We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms Hotel
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    90
    43
    24
    11
See reviews for
35
135
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Been staying at this Hotel for years. In the past few years there has been a wonderful change. So warm, friendly and inviting. The food is of an outstanding quality, freshly cooked and presented with care and attention to detail. So good is it I now eat the majority of my meals there. The staff are so happy, relaxed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With only wanting to stay the one night ( Saturday ) you are very limited to choices as B&Bs all seem to want 2 nights bookings minimum. We stayed here and were certainly not disappointed. The twin room was on the small side and the two single beds were pretty much together like a double. Everything in the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights here, mid week, and it was great. The food in the restaurant is excellent, all the staff are very friendly and there's a good selection of beers and lagers. There is a 'night club' next door, which the hotel warn can be noisy, but I never heard anything, so I wouldn't worry. Will definitely be returning before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancaster
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An old inn in Keswick centre no on site parking but you get a permit for use on a few car parks when staying. We had a 3 night break in a refurbished twin room whilst warm and comfortable with a new bathroom was unfortunately for us on the top floor and a hard climb for my disabled wife. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear partygoerLancaster Many thanks for your review which I'm sure future guests will find very helpful. I’m sorry to hear that you struggled with having a top floor bedroom, it was unfortunate that the hotel was full and that we were unable to move you into a first floor room. Should you decide to stay at the Kings Arms again... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't stay at the hotel, only ate in the bar. Great welcome, unfortunately the food we came in for was off the menu, so had the other veggie option from the menu instead, Char Grilled Mixed Vegetable Stack with a sweet chilli dressing and warm giant couscous £9.50 which was very nice. The Hobgoblin beer had the Halloween Pump... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OOK_Librarian Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to the Kings Arms Hotel. It’s great to hear that you were looked after and enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Leah More

Lancs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Coaching Inn with 13 rooms central square providing parking permits which also covered some other car parks in the area. Immaculate bathrooms, modern bedroom, comfortable and warm for the time for the year. Stayed midweek for 3 nights on a room package which included breakfast and evening meal. Restaurant food was very good, in the evenings large portions but of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark_Pearson Thank you for your lovely review from your recent visit. It is great to hear our customer’s comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel Kind Regards Leah More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Read all the reviews before booking - so knew that there would be some noise from the nearby club on a weekend....but the position of the hotel was just ideal. You also get a parking permit to use on the Central car park just behind the hotel. The staff are all really friendly and will do anything to help. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nikkinoods Thank you for your kind review following on from your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that you found the hotel and the service satisfactory and that you would return to the Kings Arms Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Leah More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We were here twice in the bar that was cosy, friendly and free wifi. Then we decided to also come for a meal. In the restaurant,which doesn't match the warm atmosphere of the bar area, we were "greeted" with stiff non smiling faces when we asked something we got one word replies:"no"! As you don't mess with the people that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tanja H Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review from your recent visit At the Kings Arms we are well known for our friendly, helpful team of staff, so I am surprised to hear that you have not encountered this. I will take this issue up with our team and I hope that you will... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Good food, comparable prices, excellent service. We went midweek and was fairly busy but still the service was good. Lovely setting, with real fire in the bar area and free wifi. Nice bright interior and modern restaurant at the back. Good size portions very happy overall. Will return when in Keswick again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul R Thank you for a fantastic review and for recommending the Kings Arms Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you are planning on returning when you next visit the Lake District. Kind Regards Leah More

Largs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

With over 100 restaurants in Keswick we picked the Kings arms The Sunday roast was so tough we asked for steak knives to cut it The plates were cold gravy look warm Told waitress when she came over said sorry that was it Nothing else said no compensation at all, not even the offer of coffee VERY DISAPPOINTING at £9.95... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth A Thank you for your review of your dining experience with us. I’m sorry to hear that the food was not to your taste, we usually receive very favourable reviews regarding our Sunday lunch and always aim to keep standards of food and service high. If you had highlighted any problems you encountered with your meals to our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay