We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coppice Guest House

Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coppice Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Coppice Guest House
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    102
    50
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, ideally located between Windermere village (5 min walk) and Bowness (15 min walk). Friendly owners and fantastic breakfast. Very accommodating and made the weekend really special. The only area of improvement could be to extend when breakfast is served. We found 9:15 a push as we like a lie in! Definitely recommend and would return. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location in between Bowness and Windermere, room was lovely we had a bath in the room and this was great. Room was clean and spacious, would recommend upgrading to the room with the bath. Breakfast was also very nice, good choice of different dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Coppice, lovely owners who looked after us very well. Our room was beautiful, spotless and spacious. Breakfast was excellent, anything cooked to your liking. Huge selection. Ideally situated between Windermere and Bowness. Perfect. Will definitely be back in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

After a terrible week my husband and I decided to take a trip to Windemere, along with our miniature poodle. After findings the Coppice online i called and booked directly with a reasonable surcharge for the dogs stay too. The room was lovely and the guesthouse is perfectly placed in between Bowness & Windermre, it was a lovely relaxing weekend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Just got back home from our 1 night stay at the coppice. On arrival there was adequate spaces to park our car. Was shown to our room (room 5). Very polite. The room was just about the right size for us. A comfy bed and the ensuite was fabulous. With mood lighting and a big spa bath. The shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Tim, thanks for posting your guests review of your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was only for one night. We noted you had a good nights sleep and the room was properly black out.. All our rooms have black out liners behind the room curtains which helps you have... More 

Derby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This is a lovely, well run BnB. We were greeted very warmly by the owner who gave us all the information about the guest house and surrounding areas. We were a bit early so decided to take a walk down to the Lake to book our boat trip for the next day before checking in. The location is excellent, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your comments about your welcome, the shower and pillows, which were noted and the shower was acted upon, it was checked and found the thermostats coil was seized up and wasn't working properly, hence the warm water. A new coil was fitted that day. Pillows, we do have a standard puffed up pillow on all our beds... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Just had a lovely weekend at this hotel. We stayed in room 1 and it was perfect. The four poster bed was so comfortable, the bath in the room was amazing and it was very clean with our beds made up even though we only stayed 2 nights. Breakfast was lovely with cereals and fruits to choose from then a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

Your comments have again been passed to our wonderful staff and my wife who look after the room servicing and make sure all is pristine for your return that evening after a great day out in our beautiful Lake District or a new influx of important guests ready to enjoy there stay at the Coppice. Very Best regards Chris More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my partner stayed here over the valentines weekend and it was perfect! The b&b is right between windermere and bowness so it was easy walking distance to either town. Barbara, the owner was superb we could not fault her at all. As soon as we arrived she showed us a map of windermere and bowness and where things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your 5ht Wedding anniversary with your first Valentines weekend away with us.. We designed the room for just such occasions for any time anniversaries to have that perfect feeling and set mood for your time with us. We look forward again to welcoming you back for a second stay and relive your first time experience. Very... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Just on way home after a two night stay at The Coppice The room was ground floor and dog friendly very clean and nice attention to detail .. Little decanter of sherry on arrival and doggy towels for Ramsey . Excellent breakfast again service was great and they went the extra mile Very informative with local attraction My sons room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

good morning ?Thanks for your time in writing a review. We are very pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and all the points you mentioned you enjoyed. We do try very hrad to make everyone stay an enjoyable one. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Chris More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Lovely little b&b, very clean a short walk from both Windermere and bowness where there is plenty to do! My only complaint is that we stayed in room 8, wich we only booked as the coppice website said it had a queen size bed. As my boyfriend and I are quite tall (I'm 5'9 and he is 6'7) we thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review

hi thanks for you review,, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.. I think you just got a little mixed up between Kings and Queens.. We only HAVE KING sixe or 4 poster beds in most of our rooms. No queens at all I am afraid, We do thank you for taking to time to write AND FOR STAYING WITH... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay