We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Swan Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Keswick Rd, Grasmere LA22 9RF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    262
    260
    100
    38
    16
See reviews for
70
493
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (676)
  • Mar-May only
    (171)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (176)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed here for two nights while travelling from Scotland to Devon and to be honest we didn't really want to leave. The Hotel is situated just a short walk outside the village of Grasmere on the A591 and is superbly located for exploring the area around Windermere, Ambleside and Grasmere itself. We went for an upgrade to the Executive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Firstly the positives. The location of the hotel is superb. Sitting out the front or in the garden having a pint and watching the world go by. Bliss. The room was very comfortable and our request for firmer pillows was dealt with very quickly. All the staff were very friendly and the car park spacious enough even for one as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay for me and my wife on 28-29th June in a Feature Double room. Got a lovely welcome from a very charming and helpful young man called Anthony who is normally based at Old England Hotel in Bowness and owned by Macdonald as is The Swan. He carried our multiple items of luggage from our car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Johnson, Thank you for your feedback. I'm Jane the General Manager at the Swan. Please be assured your concerns could have been addressed positively on check out if you had asked to speak to myself. I have already addressed the uniform issues with our night porter, but thank you for bringing it to my attention . Please be... More 

fareham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights Bed, Breakfast & Dinner whilst visiting the lakes by car. The hotel is well situated on the A591, just a stroll into Grasmere with it's gingerbread shop and Wordsworth's Daffodil Garden and his grave. We toured the area by car and enjoyed a steamer trip across Windermere from Lakeside to Bowness as well as enjoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Your four star review is much appreciated . I'm very happy to hear that you had an excellent stay. I welcome the feedback about our new menu and I'm happy to hear that you found it good value. The meat and fish we use at the hotel... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night bed and breakfast. The hotel from the outside looks lovely and there was plenty of room for parking. The girl on reception was very welcoming and helpful. There is no lift in the hotel which isn't ideal when you have luggage with you. We stayed in room number 32 which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a four star review. I so happy to hear you had a nice stay and received a nice welcome. I am pleased to say that room 32 is part of our redecoration programme and is in the next phase. Thank you for pointing out the shaver is not working I will have... More 

Cuffley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have visited the Swan on several occasions and i was a little worried after reading some of the recent reviews. we need not have worried. On arrival we were made very welcome and our rooms were well allocated. I had notified in advance that one of our party had limited mobility and they were given a room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you so much for your kind words and recognising how hard the team are working . I'm happy to hear that the negative reviews did not dissuade you from visiting us again. I have passed on your comments to Mel and Emma. The feedback from our regular guests is valued greatly- especially were the new menu is... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family met at the Swan to celebrate my father's 90th birthday. My sister said they had been given a 'frosty' reception on their arrival from Scotland. I understand there had been a mixup regarding their room bookings. Fortunately my father was not aware of the upset. We enjoyed our dinner ... the food, particularly the first two courses, was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I'm Jane the General Manager at the Swan. I am extremely disappointed to read your review this morning. I want to sincerely apologise for the rudeness you experienced . I also want to apologise that you haven't received a response to the letter you wrote. I have been on annual leave for 10 days has it has not... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was good, bed excellent.food good and portions large. The staff seemed overworked although all very pleasant-they struggled to keep up with the service.Good location and excellent parking.would return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a four star review. Its fantastic to hear you had a comfortable and pleasant stay . I'm so happy to hear that you would return. Thank you for your kind words about the team, we did experience some staff issues which have now been remedied . I look forward to seeing you... More 

Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently stayed at the McDonald Swan hotel in Grasmere. We paid extra for a premium room which was nicely furnished and a little larger than average. However the bed was very disappointing. It was made up of a single with an extra third added on to make a double. It was probably one of the most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for writing about the stay at the Swan. I'm Jane the General Manager. I'm sorry to hear that you found the mattress hard - our beds are all king size or double so I feel you may have had a king size bed which as you state has a zip and lock system to become twin... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely location, very nice bedroom, good breakfast and evening meal,very helpful and friendly staff - what more could you ask for ? We would stay there again Many thanks to Tony,Rosa, Sam and Marius for making it such an enjoyable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmswangrasmere, General Manager at Macdonald Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for a wonderful 5 star review , Your kind word's about the team are much appreciated the team all work hard to ensure guest have nothing but a memorable stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future . Best Wishes Jane More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay