We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hawkshead accommodations

YHA Hawkshead

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ambleside, Hawkshead LA22 0QD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Hawkshead to your Saves list
YHA Hawkshead
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
LittleRobK London, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

just back from 3 nights camping in the grounds of Hawkshead YHA. Had a great time. There were some noisy guests, which was a shame, but can't blame the YHA for that! Like all YHAs its pretty basic, but cheap, and the staff are all really friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found the YHA Hawkshead to be very good indeed. We stayed in a private room in the annex. The hospitality of the staff was indeed excellent, evening meals, breakfasts, cleanliness......all just the same. Do take note to have a torch in case of using the overflow car park. To conclude it was so good that we intend to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was our first official camping trip .. thats me and my 8 yr old daughter.. having no tent and no car, we chose to book into the wooden pods, and just bring our sleeping bags and mats.. There was LOADS of room, a heater, a light, chairs, decking, a power point so we could have music on and charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family have stayed in YHA's a lot in the last 5 years, and this has to be the worst. Unfriendly staff, dirty showers ( I didn't even want to use it!), run down bedrooms and house in general, and very overgrown garden outside the self- catering kitchen. I would recommend rather staying at the Grasmere YHA down the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Hawkshead, Duty Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewings us. Since you stayed in September last year a lot has changed here! We've had a full refurbishment of our main building, new furniture, flooring, painted everywhere and it no longer looks tired and run down. Not only that we have new staff members who are dedicated to making sure you have the best time you can... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed as a group in May 2014 booking two camping places and two pods. The pods were excellent, they had heating, a light and a couple of plug sockets. They were really cosy and were lockable so felt very safe. We were able to light a BBQ outside the pod which was great fun. The camping field was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Hawkshead, Duty Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We love the pods, they're a great happy medium between camping and staying inside our hostel. Unfortunately with us being in the Lake District we can get quite a bit of rain at times and it can make our camping field a little bit boggy but it drains away fairly quickly thankfully!... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was overwhelmed by the facilities, camping pods, evening meal menu, location, in fact just about everything! Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with friends and would strongly recommend. Amazing value for money too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This beautiful Georgian villa, with lots of original architectural features, is set in a tranquil location just a short walk from the charming village of Hawkshead. With views, across the grounds, of delightful Esthwaite water, which is one of the smaller lakes in the district and a real gem. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHA_Hawkshead, Duty Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, we love to hear when people have really enjoyed staying at our hostel! We have a great range of home cooked meals available which go great with a bottle of one of our local ales. We hope to see you again soon! More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lovely big house, picturesque views and extensive grounds to explore. Super-friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Incredible value, tasty food (2 adult courses, 2 child courses, and a bottle of beer or glass of wine all for £10). New modern bunks and mattresses. Pleasant dining rooms and lounge. Within half an hour's drive of the Langdales, Loughrigg, Coniston and 4 of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovley hostel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, we are glad you mentioned our new bunks and mattresses as well as the comfort of the lounge, as we have recently refurbihed these parts of the hostel, it is nice to see someone enjoying our hard work. We look forward... More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

On a riving at the hostel the receptionist was very friendly. Our room was in the court yard. The room could'nt have been used previously this year as it smelt very musty.ON mentioning this to reception I was told it may be because there had been new beds so it may have unearthed smells when the room was updated. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Hawkshead, Duty Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We try our best to keep our standards high and unfortunately you came to stay after we had just had some minor refurbishments and i'm sorry it spoilt your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the self catering kitchen issue, it is hard to keep it looking spotless when some people... More

hebburn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location, 15 minute walk from hawkshead main street. Good pubs with live music. Excellent base for walkers, cyclists or just for enjoying the lakes. Staff friendly , breakfast was ok , would definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I think the location is one of the best things about YHA Hawkshead, as you say an easy stroll to a lovely village with great pubs and entertainment. There are miles of good cycling directly from the hostel and all the fells are within a short drive.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA Hawkshead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Hawkshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hawkshead

Address: Ambleside, Hawkshead LA22 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Hawkshead 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your YHA Hawkshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Hawkshead Lake District

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Hawkshead is a regency mansion set in stunning grounds overlooking tranquil Esthwaite water. We are located one mile south of Hawkshead village, known as "the prettiest village in Lakeland".We offer private and family rooms as well as dormitory accommodation. Spread across two buildings, there is a lounge, games room, drying room and self- catering kitchen. We offer evening meals and breakfast, to be enjoyed in our spacious dining rooms overlooking the garden. Picnic lunches are also available for a day in the fells. We are fully licensed and offer a range of local beers, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks.We have a small shop, selling a range of gifts, souvineers, maps, guides, snacks and basic food provisions for those wishing to self- cater.Our helpful and friendly staff have a wealth of knowledge on the area and can assist you in planning your stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer