We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal

#1 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    319
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
164
593
23
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1123)
  • Mar-May only
    (302)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (300)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (274)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (247)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal
See the most recent reviews
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. The bedrooms are functional and pleasant, rather than luxurious, but they are fairly priced. Everything you'd need. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, and the hotel is in a lovely location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

Short and sweet!! Hope to see you at the hotel again soon Ben Mayou More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I, spent 1 night at this beautiful hotel, on Sunday 13th October 2013. We could not fault anything about our stay. We were in room 211, which had a small balcony, which looked out over the gardens, and the town of Kendal. The staff were professional, and very helpful. The evening meal, and breakfast, were top quality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We have some fantastic winter promotions coming up so why not come and enjoy a relaxing break in the lead upto Christmas or early next year? Further details can be found on our website. Ben Mayou More 

Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay staff brilliant , room excellent hsk standards well maintained .Penny at reception was very helpful enjoy my stay that much I stayed a extra night . Vicki in spa area her treatments where excellent . Restaurant food fantastic also staff service Leona was so lovely . In all well impressed will book again team work showed as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

We are very lucky to have such a great team here at Castle Green and I am delighted that this enhanced your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Ben Mayou More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night. The most lovely comfortable sleep with good quality cotton bedding. We were at the back of the hotel and were actually quiiet pleased to be as it was so quiet. Breakfast was to a great standard. We had dinner at the award winning restaurant in the evening. The only issue being we couldnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review I have always said that you should avoid any restaurant which is quiet between 7-8.30pm! The Greenhouse Restaurant has the opposite problem in that we cannot always fit everybody in! Advanced reservations are highly recommended to avoid disappointment. We have recently introduced an ‘Early bird’ promotion of 10% off food to reward early diners. Further... More 

Formby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is not a 4 star but an average 3 star,, The rooms are tired and small and somewhat generic, the fist room we were given didnt even have a bath and just a small shower with no view and above an access road. the carpet was uneven and the chairs looked like they had seen better days. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

We treat all feedback very seriously and as such I have been in touch with this guest directly. We were awarded 4* status following an unannounced overnight stay from a senior AA Inspector earlier in the year. However, we are not resting on our laurels and the team have been very focused on improving the service delivery and consistency. This... More 

Baldersby, Thirsk United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed here many times both on business and on pleasure. It sits above Kendal with great views from the restaurant and it is there that this hotel scores. I am not a foodie but I know fine dining when I get it. The rooms are okay and a bit generic but the restaurant more than makes up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

With the large volume of reviews we are currently receiving rating us as ‘Excellent’ or ‘Very Good’ it won’t be long before the secret is out…… but we are not complaining!!! Why not give us a try for yourself? Ben Mayou More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed here for a wedding in august the gardens were amazing lovely for all the photos, rooms were fantastic well equipped for all our needs .had a lovely balcony over looking the grounds, the staff were very attentive.. the dinner we had was wonderful all the best produce..... breakfast was to die for all fresh and tasted amazing greatest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your experience. Trip Advisor research claims that 87% of travellers are influenced by the reviews they read. On the basis of this review I hope a few people will be convinced to give us a try!! The most competitive rates can be found on our website and with our new and improved mobile and tablet adaptive... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a few nights at the end of September and had a great time. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, you feel that nothing is a problem to them. The food is good too. If I had to offer a gripe I could say that the room was too warm but as we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

We aim to please ;-) Ben Mayou More 

Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week while attending a course at the Heightec Training Centre. Lovely hotel in a quiet location. The room was a bit of the small side but overall very comfortable. My only complaint is that it was rather difficult to get into the hotel restaurant, however you are advised to book in advance, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I have always been told to steer clear of any restaurant that is very quiet! Fortunately our Greenhouse Restaurant is usually packed so advanced table reservations are highly recommended. You wouldn’t want to miss out on the chance to experience fantastic 2 AA rosette standard food at very reasonable prices (£28 for 3 courses!) Ben... More 

Joycey8
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What can I say about this hotel, we have nothing but praise. Our wedding Day in September was just amazing from start to finish everything went so well. We cannot thank the team enough especially Nicola and Christine. All our friends and family had a wonderful time and all said the food and rooms very brilliant. We cannot wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, responded to this review

Nicola and Christine are our wedding dream team! They will have been involved in hundreds of weddings at Castle Green over the years so take it all in their stride! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Ben Mayou More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

532 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (306)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Balcony Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (40)
Viewed
Indoor Swimming Pool (7)
Viewed
Luxury Executive Room (40)
Viewed
Luxury Executive Room with Garden View (44)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
Standard Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question