We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Coniston Holly How

3.0 of 5 Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Coniston Holly How
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Coniston Holly How
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
7
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Near London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for one night in November after a long day's walking where I was incredibly tired. I can't fault the place. Only myself and one other family were staying so it was very quiet, but I wasn't looking for the social aspect...just a decent sleep after a tiring day. I had an 8 bed dorm to myself upstairs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after racing in Coniston. Very friendly staff with relaxed check in. Room ok. Little chilly and felt damp but staff said the heating would be on and when it did room was cosy. Right near centre. Only down fall was the cooked breakfast which wasn't cooks fault would say more the low quality ingredients. I would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

I took a group of 32 1st year university students on a weeks residential to this hostel. Glenn and his team made us very welcome and provided us with an excellent service. The hostel is in an excellent location for outdoor activities and the food is brilliant. Highly recommended it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Some of the equipment slightly outdated but it all adds to the character of such a beautiful hostel. The staff were very courteous and offering sound advise which helped, will Go again! The surroundings are fantastic too! Love Coniston water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I hope we will see you this winter, do take advantage of our competitive deals. You need to see our amazing scenery during the winter, its really spectacular. More

Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

As only occasional hostellers we were prepared to not expect too much for our one night stay. The location is lovely and the hostel is charming, exuding character and making one feel like an Edwardian explorer. The room was completely adequate, clean and aired. Toilets and showers modern and clean. The common rooms were all tidy and pleasant places to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope that you will come and visit again. Make sure you visit us this winter, the scenery is spectacular . More

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This is the third year I have stayed together with my friends for our annual cycling weekend. The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful and the hostel offers everything we need as a base for our activities. Wholesome grub is on offer for breakfast and evenings, if required, which is significantly cheaper than eating in town. The bar is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Stayed at Holly How with a group of outdoor swimming friends for the Coniston End To End swim event. Couldn't have found a better place! Holly How ticked every box for us... outstanding value for money, EXTREMELY comfy beds, really fab food, easy walk to the lake and into Coniston village, fantastic drying room, cheap bar onsite, lovely garden for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed your visit and look forward to your next visit. I can confirm that we are looking into more flexible reception opening hours for 2015. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We reach the hostel at approxinately 12pm but the reception is suppose to open at 5pm. However, the hostel workers check in for us cause we're so tired that we fell asleep at their couch. Definitely worth the money. Great place for backpackers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

I'm so please you enjoyed your stay at Coniston Holly How. Hope to see you again soon. More

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I debated whether to leave a review from my summer visit, However reading the recent reviews I have to comment, on the awful state of the hostel and the room we stayed in. Yes it was room 9 to small for a family of 4, you couldn't access the sink area, it was smelly, dirty and bedding although clean was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad experience. Since your visit in August I can confirm that we have replaced the fridge in the self-catering kitchen and have passed on your feedback about your room cost to our central office. I can also confirm that we have carried out various cleaning and maintenance tasks... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A group of 6 walkers booked a private room and stayed 2 nights. We have never stayed in a quieter hostel in terms of noise - it was bliss. Even with a family staying next door. We found the hostel very clean with comfy beds and extremely friendly staff. We stayed in an 8 man room on the second floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Coniston Holly How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Coniston Holly How

Address: Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Coniston Holly How 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Coniston Holly How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay