We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Penrith hotels

BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shap | between the A6 and B6261, Penrith CA10 3QU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
72%
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Penrith
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
fabmanrambo Leicester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    124
    62
    26
    13
See reviews for
54
150
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we were with a coach party. The check in was smooth and friendly. Because I have a sight problem we were shown to a room in the annex on the ground floor. It was nice and had a good bathroom with lots of aids for less able guests. The food was very good. The staff were excellent at all times.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review after your " Weekend Break ". I was very pleased to read that you had a really lovely stay.I hope we have the opportunity to look after you again in the future. Once again thank you for your very positive comments. Regards Guest Relations Manager. More

london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a pretty amazing setting whichever road you approach it from....room is basic and i would say the decor could probably do with a spruce but quiet and bed was comfortable. Staff were very friendly and efficient...I always stay in BW's and this is the reason. This was just off the M6 so great if ypu are travelling the country.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback after your recent stay at Shapwells. I was surprised to read your comments about our Breakfast orange juice we certainly do not use orange squash we use fresh orange juice but I will of course let our Executive Head Chef know you felt it was like orange squash he can then... More

Cumbria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took my elderly Mum for her Mothers day treat. We have been to the Shap Wells on numerous occassions for party functions or like this instance Sunday lunch carvery, Again they came up trumps- nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff and the meal was excellent as usual, My Mum is a very picky eater but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your Mothers Day Lunch with us. As a regular visitor to the Hotel it is important that our service levels remain consistent and your feedback certainly shows we have yet again achieved this goal. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shapwells in the near... More

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Shap Wells for the second time this year whilst we were up North on business, the dinner, bed and breakfast being very very good value for money. The food once again was excellent, piping hot, tasty and plentiful......with the option of vegetables and salad rather than just a huge pile of chips (which after a fortnight of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I was very pleased to read it was your " Second Visit " this year and you were able to write a very positive review. The Hotel changes its Business mix throughout the year and during your visit we had a couple of groups of guests on a 5 Day 4 Night holiday and they... More

Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place takes "off the beaten track" to a new level, so probably not somewhere to visit via public transport. A surprisingly well appointed hotel in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by babbling brooks and waterfalls, somewhere to unwind and take it easy. Lots of lounges and quiet corners where you enjoy a drink or a selection from a reasonably... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us here at the Hotel. I was disappointed you didnt enjoy the entertainment provided by our Singer ..... whilst you were staying with us we had 2 Groups and part of their package was we provide 3 nights Entertainment I am sorry it wasnt to... More

Worlingham, Beccles, Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently visited this Hotel for 5 nights, very comfortable rooms, helpful & friendly staff, and as for the meals excellent, food was well presented & with good choice both for breakfast & evening, beautiful surroundings & the plus side was seeing the Red Squirrels when they were fed after breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Shapwells. I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay ..... our Red Squirrels do add an additional bonus to our guests and I was delighted you had the opportunity to see them. Once again thank you for your excellent feedback. Regards Guest Relations... More

Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and myself booked a winter saver one night B&B break here. We felt we got a real bargain by booking this well in advance. We arrived at the hotel and had quite a wait to check in as the couple in front of us had booked the wrong night and had to be allocated a room. The receptionist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about in your words a " lovely,friendly Hotel " I was very pleased to read you found the Hotel to be a nice relaxing place and you enjoyed your time with us. Once again thank you for a very positive review. Regards Guest Relations Manager. More

Wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here three times and as always enjoyed ourselves great breakfasts large comfortable warm rooms very clean and tidy ample bedding lovely countryside.All the staff are very cordial and friendly. Cant think of anything to complain about. So go there and find out for your selves you wont be disappointed .

Was this review helpful? Yes
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a fantastic review after your 3rd visit to us and I know it will not be your last after speaking to you on your departure. Your recommendation for other future guests to visit us is much appreciated. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you at the Hotel very soon.... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a Woods Coaches holiday staying at this hotel for four nights. From the time time we arrived to the time we left we had an excellent time. Do not be put off by what appears to be a farm track leading from the main road. The hotel suddenly appears, surrounded by woods and streams. The staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent 4 Night stay at the Hotel I was delighted to read you had an excellent stay with us. Your comments are extremely positive and with you wanting to return shows we certainly met and surpassed your expectations and I will of course share your feedback with the Team. The Red Squirrels are... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

have just returned from the shap wells soul weekender march 2014 and have to say it was brilliant.the hotel was was very friendly and the staff were very welcoming,the rooms were very clean and tidy and tea and coffee in the room was great.the food was very good and the full english was great for the next morning so all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this review

We held our Annual Soul Weekender once again in March and yet again it proved a big hit to all our Weekender guests. Thank you for your very positive comments which I will of course share with the Team. The Soul Weekender in 2015 will be the weekend of 13/14 March we look forward to seeing you again at that... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
Shap Wells Hotel
BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel Penrith, UK - Lake District
Address: Shap | between the A6 and B6261, Penrith CA10 3QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.