We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Keswick hotels

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
68%
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sues2shoes Skipton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    80
    41
    24
    11
See reviews for
33
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another wonderful weekend in the Lakes, this time we stayed at the Kings Arms in Keswick. It was a wonderful weekend. The whole place place has been tastefully refurbished and is a credit to the hardworking staff who put in a great deal of effort to ensure everything is A1 and it was. We found the staff delightful from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice and clean, and reasonable food. I'll start by saying that much, but then it goes a bit wrong for me. Stayed one night in a twin room with my dad, after taking him to the theatre by the lake. When we got back we went to the bar, which appeared to be full of the barman's mates. No dramas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were walking around Keswick looking for somewhere to stay as we didn't like the campsite we had booked and came across this gem. Our room was lovely (room 7) comfy bed, nice clean shower room - only draw back is there is a nightclub at the rear and when it was kicking out time there was loads of noise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola R Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review from your recent stay It’s great to hear that you were happy with your stay and that Agnes our receptionist looked after you. Unfortunately one of the draw-backs of being a town centre hotel is the surrounding noise that may sometimes occur. Unfortunately this is out... More

North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst staying at the Anchorage Guest house in Keswick with our guests from Australia, a total 10 adults and 4 children booked the Kings Arms for a meal on Saturday the 30th August, we were made very welcome, and the food, while a little pricey, was very good on quality and presentation, all meals were served together, which in some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian D Thank you for a lovely review and for choosing to dine with us. It’s great to hear that your party enjoyed their meals and that you were looked after, we look forward to welcoming you back Friday evening. Kind Regards Leah More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was very good and the bar staff excellent! However the "superior room" was small, the bed was uncomfortable and dipped in the middle. And the noise from the night club was awful and I normally wear 2 hearing aids and it still kept me awake!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirkiep Thank you for your review, we make every effort to provide a high standard and quality, therefore I’m glad to hear you found the service and staff satisfactory during your recent stay with us. The Kings Arms Hotel is a town centre location, which is clearly stated throughout our website. We do our best to try and soften... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We liked the location and the room itself which was modern, clean and well equipped. However, we were really disappointed by the breakfasts - tried various combinations but it was always mediocre overall with over cooked black pudding, grilled mushrooms which had virtually shrivalled away they were so dry, no natural yoghurt and the fruit salad was tinned. Service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Basilcat14 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review from your recent stay. I’m sorry that you feel that the breakfast served at the Kings Arms Hotel was disappointing. I have spoken to the Manager and he has assured me that we supply fresh fruit salad as well as tinned fruit salad, I can only apologise... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

clean and well sized room,staff attentive and pleasant,centre location,breakfast very good,bar a bit small then most in keswick are, one slight danger the top floor stairs maybe not for younsters and infirmed people, but still would go stay again .Did supply ear plugs but not needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy M Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Kings Arms satisfactory. I hope we see you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Leah More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have now stayed 3 times this year whilst competing in 2 triathlons at keswick. Each time we have had a different room but always they have been cosy and spotlessly clean. The staff are lovely and friendly especially Dave the assistant manager, who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. Highly recommend a stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monica W Thank you for a lovely review ad for recommending our hotel on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you have stayed with us three times this year and that you have had enjoyable stays. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms again in the near future. Kind Regards Leah More

Jarrow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For over 20 years we have always had a cheeky few drinks in The Kings Arms and again we weren't disappointed. It has been redecorated since the last time we were in and it looks fab very impressed with the decor. The service as always was good with friendly efficient staff, we managed to get a seat by the window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie H Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. It's great to hear that you continue to visit us when in the Lake District, we hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Leah More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's hard to walk aroung Keswick looking for a bar and not come across the Kings arms Hotel. Me and the wife were spending a couple of days in the town and crossed the doorstep. Inside the atmosphere is pleasant and had a good mix of clientel. There were lots of drinks on offer, but a little pricey....even for Keswick.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doug W Thank you for a pleasant review and for popping into the Kings Arms for a drink We pride ourselves for having a fantastic selection of real ales and whisky’s and aim to have something to suit all tastes. With regards to price, ours are very much in-keeping with those of similar establishments within Keswick, which we keep... More

Do you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Kings Arms Hotel