We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Hawkshead

Certificate of Excellence
Ambleside, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0QD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Hawkshead
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was my first stay at Hawkshead YHA it was not just a pleasant weeks stay in the hostel but a week of volunteering work with a great team of ten volunteers from England, Scotland & China via France. We had a dedicated manager Rachael who would keep us happily working with lots of home made cakes and coffee. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewcastleRabbit
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

We were a group of four, and stayed here in June 2015 for two nights. We reached very late around 2 am driving that we were from Edinburg. With Google maps our only aid in finding this quaint and quiet, yet inviting place dead in the night, we were worried if they would accommodate us at all. The staff present,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rakshas2000
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

My son, husband and I stayed here for a long week end, we had booked through booking.com who had indicated we had booked a glamping cabin in the woods with bunkbeds but when we arrived this was not the case. The staff quickly dealt with this issue showed us around the cabin we thought we had booked and upgraded us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen W
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I’m delighted to hear how your son enjoyed his stay in the arctic cabin and will pass on your lovely feedback to the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again soon! More 

UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

I stayed here before many years ago and even then I thought this was a great hostel with beautiful surroundings and helpful staff. This time I stayed in one of those pods for couple of nights. I paid £54/night which I thought was a bit much for what is basically an empty room with a lamp and heater with quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roaming_Around2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

I stayed one night, self catering in a dorm. Really friendly staff, great dorm, big enough for the many bunks without feeling crowded. There was a school group staying at the same time but didn't hear them at all outside the common areas! Kitchen facilities are the standard YHA, so everything you need and tons of space. The location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Last minute walking weekend in the Lakes - we knew we would struggle for accommodation so we took a chance on the YHA. I kinda knew what to expect, but it was still a new experience and a shock to the system. That said ...... it works ! Staff were great, it was a bed for the night - OK,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyMac1965
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I'm pleased we were able to accomodate you. As you say we offer cheap accomodation in stunning locations all over the country. Whilst we are basic compared to expensive hotels we offer a different atmosphere ( in my opion a much friendlier and relaxed one). We aim to help people who would not neccesarily be able... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Other guests in campsite up until past 1am shouting, drinking and playing music - rude when asked to keep the noise down. Staff member didn't seem all that concerned when we complained the next morning. Beautiful location but won't return especially not with children.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah Z
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay was disturb by other guests. There are methods in place for customers to contact staff if they feel there is a problem. We are looking at increasing staff presence on the campsite for next season to help deal with any issues that might arise. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

Having never stayed or even considered staying in a YHA, I have to say I was really pleasantly surprised with how organised and great it was. I shall definitely do it again. The reception was really friendly from all the staff I encountered and food was lovely and a great choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank JM0483
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review, really pleased you had a great stay with us. One of the things that makes the YHA special is our customer service, you should find the same level at all our hostels! I hope we see you again soon. More 

jen_ecc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a camping pod. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Toilet and showers very close by. Quiet little field for the pods made it feel very secluded. We had a meal in the hostel which we were pleasantly surprised by...very cheap and very tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank jen_ecc
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, great to hear that you found the campsite quite and secluded and the food good value and tasty! We feel £8.50 for 3 courses represents excellent value. We hope we see you again sometime. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Travelled with my family of 5 and was seeking to introduce them to YHA. I was extremely disappointed. The room was one of two in an outer building and was damp, smelt very musty and was dirty. It even had a large blood stain on the floor. The toilet and shower area also stank of sewerage. I reported it to... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
YHA_Hawkshead, Manager at YHA Hawkshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm very sorry to hear you were dissapointed with the room that you were in. My understanding is that we looked to move you rooms but unfortunately due to it being a very busy weekend there was not another one available. The area of the hostel you stayed in is earmarked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
5.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
4.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#9 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
4.2 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#2 of 11 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
4.1 mi away
YHA Coniston Coppermines
YHA Coniston Coppermines
#1 of 9 in Coniston
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
5.4 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay