We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 178 Keswick B&Bs / inns

George Hotel

Save Saved
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   St Johns Street, Keswick, England
Hotel amenities
George Hotel
Ranked #109 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Wallington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great place for staying and eating! The rooms must have been recently done as they were a high standard and the bed was extremely comfy. The pub itself is very popular - and you can see why. Good choice of drinks, fires in the 2 bar rooms to keep it cosy and welcoming and the food is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked past and saw it was busy so thought it must be good. Was not disappointed. Had a brilliant night with locals. Bar staff and visitors. Everyone was so friendly. The atmosphere was great. Food looked delicious though had already eaten so will be going there on next visit. The whole place was very clean as well. Definetely a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
george h, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denjane Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Craig More

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Keswick about 20 times a year even though for us it is a 220 mile return drive. However this is the first time we have ever been to The George. The reason for this is on holiday in Greece in June we met a couple from Yorkshire who visit Keswick regularly and always eat at the George. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
george h, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rainier94 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Craig More

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some years ago we called in for Cow Pie but it was so large we were totally overfaced and consequently have never been back. However, we decided to give it another try. Welcomed by a totally professional waiter I enjoyed pheasant whilst my wife had an excellent duck dish. We won't leave it so long next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
george h, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AOB92 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dinner with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Craig More

Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we spent 2 nights at the George and the rooms were very nice and the meals were great Staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Managed to get one of the few car parking spaces so that was a bonus or would have had to leave car some distance away in public carpark. Recommend this place for staying in Keswick very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a beautiful evening meal here on a Friday night. I had the fish, chips and mushy peas and my partner had the Venison casserole. Both were so good! Really nice friendly staff serving us too. Make sure you book if you want to eat in the restaurant as it gets very busy as its so popular. You can eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
george h, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin C Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dinner with us. I am happy to hear that you had such an excellent time here and can assure you that we are all looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Craig More

Kinross, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Warm welcome on arrival. Clean comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Traveled by motorcycle so the off street parking was a bonus. Many hotels in Keswick do not have this facility which means the bike must be parked in one of the public car parks which can be expensive. Most enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Having Coeliacs Disease I find it difficult to eat out. I stumbled on the George in May and revisited during my recent trip to Keswick. This is the best gluten free food I have ever had. The fish and chips and beef are to die for. Best of all is the consistancy the food, the quality has not changed during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I'd like to thank Gordon and the rest of the staff for an excellent weekend,this is our fourth visit to the George,we enjoyed every stay there,our only criticism was at breakfast on the first morning we were all herded into one half of the restaurant,all the guests came down at the same time,all the tables were crammed together,on the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Really nice hotel friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast, only slight problem was breakfast time 8.30 was a bit late for workers!! a note is wi-fi was unattainable in my room !! other than that try to get a room away from the road and parking is limited

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: St Johns Street, Keswick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay