We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Keswick to your Saves list
YHA Keswick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
81%
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty lodging in Keswick
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014
Francelover999
  • Reviews (64)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
6
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Honestly I was disappointed with this hostel. The outside of the hostel looks very nice, it's in a nice location and is situated just by the river. I did not like the room. I was in a 5 people room with 2 bunks and 1 single bed. The room was far too small for that many people and we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review YHA Keswick and I'm disappointed that you didn't have a good stay. I'm also disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to try and put anything right for you during your stay: as you say our staff are helpful and we will always address any problems during your stay - just come and... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from YHA Keswick having spent the weekend there with a walking group. I can't praise the place or the staff enough. Our group was sufficiently big that we booked the entire hostel and the team there were tremendously accommodating, shifting meal times around our walking excursion. The building itself is in an idyllic spot along the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you all had a great trip to the Lakes. Your 10 Peaks Challenge looked a tough one and I'm glad YHA Keswick was able to help you by providing the accommodation, food and drink. You guys did the hard bit. We pride ourselves in being a great hostel with good food, local draught Keswick Bitter, really... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband, our two year old son and I stayed in Room 102 overlooking the River Greta for two nights. At the tender age of 47 this is my first time in a youth hostel...although I knew the location was stunning I had no idea about the accommodation that was going to greet me and as a hotelier myself I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick and I'm really pleased you had such a great stay. Your review picks out the things we concentrate on and are really proud of: clean, comfortable accommodation with great home cooked food in a stunning location with views over the river up to Skiddaw. Glad you bought your YHA membership, so you'll... More

Nozawaonsen-mura, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was satisfied to stay this hostel very much.Room,shower,kitchen,toilet...everywhere were cleaned.Especially self-catering kitchen is my favourite place.If I visit Lake District again,I must come to stay here once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

HI there. Thanks for your nice review of YHA Keswick. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Using the self catering kitchen is a great way to keep your costs down, but don't forget we also serve great value meals in the Rocky River Diner. More

newcastle, england
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have admired the location of this hostel for years and when riding the c2c with a group of friends we decided it would be a good base for one night. The setting on the river side is perfect and I was very pleasantly surprised inside. The showers were great, the cooked breakfast good value and the staff very friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. YHA Keswick is perfect for cyclists, not just on the Coast 2 Coast, but also on the End to End. We think we have everything that cyclists need; hot showers, comfortable beds, filling food, with bar and a perfect location. However, I'm sorry that your stay was spoiled by the behaviour of other guests and I... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for a night in October before paintball the following day. It is in such a great location with average sized rooms and comfy beds. I had a great night's sleep in such wonderful surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Katie Many thanks for your review of YHA Keswick and I'm pleased you had a good stay. The hostel does have lots of 2, 3, 4 and 6 bedded rooms, ideal for families and small groups, and you're right, we are ideally located just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. Hope to see you again soon. Tim,... More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Keswick YHA is right next to the river, fantastic scenery and setting. My husband, daughter and myself stayed in a private room. The self catering kitchen is well equipped. The showers are powerful and hot. we would happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Chris - thanks for your review of YHA Keswick and glad you enjoyed your stay here. I'm pleased that you thought the self catering kitchen is well equipped, we're also about to replace some of the older bits of kit to make it even better. Did you also get the chance to eat in the Rocky River Dinner - the... More

London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our second time at this hostel which is open all day, v close to town centre. The self-catering kitchen is a bit small but I think most guests eat out nowadays. Has cafetieres in case you like to bring proper coffee. The staff are so kind and helpful, thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your positve review about YHA Keswick and I'm really pleased you had a great trip with fantastic weather. Room 309, along with half of our bedrooms have great views across the river and park and onto Skiddaw - great to look up where you've been during the day. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Tim Butcher -... More

England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

A party of 18 rowdy mancunians is enough to scare any establishment but the youth hostel in Keswick took it all in their stride. We have stayed at Keswick before but not for a few years and things have been updated since our last stay. It's still a cheaper option than a hotel and you get the real hostel experience.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick and I'm pleased that your group had a good time. YHA Keswick is a great place for groups of all sizes, and with our location in central keswick we're perfect for access to the whole of the North Lakes. Tim Butcher - hostel manager. More

UK
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
72 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Called into to try the recently re-opened cafe, which has mains and specials for around £7. And starters and great desserts which are very tasty and contain good portions and recommended. Showers are powerful and deals offered for people and groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Hi there, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Keswick YHA. We have recently refurbished our diner, and all our food is homemade, and quite unique. It sounds as though it was to your liking. Hope the rest of your Lakes adventure was as enjoyable, and we hope to see you here again soon. Barry Wilkinson Duty Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA Keswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Keswick with
any amenities

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer