We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Hotel amenities
YHA Keswick
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added YHA Keswick to your Saves list
82%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Jan6491 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
8
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel is exemplary of its kind: very clean, powerful hot showers, dining room with good food and drinks, self-catering kitchen, reading room, TV room and ever-willing and friendly staff. An excellent friendly atmosphere, interesting fellow guests of all ages and nationalities, with a love of adventure and beautiful scenery in common. Would happily return here and fall asleep to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Janis - thanks for your review and I'm delighted that you had such a good stay with us. Some of the second and third floor rooms do have fantastic views across the River, park and up to Latrigg and Skiddaw, so stay here and you know you're in the Lake District. I hope you're able to get back to Keswick... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights for the Lakeland Monster bike ride. Hostel was excellent: good value, clean, comfortable. The diner was great for tea and breakfast, and had some decent beers on offer. Amazing location in the centre of Keswick too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Mike, I'm really pleased that you had a great weekend in Keswick and that the Moster ride went well. YHA Keswick is a great hostel for cyclists - as well as the comfort and great food, we've also got a cycle store, tools and wash down facilities to help keep your bike in good condition too. More

London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...These are the sign of a good hostel. Can't ask for more than that. Can only agree with previous review: price, location, food, bed, view from balcony all good. Don't imagine they sell too many 3 course meals, as we both felt so full after our two courses. Excellent access to the North Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for you great review and hope that you'll take advantage of our great winter rates and get back to Keswick before too long. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst paragliding in the local area. Very impressed. Helpful friendly staff. Brilliant central location. Parking nearby. I had dinner one evening there and it was delicious. Bed ( bunk ) was comfortable. Nice balcony on the first floor overlooking the river. 2 minutes walk to the centre of town. And it was only 15£ per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our food and that you had a good stay. We have watched a lot of paragliders from the balcny at the hostel, which looks our over Fitz Park and up to Latrigg & Skiddaw. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Sheffield, Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Handily located in centre of Keswick overlooking the river. We stayed in a 3-bedded room, a double bed and a bunk over plus our own sink. Room and linen where both clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Members' kitchen was OK, reading room nice and peacful. This hostel has added a Diner theme to it's dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Peter, thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. You've mentioned all the things we're really proud of... clean rooms, great staff team and perfect location in Keswick. I'm also glad you enjoyed your meals, our dinners and breakfast are really great and very good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Honestly I was disappointed with this hostel. The outside of the hostel looks very nice, it's in a nice location and is situated just by the river. I did not like the room. I was in a 5 people room with 2 bunks and 1 single bed. The room was far too small for that many people and we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review YHA Keswick and I'm disappointed that you didn't have a good stay. I'm also disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to try and put anything right for you during your stay: as you say our staff are helpful and we will always address any problems during your stay - just come and... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from YHA Keswick having spent the weekend there with a walking group. I can't praise the place or the staff enough. Our group was sufficiently big that we booked the entire hostel and the team there were tremendously accommodating, shifting meal times around our walking excursion. The building itself is in an idyllic spot along the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you all had a great trip to the Lakes. Your 10 Peaks Challenge looked a tough one and I'm glad YHA Keswick was able to help you by providing the accommodation, food and drink. You guys did the hard bit. We pride ourselves in being a great hostel with good food, local draught Keswick Bitter, really... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband, our two year old son and I stayed in Room 102 overlooking the River Greta for two nights. At the tender age of 47 this is my first time in a youth hostel...although I knew the location was stunning I had no idea about the accommodation that was going to greet me and as a hotelier myself I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick and I'm really pleased you had such a great stay. Your review picks out the things we concentrate on and are really proud of: clean, comfortable accommodation with great home cooked food in a stunning location with views over the river up to Skiddaw. Glad you bought your YHA membership, so you'll... More

Nozawaonsen-mura, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was satisfied to stay this hostel very much.Room,shower,kitchen,toilet...everywhere were cleaned.Especially self-catering kitchen is my favourite place.If I visit Lake District again,I must come to stay here once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

HI there. Thanks for your nice review of YHA Keswick. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Using the self catering kitchen is a great way to keep your costs down, but don't forget we also serve great value meals in the Rocky River Diner. More

newcastle, england
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have admired the location of this hostel for years and when riding the c2c with a group of friends we decided it would be a good base for one night. The setting on the river side is perfect and I was very pleasantly surprised inside. The showers were great, the cooked breakfast good value and the staff very friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. YHA Keswick is perfect for cyclists, not just on the Coast 2 Coast, but also on the End to End. We think we have everything that cyclists need; hot showers, comfortable beds, filling food, with bar and a perfect location. However, I'm sorry that your stay was spoiled by the behaviour of other guests and I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay