We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Keswick hotels

The Kings Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Kings Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
67%
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Keswick
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
mickrunner manchester
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    34
    21
    11
See reviews for
27
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we have been several times to the kings arms , the staff are fantastic rooms brilliant , the food well that just gets better and better. we have recommended the Kings Arms to our friends and they too have been going back to the hotel. Gary the manager is so approachable any problems and they are sorted , this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked for 1 night bed and breakfast but the night before we were due to arrive we received an email to say the bar & restaurant was closed for refurbishment. The hotel knocked £21 off the room charge and everything else was great. Would have been 5/5 if the bar was open. Had to check in at the hotel next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a 1 night stay on the 1st march, check in was great at 2pm, they give us a permit for the car, we were told on check in that the court yard restaurant in the hotel was closed for refurbishment, found this disappointing as we should of been informed before our stay, had to use the pizza restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Avoid if you want a quiet weekend 1. Booked and paid for a superior room but this hotel only has standard doubles according to Reception staff. Informed website is out off date! 2. Room size cramped only fit for 1person. Had to side step to get in to bed because the room was so narrow. Stayed in room 5 3.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. All of our bedrooms in the hotel have been refurbished to superior rooms; we make every effort to provide a high standard and quality, room five is in fact one of our smaller bedrooms, however there is adequate space for two people.... More

Huddersfield
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent two nights here was pleasantly surprised. The bedrooms have been recently refurbished to a very high standard, dinner was superb and we had one of the best breakfasts ever in the Lakes. Right in the centre of Keswick so convenient for everything too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim Thank you for your positive 5 star review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We make every effort to maintain a high standard of service and quality and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. We hope to see you again at the Kings Arms... More

Goosnargh, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Kings in kendal, and found the hotel, very nice, so many nice things to say,but sadly also a couple of negative ones The good things, the staff can not do enough for you, so friendly, we arrived at 11am and the room was ready, a nice four poster room, very clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blackpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Keswick at about 5 30pm without making any previous booking, after sitting in the local carpark we checked out some of the main hotels in the town and came across the Kings Arms Hotel, we checked out the price online and found it to be £99 after checking the price on late rooms it was £91 when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Did'nt stay at the Hotel but the bedroom photos on price board looked lovely at a reasonable price We ate in bar Friday lunchtime Bar uses local BreweryJennings beers plus 1 guest Ale, and usual pump/bottled Beers Extensive daytime and seperate evening menu. Daytime 'small plates' 'big plates', hot and cold sandwiches, toasted sandwivhes, jacket potatoes. My Partner and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My daughter booked a Christmas Lunch at the Kings Arms for Sunday 22nd December for 11 family members - 8 adults and 3 boys 8, 5 & 3. It was truly fantastic - we felt it was Christmas Day itself. The table beautifully decorated with good quality crackers, hats, party poppers, blowers, balloons etc. The staff were amazing - bringing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Had an early Xmas lunch here on the Sunday before Xmas day 11 of us in the party and we were not disappointed the food was excellent staff very good. All in all I would recommend the Kings Arms food to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3 star Hotel in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned Courtyard restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as Cumbrian rarebit, ham hock, beef & Jennings ale pie, lamb shoulder plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.