We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Queen's Head Hotel

Main St., Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Queen\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    166
    91
    20
    15
    5
See reviews for
45
176
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (297)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The restaurant is truely superb, the lamb shoulder in mint jus was simply divine. Highly recommended! The rooms (as well as the pub!) were very beautifully decorated. However, the mattresses were way too soft and unfortunately worn out as well. A sad blotch on an otherwise first class establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot recommend Queens highly enough. The hotel is a gorgeous old building, the rooms are maintained to the highest standard, absolutely spotless and immediately make you feel spoiled in the best way (a quick thank you to Sara in housekeeping who was an absolute ray of sunshine!). As I booked late, I got the twin room despite travelling alone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from overnight stay at Queens Head, lovely cosy, pub with great atmosphere. We ate dinner in the pub, jolly glad we pre-booked at it was busy all evening. The food for both dinner and breakfast was excellent as was the service. The staff were friendly, service was relaxed but efficient. Only one minor niggle, we stayed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the queens head to a warm welcome . Our rooms were across from the main pub but only a stones throw away so no issues there. The rooms weren't large but perfectly formed and the interior design and dressing of the rooms was beautiful with plenty of charm and character. The pub / resturant was bursting with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here on Friday 7th August to meet up with friends going to wedding next day, rang beforehand to ask about food answer back yes but limited as we're having problems with the gas, arrived only to be told no more food served unless booked. Really disappointed only 3 of us wanting food others were eating, not very accomadating or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queens H, Owner at Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kate Unfortunately due to having no gas supply in our kitchen, we had to suspend our food service for 3 days in a row, awaiting an engineer. As the owner of this small business I can assure you there was nothing deliberate about having to disappoint our guests and valued customers, especially during peak season when our Inn is... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4 well kept real ales on, mainly from Robinsons with some bottled beers as well. Good wine list. Not a huge menu but what they do they do very well and you get your money's worth - which is much better than a large poorly cooked menu. Traditional pub interior and can get busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in two rooms between a family of four; both were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu is varied and interesting with an excellent wine menu and my husband enjoyed the selection of ales on offer. Breakfast is delicious with lots of choice, all cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week in July, stayed in 'Trout cottage' round the side of the actual BB, was really nice, decent sized room, comfy bed, big TV is always nice. Best of all though a really big bathroom with both a bath and a shower! Not sure what it's like in the other rooms, however ours was pretty reasonably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was in the Annexe next to the main hotel. Room was good size, king size bed, wall mounted TV, and ensuite. The price included breakfast which is served in the hotel restaurant between 8.30-11.00am. Lots of choices from Al la carte to buffet. For me I just told them what I wanted and they gave me those items from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of my favourite place to go when in England! Rooms are a nice size, king size beds, great shower and they heave a nice little sitting area with a fireplace. Mind you if your not bothered by the rain then this is the place for a nice get away. The included breakfast was fabulous, both buffet and Al la... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.5 mi away
Waterhead
Waterhead
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
4.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#16 of 24 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 24 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay