We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Hotel amenities
YHA Keswick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Keswick to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014
BaileyRanger Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
9
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Good location down by the river. Meals seem very expensive for what they are. Cleanliness was poor in the bedrooms and toilets/showers and the kitchen needs a good seeing too (maybe the cooker fans) as there's a definite smell of grease. Staff were friendly and helpful and they are licensed to sell a beer or two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Our first ever stay in a YHA was a wonderful experience . Staff were very friendly and helpful on check in. Our room was lovely and clean and well equipped. Self-catering kitchen was great. Reading room and lounge were very comfortable. Payed £4.99 for breakfast and it was fantastic. The location of this Hostel could not be better, close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your first stay with YHA. There are some really great YHAs across the Lake District so take your pick and you'll always get a great welcome and a great hostel stay. Of course, we hope to see you back at Keswick again soon. More 

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Echoing other users, the staff were both friendly and helpful. The accommodation is satisfactory and the meals were excellent. The position of the hostel on the bank of the River Greta and opposite a lovely park with the mountains as a backdrop and with access to the centre of Keswick is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Brilliant - thanks for your great review and hope to see you at YHA Keswick again soon. Autumn & Winter is a great time to get away and some of our beds & rooms come as cheap as £10 per night midweek. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This hostel is exemplary of its kind: very clean, powerful hot showers, dining room with good food and drinks, self-catering kitchen, reading room, TV room and ever-willing and friendly staff. An excellent friendly atmosphere, interesting fellow guests of all ages and nationalities, with a love of adventure and beautiful scenery in common. Would happily return here and fall asleep to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Janis - thanks for your review and I'm delighted that you had such a good stay with us. Some of the second and third floor rooms do have fantastic views across the River, park and up to Latrigg and Skiddaw, so stay here and you know you're in the Lake District. I hope you're able to get back to Keswick... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stayed for two nights for the Lakeland Monster bike ride. Hostel was excellent: good value, clean, comfortable. The diner was great for tea and breakfast, and had some decent beers on offer. Amazing location in the centre of Keswick too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Mike, I'm really pleased that you had a great weekend in Keswick and that the Moster ride went well. YHA Keswick is a great hostel for cyclists - as well as the comfort and great food, we've also got a cycle store, tools and wash down facilities to help keep your bike in good condition too. More 

London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

...These are the sign of a good hostel. Can't ask for more than that. Can only agree with previous review: price, location, food, bed, view from balcony all good. Don't imagine they sell too many 3 course meals, as we both felt so full after our two courses. Excellent access to the North Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for you great review and hope that you'll take advantage of our great winter rates and get back to Keswick before too long. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst paragliding in the local area. Very impressed. Helpful friendly staff. Brilliant central location. Parking nearby. I had dinner one evening there and it was delicious. Bed ( bunk ) was comfortable. Nice balcony on the first floor overlooking the river. 2 minutes walk to the centre of town. And it was only 15£ per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our food and that you had a good stay. We have watched a lot of paragliders from the balcny at the hostel, which looks our over Fitz Park and up to Latrigg & Skiddaw. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Sheffield, Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Handily located in centre of Keswick overlooking the river. We stayed in a 3-bedded room, a double bed and a bunk over plus our own sink. Room and linen where both clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Members' kitchen was OK, reading room nice and peacful. This hostel has added a Diner theme to it's dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Peter, thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. You've mentioned all the things we're really proud of... clean rooms, great staff team and perfect location in Keswick. I'm also glad you enjoyed your meals, our dinners and breakfast are really great and very good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Honestly I was disappointed with this hostel. The outside of the hostel looks very nice, it's in a nice location and is situated just by the river. I did not like the room. I was in a 5 people room with 2 bunks and 1 single bed. The room was far too small for that many people and we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review YHA Keswick and I'm disappointed that you didn't have a good stay. I'm also disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to try and put anything right for you during your stay: as you say our staff are helpful and we will always address any problems during your stay - just come and... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from YHA Keswick having spent the weekend there with a walking group. I can't praise the place or the staff enough. Our group was sufficiently big that we booked the entire hostel and the team there were tremendously accommodating, shifting meal times around our walking excursion. The building itself is in an idyllic spot along the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you all had a great trip to the Lakes. Your 10 Peaks Challenge looked a tough one and I'm glad YHA Keswick was able to help you by providing the accommodation, food and drink. You guys did the hard bit. We pride ourselves in being a great hostel with good food, local draught Keswick Bitter, really... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay