We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Hotel

3.0 of 5
Beezon Road | Stramongate Bridge, Kendal LA9 6EL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Riverside Hotel
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    273
    130
    50
    24
See reviews for
96
387
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (672)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (130)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (172)
All months
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We found this hotel very clean Linen and towels very fresh.We overlloked the river . The room 306 was spacious double and a single bed . The staff were quite miserable . Dont expect a good swim as this pool is used by local people as it comes with gym membership .On the day I was using it I went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned after two night stay in the hotel. Dog friendly in the bedroom and bars so was great for us and Ruby or Cocker spaniel. Bedroom was spacious and luxurious on the 3rd floor overlooking the River Kent. Leisure centre with pool, Jacuzzi and gym top rate. Breakfast was self service but the full English was delicious. 3 CourseTable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel for its town centre position and free private car parking. We booked a 'suite' which consisted of a bedroom and a separate living area with TV, sofa, arm chair and a desk - convenient for a laptop. Both rooms looked out over the river Kent. Breakfast (self-service) in the restaurant was excellent with a wide range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely setting requested room with nice view for my wife's birthday and the hotel came up trumps for us lovely good sized room overlooking river Kent. The room was very clean and the bathroom sparklingly so and staff very friendly and helpful. Two minus points we had no room tidy on our first full day and it's always nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday with us. We are very pleased to read your comments about your stay especially about our location, standard of accommodation and breakfast. We certainly hope to welcome you back if you are in the area again. Thank you. More 

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Asked for disabled access on booking, was given room on 3 rd floor with shower over bath. Asked to be moved which took 24 hours. Put on ground floor, with 5 steps down to floor level, and again shower over bath so unable to use. Only 1 disabled parking space for entire hotel, if you park on roadside displaying disabled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Being an older building set over mezzanine floors has presented a challenge with disabled access. We have updated various things over the years (chair lifts, lifts, disabled room). However, there are a few stairs to navigate. We do thank you for your feedback on... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

i booked this hotel as a group in desk for / nights, I asked for a river view which we got. Room was clean and maintained. Breakfast was fabulous... Buffet style but plenty to choose from... (Sausages were amazing) Didn't use the swimming pool but if looked impressive. Ideal hotel for shopping and bars/restaurants not to near to the noise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your visit and your delightful, 5* review. We cannot thank you enough for comments about our food (including the humble, yet delicious sausage!), location and accommodation. We are pleased you say you would stay with us again; we look forward to it! Thank you. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

stayed here over the Easter weekend, the hotel was Lovely and room was great couldn't believe how big the bed was and so comfy. the views are brill. the breakfast was good and didn't have any complaints. upon arrival the Ladies toilets we're dirty but that is only bad thing I can say. we couldn't check in untill 3pm but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and for your nice review. We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay including your big, comfy bed, our location and leisure amenities. We thank you for recommending us to others and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall not a bad hotel however some basic things missing such as a proper double bed and not two single beds put together; uncomfortable and not so great for a couple, actually changing the bedsheets as part of the room service and not just making the bed (a basic necessity!) and a refrigerator in the room would've been handy. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and stay. We do wish we were able to give you a bit of that "wow" factor for your stay although we appreciate your comments about our staff and leisure amenities. We aim to offer excellent value breaks and we're pleased you were able to take advantage of one for your stay. Thanks again. More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a dog friendly hotel, I was conscious of the rooms and hotel being full of dogs and fur, but it was pleasantly clean! We stayed for a few days and visited lake Windermere which was only a short distance away on the train. The breakfast was very nice each day with a lovely view of the river. The spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review and for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable time in the Lakes and everyone appreciates your nice comments about our staff. We thank you for recommending us to others and hope to welcome you back again. Thanks. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Riverside Hotel was the perfect place to stay for a weekend in in the lakes. Then room was small but extremely comfortable with everything you need. Tea and coffee was replaced every day and was cleaned to a high standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and for reviewing your stay with us. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us and are delighted you had a comfortable stay. We also thank you for taking notice of our excellent cleaning standards and hope to see you again! Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question