We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Keswick

Certificate of Excellence
Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    50
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
12
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly hostel, the staff were very helpful. When we visited the card machine was not working so the let up put our bags in the room before paying. Lots of families and young people. The hostel was clean with good facilities. The only bad point was the the wifi was very poor and difficult to connect to, even in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It seemed to be full of homeless people and migrants. Not a hotel but a hostel:( The staff were all male and would have been better served praying in a Monastery;) The rooms were bunk beds and the snoring was the last straw for me!! The place has seen better days.Avoid!! Not my idea of fun..other B&B's available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
northumberland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Keswick Youth Hostel is in a central location and a perfect base for shopping in Keswick or climbing Skiddaw or Blencathra. The rooms are clean although the six bedded one I stayed in was on the small side. There is a self catering kitchen that gets busy but you can always take your breakfast onto the balcony or into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. You are right about not being able to bring your own alcohol due to our license, however this does mean we can sell you a lovely bottle or two which you could take up to the have with your own meal. We can also suggest other options for parking... More 

London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay if you're on a tight budget. Staff were cheerful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. It's worth knowing there is no lift so you need to be reasonably fit to be accommodated on their 3rd floor. Staff very kindly carried my luggage up for me which must have seemed like going the extra mile,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We’re please you found the staff to be cheerful and helpful. Hopefully see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent stay at this YHA. Room was clean and comfortable, food on offer was superb (large portions). I must say the staff were incredibly helpful (I managed to lose my wallet on the cycle from Penrith) they couldn't do enough to help. Really appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you were reunited with your wallet! Hopefully see you here again soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Just had a great stay here with my daughter aged 7. Terrific location!! Friendly staff - especially the catering team.Great reading lounge (with book swop for kids and adults), social lounge as well as a cafe bar downstairs.Breakfast was great, We went for the supper club each night at 7pm which was a great way to meet others and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of YHA Keswick. It’s great to read your comments and we were particularly please you enjoyed our home cooked meals each night of your stay. We hope to see you and your family back at YHA Keswick soon! YHA Keswick Team More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Though we had a wee bit of trouble finding this YHA (didn't see the lamppost sign and didn't expect it to be down a short river front walkway), once we got there it was fantastic. Loved the front walkway where you could enjoy a beverage and watch the river go by. Very welcoming. Four guys on a LDW with all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. You’re right, we have a great spot right on the river but maybe a little unexpected! It’s always nice to hear that people would like to visit again, so we hope it won’t be long before you’re back at YHA Keswick. YHA Keswick Team More 

Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

A good place to stay when you want to hike around! Good rooms, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as is usual in England! Breakfast was also quite good. One of the best hostel I came accross in England.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at YHA Keswick. We were very pleased to hear that you thought YHA Keswick was one of the best hostels you came across in England. We hope you'll be back soon! YHA Keswick Team More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This is the second time that I have taken a large group (18 this year) to Keswick. We found the staff to be pleasant the food to be great for hungry walkers and the setting to be very convenient. At £69 for 2 nights BandB and one nights evening meal it is also good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at YHA Keswick. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

stamford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

A lovely little hostel, often busy but well worth booking in advance as you're right in the centre of town yet overlooking the river (many dormitories and the lounge area have views). Sleep to the sound of the river and wake up looking at Skiddaw. It doesn't get better than that. Decently equipped members' kitchen, separate quiet room for reading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. You’re right about booking in advanced, we are starting to fill up for summer already but there is a few spots Hopefully see you at YHA Keswick again soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Swinside Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#8 of 11 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
5.8 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
16.2 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#2 of 10 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay