We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Keswick hotels

The Skiddaw Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Skiddaw Hotel to your Saves list
The Skiddaw Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
78%
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
JulieB2010 Durham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (375)
  • Photos (80)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (118)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    120
    45
    25
    12
See reviews for
45
216
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a gem of a place. We stayed for four nights at the end of July and were brilliantly looked after by all the staff. The hotel sits right on Keswick's pretty market square and we spent lots of time lazing about in the conservatory overlooking it, or sitting outside at the tables watching the world go by. Really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JulieB Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We certainly hope that you are able to visit us again before long. Kind regards Neels More

Littleover, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at the Skiddaw are by a mile it's best asset. This otherwise unremarkable hotel is as friendly and welcoming as anywhere I've stayed in the UK. It isn't a cheap sleep though and at significantly better than £100 per night I'd suggest the owners have a responsibility to keep the decor on trend, have more comfortable lounges and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tricia F Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Skiddaw Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you found us to be very friendly and welcoming, as you should. I am sorry that you didn't sleep well though. You were quite right to mention that we have some rooms that have a more interesting view... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from long weekend on a secret escapes deal which was very good value for money ! we had a standard room at the side of the hotel very comfortable room but decor a bit tired ! lovely bathroom every where very clean through out the hotel. All staff on every level very polite and always smiling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralphy45 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Neels More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed on a 2 night dbb deal.the scone and coffee on arrival in the conservatory was a nice feature.our room was nice and the food and service was very good.the location in the centre of keswick is good car parking at the rear is limited but you get a free parking disc for the public carpark at the back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham G Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Skiddaw Hotel and also for taking time to review your stay. Your kind comments will be shared with all my colleagues and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Neels More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on business, great little hotel and perfectly located in the heart of the town. Breakfast is a winner and there's a broad selection, I had smoked haddock and poached eggs. I've stayed in most of the Central Keswick hotels and for me, this one suits the best. Comfortable bed, clean and well appointed room. Friendly staff. I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen F Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back again. We look forward to it too. Kind regards Neels More

Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once again we selected this hotel based on previous visits and although we enjoyed ourselves the attention to detail seemed lacking on this visit. Our standard room was on the small side but it had everything we needed unfortunately the windows open onto all the cooling fans for the bar which were noisy it was also stifling hot. ( reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shoes2shoes It was very nice to see you stay with us again and I hope it won't be long before your next visit. I am sorry that our service on the first night wasn't up to the high standards to which you have become used to. I am glad that Julia's constant dazzling smile went some way to making... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the back entrance the hotel does not look very appealing however from the front it is very nice to look at, Location is great right in the heart of the town and a ten minute stroll to the lake.There is free parking at the rear which you have to leave £150 deposit for. We found our classic room no28... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart F Thank you for staying with us recently and for then posting this review. I am glad that we had a Classic room available which was more to your liking. I am sorry that the lovely weather meant that it was very hot in the room but am glad that it was better the second night with a... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A comfortable hotel well located right on the Keswick high street, with convenient parking behind (no extra charge). Service was always friendly. The room was comfortable and of fairly average 3 star ish quality (we had a "classic" room rather than standard). We had found a rate via a third party site that included dinner and was fairly reasonable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ejd1979 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel "well located on the main street" and the service to "always be friendly" and that you enjoyed the dinners. The Skiddaw Hotel is proudly a 3 star hotel and I am glad that you found your... More

newark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

For the 2nd time this year we stayed at this well run atmospheric hotel in the centre of Keswick , we had a spacious comfortable room , the Hotel welcomed our Dog , the food was lovely(Great after a big walk!) , we were in the centre of Keswick with plenty to do and beautiful walks within striking distance. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Slwat Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We hope you are able to visit us again very soon. Kind regards Neels More

Formby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Right in the centre of Keswick the hotel is ideally placed. Free car park (although you need to leave a £150 Deposit) at the back of the hotel, access for all is easy. The whole hotel is clean & well maintained with excellent breakfasts and evening meals, if you go full board. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Skiddaw Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Keswick with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
43

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Skiddaw Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer