We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rainbow Tavern

32 Highgate, Kendal La9 4SX, England
The Rainbow Tavern
Rate this Hotel

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    1
    3
    10
See reviews for
5
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the best. Rooms dark and depressing. Bathroom needs more than a good clean. I didn't want to walk bare foot on the carpet. Sheets clean (I think) but old and grey. Breakfast wasn't part of the deal but wouldn't have eaten there anyway. Staff friendly enough to be fair. You get what you pay for but I'm surprised this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

We are waiting for Enterprise Inns to give our accommodation a full refurbishment, so I can agree with you that the rooms are outdated. The sheets definitely were clean, however we will be using a laundry service from next week to ensure the sheets stay bright white. Breakfast would have been provided had you requested it, then you could have... More 

lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worst place we have ever stayed! The rooms in a prison would be better and safer how on earth this place remains open Is beyond me, the breakfast was unedible we didn't bother the 2nd day and the bar staff were more intoxicated than the customers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara K, Manager at The Rainbow Tavern, responded to this review

We are waiting for a complete refurbishment of all the rooms. Had I been told you didn't enjoy your breakfasts I would have happily paid for you to have a full breakfast elsewhere. Please feel free to contact your voucher provider to ask for a full refund. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

spent a friday night in the bar of the rainbow,although the singer was entertaining the bar staff need some serious training as to how to pull a pint of beer and how to use the sprinkler on the beer pumps correctly

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here recently and was shocked by the smelly bare room we were taken to. It felt like a prison cell. The bathroom was so filthy, the toilet seat was cracked, and the shower tiles were cracked and filthy too. The worst thing though was the dirty bed sheets, the smell kept us awake in in the night!. (there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Llanelli
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Walking into the room we were faced with dirty unwashed bed sheets and pillowcases, hairs on towels, stained walls, dirty bathroom, it really wasn't good! We didn't want to sleep in the bed so slept on it, but I was woken in the middle of the night by the disgusting smell from the pillow as I had turned in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have recently stayed in this hotel I was charged a set amount for bed and breakfast, when I went to recieve my breakfast I was told I would have to pay extra and also there was no one in to cook for me. The bedroom which I stayed in was awful, the bedsheets smelled really bad of smoke, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights recently when we went to visit friends. It is located in the centre of kendal making it a good base for exploring the town. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable with daily maid/cleaner service. Our room was in the annex at the back which we were told are better than the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were in a party of 9 and booked to stay for 2 nights we were shown to our rooms and could not believe we were expected to sleep in them. I would not recommend this place to any one. The rooms are dirty, the furniture has seen better days and some of the rooms have to use a shared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend. The staff were were very friendly and the room was large and clean. The cooked breakfast hit the spot. It is very centrally located. However I would not recommend this hotel for couples as the facilities are very average. The towels smelled damp and everything is a little tired about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
North Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Right in the center of town, ideally placed for access to all that Kendal and the Lakes has to offer. Good food, friendly welcome, clean rooms, well presented and reasonable value for money. Works for anyone wanting a reasonably priced weekend in the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question