We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Windermere

4.0 of 5 Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
YHA Windermere
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Windermere
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
12
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic location for the southern lakes, with grounds for kids to explore and games for them to play. Accommodation is on the basic side, but that doesn't matter when you're out and about so much. Thoroughly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy P, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for your review guys, glad you enjoyed the new board games we had donated to the hostel. Thanks, Andy Partridge, Hostel manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I (both young females) stayed here in mid-February for one night. The hostel is a little out of the township of Windermere but is easy to get to even without a car. You can take a bus to Troutbeck Bridge and walk just over a mile though it is all uphill. When we arrived, the staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy P, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we do try and make it clear on all bookings channels that the hostel is 2 miles out of town and up a hill. But glad you had a good time. Thanks, Andy Partridge Hostel manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our third stay at this hostel, and like the other two times, we thouroughly enjoyed it. We had three breakfasts and one evening meal, which were tasty and good value for money. The staff here were friendly and helpful. We had a three bed room, which although basic, was clean and had a lovely view. Our only critisism... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your review, Ill look in to the chilly lounge, when the fires on it is often too hot. But it would make it very cosy, Ill make sure the fire is lit on cold evenings. More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've just spent 2 nights here (1 adult, 3 children, aged 9, 11 and 13) and had an excellent time. The 4-bed room was clean, warm and comfortable and just what we needed after an enjoyable time plodging around the beautiful Lake District! Staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities are great. Order food at the bar to save... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, General Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, look forward to seeing you in the spring/summer. Thanks, Andy Partridge Hostel manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here before and once again didn't disappoint. Views were amazing across the lakes, grounds are beautiful and some great walks from there into Windermere and Ambleside I feel this is the best way to stay in the lakes with kids being able to have the flexibility to cook your own food, make cups of tea etc. However, I must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, General Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for the review guys, glad you enjoyed supper club, we love it as well. Thanks, Andy Partridge, Hostel manager More 

Prestonian Lancashire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just returned from a weekend at Windermere YHA to celebrate my daughters 30th birthday. Hired out the hostel for the weekend and had a brilliant time with over 50 family and friends. booking and liaising with staff before event easy and helpful. On arrival hostel organised clean tidy fire made , extra pans plates etc organised when asked. Andy manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, General Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Glad you had a great birthday. Thanks for leaving the place spotless. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Andy Partridge, Hostel Manager More 

Alstonville, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night very good value good cooking facitilties our double bed was comfort.unfortunely we had noisy niegbours who apparently drunk to much due to the reaching noise late in the night What a lad

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for your review guys, glad you had a good time.] Thanks, Andy Partridge Hostel Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is not cheap, however compared to the others in the area its probably the cheapest! Visited with my family back in 2011 and we had a really amazing time. Even though its a youth hostel, its suitable for families. My only complaint is the rooms were a bit too small, however the view outside makes up for it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review. Sorry about the small room we only have a few of these but it depends on our availability, hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Andy Partridge, Hostel Manager More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We had everything we needed here for our one night stay. The room was basic but comfortable. We enjoyed the dinner and breakfast, well stocked bar. Free wifi for yha members. Woke up to a fantastic view from the dining room! Great ground for our two boys (9&6) to explore too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Andy Partridge, Hostel Manager More 

Ormskirk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Great service from very friendly staff. Food was marvellous and accommodation wonderful for a hostel. If you want to spend a relaxing weekend in the Lake District then YHA Windermere is the place to be. And ..it is a youth hostel. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for review, we really appriciate it, we hope to see you again. Thanks, Andy Partridge, Hostel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay