We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Keswick hotels

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Keswick
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Gtownpaul Grantham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (210)
  • Photos (62)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    72
    37
    23
    11
See reviews for
29
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms were lovely, newly done up to a high standard. Very nice decor, great bathroom, very modern without being minimalist - a nice place to spend our time. Some nice little touches - ear plugs provided, free parking, nice shower gels, nice tea and biscuits and bath robes shows they go the extra mile. The TV was fab, i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here overnight - rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious - buffet and choice of cooked breakfasts. Parking at the rear is free but you have to obtain a permit when you check in. Would love to come back in Winter as the pub and the rooms are very cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So... We had dinner there with my husband last week as the menu was appetising and being vegetarian the "vegetable stack" seemed interesting, but I was very disappointed when my food arrived... I can't say that they lied by saying "veg stack" as it was exactly that, but I was disappointed in the flavours (no herbs or anything like that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear didine3221 Thank you for your review of our hotel, I'm sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with the food you received however I would like to assure you that our meals are well known for having lots of seasonal flavours, richness and depth to all our dishes. Unfortunately not all dishes are to everyone’s taste. I’m happy to hear... More

durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

keep going back to this hotel and have been in loads of there rooms. the staff are all ways great and the rooms are nice and clean. food is great and we have never had to complain about anything. price is great and free parking an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear geordiedaveDurham Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay at the Kings Arms. It’s great to hear that you continue to stay with us when visiting Keswick. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Leah More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large group of us stayed for a variety of nights at the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff were excellent, the birthday gift of chocolates was very thoughtful. We had two excellent evening meals there, one in the pizzeria, the other in the main restaurant and breakfasts were very good too. Our daughter and her fiance brought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlanBoxley Thank you for a great review. It’s nice to hear that we helped make your wife’s birthday celebrations, one to remember. We are pleased to hear that you were looked after by our friendly team of staff and we hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Leah More

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night with our little dog the staff were very welcoming and were totally dog friendly. While we were checking in one of the bar staff came over and made a fuss of him with treats. Lovely! The hotel is in the centre of town I would class it more as an inn which is what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgina B Thank you for a fantastic and informative review from your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your recent stay. We make every effort to maintain a high standard of service and quality and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. We... More

Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been enticed by the food menu on the wall outside my wife and I decided on the Kings Arms for lunch. We took our seats and ordered at the bar and then waited patiently for 30-40 minutes for our food to finally arrive telling ourselves that the long wait meant freshly cooked and therefore good food. My meal was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart84 Thank you for your review of our hotel, I’m glad to hear that you decided to dine with us; however I’m sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with one of your meals. Our Shredded Pork Burger is an extremely popular dish on our menu with locals as well as tourists; therefore I am surprised to hear... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked from the 3rd July to the 6th July. First class service, all staff were friendly and had time to chat and have a laugh with you! The rooms were exceptional and I loved the tartan decor and the instant heated shower!! The rooms were cleaned to the highest standard and dog owners were welcome in most areas, we ate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendyingledew Thank you for such a lovely and informative review which no doubt other people will find useful. We're pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we love to hear that our guests have been looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future. Kind Regards Leah More

Warkworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its been 2 years since I last stayed at the Kings Arms and at the time I rated it adequate. Now I've just returned from a 2 night stay and I would now rate it as excellent. The bar and lounge areas remain the same (and good they are too) but the restaurant has undergone a facelift and what a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TerenceAllan Thank you for your lovely review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you decided to stay at the Kings Arms on a returning visit to Keswick. We make every effort to maintain a high standard of service and quality and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Two comfortable nights spent at the Kings Arms in Keswick. The staff were very friendly. Room was clean. Location and parking excellent. The shower was a little small although I am over 6'3 so probably not an issue for most people. Beware the hotel is located right in the centre of the town so it can be quite loud on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MEDD190 Thank you for your kind review following a recent visit to the Kings Arms. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were looked after by our friendly team. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms in the near future Kind Regards Leah More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer