We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windermere Manor Hotel

Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere Manor Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    102
    45
    27
    9
See reviews for
47
170
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Shipley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an over night at this hotel. Lovely place nice gardens.Good room with lake side view. Food very good. The only things that let it down were a couple of members of staff. We were told we were late for dinner( Booked for 7.00pm there for 6.55.????) felt like naughty customers then I had the aurdasity to ask for 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I apologise that a couple of issues deterred from the otherwise good stay you had. There is no excuse for bad attitude and when I spoke to you at the time I promised this was being dealt with and it has. With regards the tea/coffee in the rooms, there... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked for one night. It was very good experience and helpful staff. It contains a small bar area. And we had a wonderful breakfast. The location of hotel was near to lake and scenery near the hotel was attractive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I will certainly share your feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated well back from the main road in gorgeous grounds and beautiful views over the lake.Our room had a great view!We had dinner bed and breakfast booked for one night from an Amazon local deal.The dinner was lovely,great portion sizes and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for!Prices at the bar were reasonable too.Breakfast was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and it will be my pleasure to share this with my team. I apologise for the "not so hot" breakfast and I will certainly discuss this with my chef. Our staff do go through extra training to make them aware of the needs of all customers but especially our Blind and Partially sighted guests,... More 

UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I feel bad about this review as the cliental are mainly blind customers but the hotel could be so much better if they employed a cleaner. Everything and everywhere was dirty and grubby. Little things like the taps in our room where odd but they had fitted a new bath and toilet but left the old taps and a damaged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I must say I am extremely disappointed at your comments. The pictures you have taken, are not representative of the hotel and are where the housekeeping department were working cleaning the rooms. I am truly sorry you were not happy with your stay and would welcome the opportunity to... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in a quiet and scenic spot, the hotel is well decorated and furnished. we had a spacious, airy room with large windows on both sides and a side view of the Lake. There was even a large outdoor patio space from the French windows which would have been perfect for sitting outside if only the weather had been fine!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I will certainly share them with the team. It is always a pleasure to know we have lived up to our guests expectations and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to "the manor" soon. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had not booked in the Windermere area as we are unsure whether to stop over, and after looking at various booking sites we decided to "take potluck" and check out what was available at the Windermere Manor Hotel. The staff were very helpful and showed us a series of rooms, especially after we mentioned our interest in King bedded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and it will be my pleasure to share this with the team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime you are in the Lake District and we also have hotels in Devon and Somerset.......just look for Vision Hotels. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After booking this hotel through Amazon Local Deals for a discounted price we were both excited but unsure of what to expect. From arriving at the hotel to leaving we experienced excellent service, extremely friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. The food in the restaurant was delicious, prompt and the atmosphere in the hotel was welcoming and relaxed. The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which I will certainly share with the team. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. More 

Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just returned home from a fabulous 2 night stay and in this very fast uncompromising world we live in, it is vey hard to find great customer service nowadays.From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Mellisa who had a smile as good as the sunrise she was so attentive and very very professional, what a lovely welcome, she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind comments and I have shared your experience with the team. It is always a pleasure to hear that we have provided a service that our guests enjoy and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Enjoyed 3 night stay ,staff very helpful and friendly .Billiant for the visually impaired and their trusty dogs .I would say that the hotel itself was very dated but clean our room was at the back of the hotel ,above the service areas so noisy at times with deliveries etc .i would stay again but go for superior room or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I will certainly share these with the team. We are currently looking at possibilities for upgrading some of our public areas but I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. More 

Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Reception area and public rooms visited were overdue for decor & very creaky. Dining room part bright & airey & other area very manor house traditional. Food unadventurous and minimal in choice, but costed accordingly. Buffet breakfast, but no fried eggs!! We had a good sized clean and tidy bedroom, with a super king comfy bed with newer decor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I have noted your comments and compliments. Ref Fried eggs they are available by ordering with your waiter/ess but I think maybe this was not made clear at the time and I apologise for this situtaion we look forward to welcoming you back in the future More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question