We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rainbow Tavern

32 Highgate, Kendal La9 4SX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Rainbow Tavern
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were stranded in Kendal during the December floods and could not get to Bowness to stay in a hotel I'd already booked due to the roads being closed and the Rainbow Tavern was the only place we could find that had rooms available. The bar itself was quite nice but our bedroom was terrible. Peeling wallpaper, damp and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karyngibbie
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We bought a voucher off the bay vouchers which included dinner, 1 night stay and breakfast. We did buy it last minute and didn't require dinner but we were told we couldn't have breakfast either the next morning which was a bit annoying as it doesn't take long to make some bacon! Rooms are average and in my opinion this... More 

Helpful?
Thank lvwearing
Silloth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back after 2 night away, great place staff are very helpful. The rooms are lovely and suitable with a en suite and tea\coffe in the room. The bar is central of the town and great real ale to choose from. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beckie M
Cala D`Or
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived for two nights bed and breakfast purchased with a voucher. We weren't expecting The Ritz for the price we paid, but did expect to get a nights sleep. The photo of the room in no way reflected either of the two rooms we saw. I am not sure that photo was taken at this hotel!!!. When we arrived,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn C

Travelers are raving about these Kendal hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

This hotel is located in the heart of Kendal and is very central. The pub downstairs is friendly and the staff are helpful. The rooms however are awful. The room had a bad smell, the carpets were dirty, the walls were damp, the toilet seat was cracked and dirty. The bathroom tiles were cracked, loose and covered in mould and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

Stayed here twice now going back next weekend for two nights Bed & Breakfast great value for money and Lovely place to stay. It is ideally situated and has its own Car Park you just go out the front door and your on the main pedestrian area.

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

Booked an overnight stay for 3 couples thinking that the Rainbow Tavern might be a typical quiet lakes real ale pub. It is not. If you want to sleep before midnight and you don't like atrocious karaoke cover of long dead Charlotte Church songs, do not book to stay here. Very basic rooms, not very clean, shower that didn't work,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Went here on a voucher offer for 2 nights with breakfasts and one lunch included. Had no knowledge of our booking when we arrived but they had a room anyway.....im not surprised. Rooms nothing like the picture they used, bedroom window painted up so could not open had to leave bathroom door open to get air from bathroom window into... More 

Helpful?
Thank 447lynk
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The vouchers were not valid on bank holiday weekends, which is maybe why we had no knowledge of your booking. However we made an exception and moved other bookings around to ensure we could accommodate you. Due to this the room you were allocated was not one of the rooms we would usually use for... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Just had fantastic stay at the rainbow tavern friendly staff and great food and drinks value for money all round, set inside the shopping area so handy for shopping thanks for a great stay can't wait to return,really close to Windermere and all other Lake District sites, you gotta check this place out

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to any future visits! More 

Orkney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Great place to stay. Good bar, great staff (thanks to Leala for a laugh). 13 of us in Kendal for a pals Stag Do and we had a ball. Ok, so the decor is a wee bit tired in the bedrooms and the town hall bell wakes you up early but being situated right in the middle of the town... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bones66
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 17 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgate Hotel
Highgate Hotel
#10 of 17 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities