We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rainbow Tavern

32 Highgate, Kendal La9 4SX, England
The Rainbow Tavern
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    14
    2
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have recently stayed in the The Rainbow Tavern and all loved it. Its a lovely pub with brilliant staff who were all very helpful and friendly. I can recommend the pie breakfast and if you get a room there I recommend the pigeon suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just come home after staying friday and sat last week. 31 and 1st aug. I found the rainbow tavern friendly and clean and tidy. We where made to feel welcome and our room was fine. Tv didnt work at first but on asking the problem was soon sorted.all in all a pleasent stay in the centre of kendal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight after day out walking the mountains. Great location, in high street and good value for money. Lively bar but room was in separate building so there was no disturbance. Room was nice and bed was very comfortable. Great for an overnight stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money considering it's right on the main street, so location is great. Friendly staff. Clean room and sheets. Two Real Ales on in good condition. I didn't sample the breakfast so can make no comment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location right on the High Street, very helpful staff. Clean tidy rooms. Can be a little noisy at the weekend but ask for a room away from the bar. You wouldn't want to spend too much time in your room but your not paying for luxury here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here looking for a place with atmosphere after visiting a couple of pubs which were empty and dull! We had a great laugh here on a Saturday night - the lady who does the karaoke was great fun and it was a nice friendly pub. Can't comment on the food etc as we only drank here but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a room very simply by email several months before my stay. It was in a price bracket I could afford and I was expecting a basic but clean room for my money. My room was big and clean, though the shower curtain put me off using. I was happy with my room. Unfortunately, I was less than impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were made to feel like that. I am extremely disappointed in the staff you had dealings with. It is our policy that we do not hand out the keys until we have received a payment, however this is not meant to offend guests or make them feel unwelcome. I will be showing the chef your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We didn't sleep or eat here so cannot comment on those (though we did speak to guests who stay here regularly and felt it was fantastic value and good accommodation for a city centre pub!!). There are a lot of good pubs in Kendal but we really liked this one as it was light, airy, clean, with a nice beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Went as a party of 7 for lunch after being told elsewhere that food would take a while...so I thought nice little pub on a Sunday why bloody not, from here my dreams we're shattered into pieces, 6 of 7 meals turned up from the chef who had to run food as the bar lady was obviously more interested in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had such an awful experience. I will show this review to the staff involved and make improvements on the service. If you are in the area again, please come in for a meal on the house so we can show you that our service is normally of a much higher standard. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Came here for a weekend (Easter Weekend actually) on a Stag Party. The location is perfect for Kendal Town Centre and there's a huge (and free) car park right behind it which is ideal. It was busy and bustling with live entertainment (of a sort) in the bar at night and a great pub atmosphere. Maybe it's always so busy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your weekend and you can appreciate the basic accommodation we offer for large stag parties, wishing to explore the Lake District at a reasonable price. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#6 of 18 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities