We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West View Guest House

The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Hotel website
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West View Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
West View Guest House
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a weekend walking. The location was fantastic with just a 5 minute walk into the town. The view from our room (6) was breathtaking across the Western fells. The room was spacious and comfortable, the modern shower room with underfloor heating was a sanctuary after a day on the high fells. Dawn and Paul... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Very welcoming couple who run this B&B and are bike and walker friendly. Small but smart clean room with clean bathroom. A large lounge area for tea and coffer with a great view, tea was offered to us on arrival and interest was taken in what we were doing for the weekend. We had one day walking and one day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such nice review. We like to look after folk taking part in events. Paul was at the race on registration at 5.45am! Early breakfasts is just part of the service. We enjoyed your and B's company. There are a lot more races and crazy things to do here. Come back soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We couldn't have picked a better location for our trip to Keswick and Derwentwater Lake. Our hosts were warm and welcoming, breakfast was exactly what we wanted and the views over the hills rolling down to the lake were breathtaking. Our room was a little on the small side, which would be my only complaint, but the location and general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We have three (shortly to be four) rooms almost double the size of the cosy-standard that you booked. Everything else should be the same, although we cant guarantee the weather! More 

texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This is a WONDERFUL place to stay. Dawn was so helpful and the accommodations are the BEST! I travelled with my 2 daughters and we were so comfortable in our spacious room with a king size bed and a separate twin size bed. Breakfast was amazing. The location is walking distance to the town and to the Lake. Dawn got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Wow. We love it when we hit the spot. It was great to meet you, and your daughter will be welcome anytime. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

We're just back from a short stay in Keswick. Perfect location, close to centre with loads of books etc about walking to reference. Paul and Dawn are lovely hosts, giving us great advice on where to go and the West View is great. Breakfast very tasty, they even cooked an early breakfast so we could do the local Parkrun at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am looking forward to a Saturday when i can join the park run myself! There are plenty of other races here, a few on the roads, and lots on the trails and fells. Please come back and try them. More 

Oostende
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

our second (9 days) stay in Westview confirmed our first holiday from last year. The superior double room is large enough for a longer stay, with comfy seats, a large bed and the build-in wardrobe offers plenty of space to store all your luggage and walking gear. Bathroom is fabulous!There is also a wonderfull decorated and very cosy lounge on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such nice review. The views are amazing and we felt the same when we first came to find a B&B to live in. We are opening the room above you next year - you will be able to see even further. More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed here recently and had a room at top of house with wonderful views over park down to lake. The weather was kind to us and we had a lovely break. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was made to order and substantial. The guest house is well placed for the town of Keswick but quiet at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. More 

Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We both loved our stay at West View in Keswick again. Comfy room and very friendly owners who looked after us well. We got great advice on how to spend our days and the breakfasts are pretty good too. Keswick is a beautiful part of the world so I would definitely recommend staying there for a few days for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a good review. It was good to meet you again and to travel 10,000 miles for a second stay takes our breath away. We even managed to supply good weather, although I can't guarantee that if you contemplate a third holiday in Keswick. Have a safe trip home. More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at West View in the Causey Pike room for two nights from July 31st to August 2nd. The room was cool, spacious and clean with nice park and mountain views. The king size bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean with an ample supply of hot water. Breakfast was freshly prepared with a variety of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a great review. We agree with all of it! The view changes daily from here with sun then showers blowing in and, then the snows dusting the fell tops in the winter. Your home is famous for its autumn colours, I hope you can come back to compare. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner & I visited the West View guest house in August 2014. It was an ideal location to the town centre. Further, it was a 5 minute walk from Derwentwater lake. It was clean & comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. The owners were also really helpful when giving advice on popular tourist attractions. We would definately stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Siobham, thanks for writing such a nice review. Keswick has a healthy number of festivals to tempt you back. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to West View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Guest House

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your West View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay