We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

County Hotel

Station Rd, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
County Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
County Hotel
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    34
    21
    18
See reviews for
16
44
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for I night just to get a break before Christmas. The staff were a lovely bunch it was like home from home. Never seen as many Christmas decorations and apparently it wasn't all finished. We slept very well and had a lovely breakfast. Yes it is an old building but nice and clean and very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harwich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was very clean & well serviced. The only things I agree with Irene The staff were very friendly & helpful & the towels were small. The food & service were excellent. Colette E Comment re 5 star Hotel . It has never been 5 star & room prices show that. My only complaint on my 5 day stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Faulty Towers came to mind when we checked in. Staff we extremely friendly which made up for the quality and cleanliness of our rooms. Dusty, not sure when it was last checked, teapot, cups and tray they were sat on dusty, bed well worn, towels to small, hairs in the bath, taps didn't match, out dated fixtures and fittings, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. Can't describe the shock of seeing the bathroom. Wooden counter top above sink was peeling and covered in mildew. Sealant round bath and sink stained brown and the actual bath looked like it had been painted but was peeling away! Pole that shower was attached to was hanging off the wall and it was positioned so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholiday.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night to break up our journey to Scotland. The lady on reception was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite old fashioned , and probably could do with some updating in the near future , but the rooms were clean and perfectly adequate for a nights stay. Definitely not 5 star luxury , but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Tired and in dire need of renovation, room was clean but very dated and carpets were really tired, Shower door falling off and I reckon the lift is a bit dodgy. Bar lady very friendly, but Lager was not great. Breakfast good. For £30.00 you can't expect too much more from a hotel - there was free parking too. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends. We were checked in by a lovely friendly lady on reception, couldnt fault the staff. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but the room was clean. Unfortunately we had ah poor nights sleep due to the room being so hot even though there was no radiator on in the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Holmfirth, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This hotel is seconds from railway station. My room 301 was ultra clean and warm. Bedding and towels spotless. Tons of tea coffee etc in room. Flat screen tv with perfect picture. Breakfast is wonderful and you are served immediately by very friendly staff. As a lone female traveller i often find myself a bit out of place in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

stayed here recently not impressed terrible Internet and rooms need updating and refurbishment staff very nice but overworked a bit tired and dirty in places Breakfast ok but meals lacked flavour shabby in some places no one I spoke to was happy with the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed at the county hotel last week and have to say that I won't be staying again. The beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were so soft and flimsy sleeping was impossible. The room itself was extremely basic and as was the bathroom and in desperate need of renovation. The breakfast was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Station Rd, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay