We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coppice Guest House

Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coppice Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Coppice Guest House
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    49
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
88
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a terrible week my husband and I decided to take a trip to Windemere, along with our miniature poodle. After findings the Coppice online i called and booked directly with a reasonable surcharge for the dogs stay too. The room was lovely and the guesthouse is perfectly placed in between Bowness & Windermre, it was a lovely relaxing weekend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back home from our 1 night stay at the coppice. On arrival there was adequate spaces to park our car. Was shown to our room (room 5). Very polite. The room was just about the right size for us. A comfy bed and the ensuite was fabulous. With mood lighting and a big spa bath. The shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely, well run BnB. We were greeted very warmly by the owner who gave us all the information about the guest house and surrounding areas. We were a bit early so decided to take a walk down to the Lake to book our boat trip for the next day before checking in. The location is excellent, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Just had a lovely weekend at this hotel. We stayed in room 1 and it was perfect. The four poster bed was so comfortable, the bath in the room was amazing and it was very clean with our beds made up even though we only stayed 2 nights. Breakfast was lovely with cereals and fruits to choose from then a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my partner stayed here over the valentines weekend and it was perfect! The b&b is right between windermere and bowness so it was easy walking distance to either town. Barbara, the owner was superb we could not fault her at all. As soon as we arrived she showed us a map of windermere and bowness and where things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Just on way home after a two night stay at The Coppice The room was ground floor and dog friendly very clean and nice attention to detail .. Little decanter of sherry on arrival and doggy towels for Ramsey . Excellent breakfast again service was great and they went the extra mile Very informative with local attraction My sons room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Lovely little b&b, very clean a short walk from both Windermere and bowness where there is plenty to do! My only complaint is that we stayed in room 8, wich we only booked as the coppice website said it had a queen size bed. As my boyfriend and I are quite tall (I'm 5'9 and he is 6'7) we thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

hi thanks for you review,, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.. I think you just got a little mixed up between Kings and Queens.. We only HAVE KING sixe or 4 poster beds in most of our rooms. No queens at all I am afraid, We do thank you for taking to time to write AND FOR STAYING WITH... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at The Coppice in Windermere. The B&B was perfect, our room (No1) was fab! The breakfast was delicious, sampling both the full house breakfast and boiled eggs all using fresh produce. The B&B is a 10-15 minute walk into Bowness on Windermere and a 5 minute walk into Windermere village. We wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I booked this Guest House based on reviews and its location and we were not disappointed. Its was extremely clean. We stayed in room 5 with the spa bath and it was so nice and relaxing. The room was lovely and warm, the bed and bedding were very clean and eztremly comfortable. Towels were lovely and crisp white and always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and please next time book direct with us through our web-site.. We can give added value to your break. You have said so much that you enjoyed. please contact us direct when you wish to rebook and we will give you a discount. Warm Regards Chris and Barbara. More 

Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Excellent service from Barbara and Chris. About 10 minute walk to the Lake. Friendly, superb breakfast, clean rooms, fresh towels every day. Easily accessible to Lake front walk and shops. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed all of your stay and as you mention it is not to fare to walk to the lake or back into Windermere village or down to the boats for a cruise into Bowness. We have just finished refurbishing and redecorating Room 9 on the ground floor ready for the start... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question