We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West View Guest House

The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
£10 CASH BACK per night
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West View Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
West View Guest House
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

It was our second stay at west view and this time we paid extra for a room overlooking the hills and it was beautiful. The room was very spacious and comfy with a proper hot shower. The view over to the hills is spectacular. The breakfast was massive and set us up perfectly for days spent in the hills. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We regularly stay at westview so thought it was high time we left a review! This is a guest house but the quality of the rooms and hospitality is better than many of the best hotels we've stayed in. We always chose the Lattrigg room which has a lovely super king. There is also lots of room for a travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently had a two night stay at the west view and which was great. The owners made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are basic but clean and cosy with TVs, ensuite and wardrobes. The lounge was great with books and leaflets all about the lakes, very useful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a weekend walking. The location was fantastic with just a 5 minute walk into the town. The view from our room (6) was breathtaking across the Western fells. The room was spacious and comfortable, the modern shower room with underfloor heating was a sanctuary after a day on the high fells. Dawn and Paul... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Very welcoming couple who run this B&B and are bike and walker friendly. Small but smart clean room with clean bathroom. A large lounge area for tea and coffer with a great view, tea was offered to us on arrival and interest was taken in what we were doing for the weekend. We had one day walking and one day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such nice review. We like to look after folk taking part in events. Paul was at the race on registration at 5.45am! Early breakfasts is just part of the service. We enjoyed your and B's company. There are a lot more races and crazy things to do here. Come back soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We couldn't have picked a better location for our trip to Keswick and Derwentwater Lake. Our hosts were warm and welcoming, breakfast was exactly what we wanted and the views over the hills rolling down to the lake were breathtaking. Our room was a little on the small side, which would be my only complaint, but the location and general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We have three (shortly to be four) rooms almost double the size of the cosy-standard that you booked. Everything else should be the same, although we cant guarantee the weather! More 

texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This is a WONDERFUL place to stay. Dawn was so helpful and the accommodations are the BEST! I travelled with my 2 daughters and we were so comfortable in our spacious room with a king size bed and a separate twin size bed. Breakfast was amazing. The location is walking distance to the town and to the Lake. Dawn got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Wow. We love it when we hit the spot. It was great to meet you, and your daughter will be welcome anytime. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

We're just back from a short stay in Keswick. Perfect location, close to centre with loads of books etc about walking to reference. Paul and Dawn are lovely hosts, giving us great advice on where to go and the West View is great. Breakfast very tasty, they even cooked an early breakfast so we could do the local Parkrun at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am looking forward to a Saturday when i can join the park run myself! There are plenty of other races here, a few on the roads, and lots on the trails and fells. Please come back and try them. More 

Oostende
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

our second (9 days) stay in Westview confirmed our first holiday from last year. The superior double room is large enough for a longer stay, with comfy seats, a large bed and the build-in wardrobe offers plenty of space to store all your luggage and walking gear. Bathroom is fabulous!There is also a wonderfull decorated and very cosy lounge on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such nice review. The views are amazing and we felt the same when we first came to find a B&B to live in. We are opening the room above you next year - you will be able to see even further. More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed here recently and had a room at top of house with wonderful views over park down to lake. The weather was kind to us and we had a lovely break. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was made to order and substantial. The guest house is well placed for the town of Keswick but quiet at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to West View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Guest House

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your West View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay