We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Keswick

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Eaglescliffe
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Left work late with the knowledge of Thursday off. Arranged our booking on the A^^ as we drove to the lake district. The hostel was warm and we had a great welcome from the staff. The rooms were good, clean & tidy but typically hostel rooms. We stayed for Breakfast which was also very good both in quality and price.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We certainly agree with you on the tip about the balcony, just pop down to reception where we have a selection of drinks on offer and then relax on the balcony listening to the sound of the river. YHA Keswick Team More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

We were on a stag do stayed at YHA Keswick. Lovely location right next to the river. Only 5 minute into Keswick. Nice and tidy hostel with breakfast Also which was basic but all the same it was ok.staff were nice and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Paradiseash
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of you stay at YHA Keswick. We’re please to hear you enjoyed our fabulous riverside location and hope to see you back again soon! YHA Keswick Team More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Stayed here with friends whilst on a walk. It's in an excellent location, a short walk into town and set on the river opposite a park, a lovely spot. Accommodation is basic of course, we were in a 6 bunk room and there isn't much space but the view and sound from the river was great. Ate out in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelTidge
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our riverside location and breakfast for £5.25. We hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Having been members for years, we hardly used the hostels because In Those days they didn't accept children. What a great holiday for families now. Even though we had no kids with us this time we had a great stay. Central, offering good value rooms, evening food, and wine! Breakfast was disappointing, 5.99 but a few grapefruit segments and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walker3467
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that you feel YHA offers a great holiday for families with good value rooms and evening meals. I’m sorry to hear that you felt breakfast was disappointing, we always ask that you let us know of any problems at the time to give us a chance to offer a solution. Our breakfast costs £5.52 for adults... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Stayed here with my brother for one night after walking "The Cumbria way"..I had reservations on booking this town centre hostel but could not obtain a guest house for one night only at weekend. The situation is adjacent to Fitz Park, town centre area. The river Greta flows by it's side. The book in was easy enough, the six bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank valuematters
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Keswick. As you mentioned we are a town hostel which means we accommodate both walkers and people who are here to spend time in the town of Keswick. The front door is locked from 11.30pm to 7am and accessible only by using a door code which we... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Cracking location,5 mins into the centre of Ksewick. Just what the YHA is about, Clean and tidy and as normal great value for money and friendly staff. Will stay again without a doubt. If you wanta posh hotel or B&B then go and book one but for a vlaue stop its a cracking place.

Helpful?
2 Thank TomHill77
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of your stay at YHA Keswick. Hopefully it won’t be long until we see you again! YHA Keswick More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

Nice central location, by the river. Staff were helpful and friendly. Place, bedding etc is clean. Showers were good (though too few). Unfortunately, hugely let down by the following: Was in a south-facing room, hit by the sun all afternoon (though only 15 degrees outside). The room was no bigger than ten feet by ten feet, but contained three pairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank plumjam15
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. I’m glad to hear your liked our central location, helpful staff and good showers. I’m sorry to hear you found the room to be stuffy. The reason the windows have a limited opening is a health and safety one. All of our bed rooms are on the first floor... More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a mountain biking weekend! Being a hostel, we expected bunk beds and shared facilities! But they were clean and tidy! The breakfast was brilliant for the price, perfect start to the day as we went to Grizedale afterwards! The only thing that let's it down is the car parking! trying to park... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank myke12
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear our breakfast kept you going while biking around Grizedale. Unfortunately as you’ve mentioned we don’t have any onsite parking. There is road side parking availible around Keswick however due to recent road works this has been a little squeezed. At reception we are always more... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

This hostel is awesome, the staff are great, the rooms are warm and cosy, the self-catering kitchen is spotless, and the restaurant is brilliant. The hostel is right next to the river and has a balcony that extends over it, what a relaxing place, it was like a home from home. There were six beds in the room I shared,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We love it when guests say they found it to be a home away from home! Sorry you couldn't stay longer, there are some great deals to be had on beds over the winter months so we hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Stayed for one night in a 4 person room (there was 3 of us) & it has all the facilities we needed - shared shower & loo but they were clean & there was plenty of them. The whole place is clean with plenty of friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ladymcg
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. Hopefully we’ll see you here again in the not to distant future! YHA Keswick Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
5.8 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
10.6 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
7.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay