We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Keswick hotels

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
69%
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Keswick
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
HappyFamilys1 Biddulph, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (215)
  • Photos (62)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    75
    38
    23
    11
See reviews for
31
117
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Top notch food, whatever you choose off the menu. Lovely attentive staff and very clean. Steak has to be tasted to be believed. Homemade chocolate bread and butter pudding - WOW. So good we have been back twice and will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cumbria, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 1 night with our 2 dogs. We stayed in room 7 which was small but nice and spotless. All staff very friendly and helpful. Very handy gettin parking permit from hotel as car parks charges are expensive in keswick! Breakfast was ok, had fruit salad (tinned!!) selection of cereals, crossiants, yohurts and fresh fruit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We did not stay but ate at the pub with the family and dog and the food was good and cheap. We liked it very much. It was a warm summers night and out dog and we enjoyed being outside. The staff are friendly and courteous. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had two nights here - rooms recently refurbished and ok stairs up to room not easy. Further refurbishment to be done apparently. Breakfast was not too good with some parts cool and toast was not with butter. Not able to park outside as square pedestrianised and car park a 3 minute walk away at rear Overall probably would look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a short break for 4 days , rooms clean with good facilities. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Parking is free, on a council run car park which is a short walk away to the rear of the hotel. Breakfast is delicious and the waiting staff are friendly, efficient and efficient and you can order choice of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were lovely, newly done up to a high standard. Very nice decor, great bathroom, very modern without being minimalist - a nice place to spend our time. Some nice little touches - ear plugs provided, free parking, nice shower gels, nice tea and biscuits and bath robes shows they go the extra mile. The TV was fab, i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here overnight - rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious - buffet and choice of cooked breakfasts. Parking at the rear is free but you have to obtain a permit when you check in. Would love to come back in Winter as the pub and the rooms are very cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

So... We had dinner there with my husband last week as the menu was appetising and being vegetarian the "vegetable stack" seemed interesting, but I was very disappointed when my food arrived... I can't say that they lied by saying "veg stack" as it was exactly that, but I was disappointed in the flavours (no herbs or anything like that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear didine3221 Thank you for your review of our hotel, I'm sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with the food you received however I would like to assure you that our meals are well known for having lots of seasonal flavours, richness and depth to all our dishes. Unfortunately not all dishes are to everyone’s taste. I’m happy to hear... More

durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

keep going back to this hotel and have been in loads of there rooms. the staff are all ways great and the rooms are nice and clean. food is great and we have never had to complain about anything. price is great and free parking an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear geordiedaveDurham Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay at the Kings Arms. It’s great to hear that you continue to stay with us when visiting Keswick. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Leah More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A large group of us stayed for a variety of nights at the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff were excellent, the birthday gift of chocolates was very thoughtful. We had two excellent evening meals there, one in the pizzeria, the other in the main restaurant and breakfasts were very good too. Our daughter and her fiance brought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlanBoxley Thank you for a great review. It’s nice to hear that we helped make your wife’s birthday celebrations, one to remember. We are pleased to hear that you were looked after by our friendly team of staff and we hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Leah More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Keswick with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer