchen team, who are delighted that you enjoyed your starter and dessert and... More

Ulverston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have dined at the Holbeck Ghyll on several occasions In the past, but our visit last weekend was a disappointment. They seem to be catering for too many people to cope efficiently and smoothly. As a result , we all felt overcrowded and slightly rushed. As an example, on arriving the reception rooms were full so we were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you feel that your recent visit to us did not match your previous expectations. We have sent a couple of chairs away for re-covering so we are a some tables down on where wee would normally be. I am also very disappointed that you did not enjoy sitting by the fire in the front hall;... More

Yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us booked an overnight here. It was chosen for its location and Michelin starred restaurant. Meet and greet was professional and we were quickly shown to our fell view suite. Room 8. The suite was large, well appointed. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, and mentioned in an earlier review, we too were overlooking the construction work at this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that the building work disturbed you. As you are aware it is three rooms that are affected and we are hoping that the groundworks will end this week; I am sorry to say but they have over-run. Thank you for pointing out that the noise is restricted to a small part of the site and... More

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District
Address: Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in seven acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room and gym equipment. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which has retained a Michelin Star for seven consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbeck Ghyll Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.