We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

County Hotel

Station Rd, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
County Hotel
Add Your Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    37
    21
    19
See reviews for
16
44
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Tyne and Wear
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at The County Hotel in Kendal. It has the most helpful and pleasant staff one could ask for. Nothing was too much trouble for them. There is plenty of choice in the Dining Room. My room was large, well equipped with hair dryer, TV, kettle, lots of tea coffee and milk provided. The bathroom was in need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, March 6/7th 2015 and it was obvious that refurbishments are being made and they are trying very hard to improve the hotel, give them a chance. My room was clean, newly decorated with new carpets and the bed linen and towels clean and fresh. Food was very good and plenty of it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
s.yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from coach holiday to Kendal and the Lake District. Hotel is very tired, but clean bedding and towels. Dark small bedrooms and noise from the traffic out-side can be heard, dark lounge. Staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient, nothing too much trouble for them. Food was good. Entertainment on the Saturday night was easy on the ear,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lowestoft
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a coach holiday and stayed in Room 202. The hotel is a bit tired but was clean For what we paid it was an excellent stay. The staff were all great and very helpful. The food was excellent with very good choices,and quickly served. We slept well in room212. It was positioned in a quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

usually i dont stop over for things that are less than 100 miles away - but the way the weather was over xmas i decided to book somewhere just in case. the county is cheap clean and right in the middle of town its an old building and the decor is a little old but the rooms are basic (bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in The County Hotel for one night and that was enough! The receptionist was friendly enough but the room was terrible. I was in room 212 and was shown where the lift was but decided to take the stairs. The lift looked so old that I didn't dare step inside! The room was very old looking. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We stayed for I night just to get a break before Christmas. The staff were a lovely bunch it was like home from home. Never seen as many Christmas decorations and apparently it wasn't all finished. We slept very well and had a lovely breakfast. Yes it is an old building but nice and clean and very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

My room was very clean & well serviced. The only things I agree with Irene The staff were very friendly & helpful & the towels were small. The food & service were excellent. Colette E Comment re 5 star Hotel . It has never been 5 star & room prices show that. My only complaint on my 5 day stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Faulty Towers came to mind when we checked in. Staff we extremely friendly which made up for the quality and cleanliness of our rooms. Dusty, not sure when it was last checked, teapot, cups and tray they were sat on dusty, bed well worn, towels to small, hairs in the bath, taps didn't match, out dated fixtures and fittings, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed for one night. Can't describe the shock of seeing the bathroom. Wooden counter top above sink was peeling and covered in mildew. Sealant round bath and sink stained brown and the actual bath looked like it had been painted but was peeling away! Pole that shower was attached to was hanging off the wall and it was positioned so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholiday.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question