We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Coniston accommodations

YHA Coniston Holly How

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Coniston Holly How to your Saves list
YHA Coniston Holly How
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
90%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Arren K
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
7
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Some of the equipment slightly outdated but it all adds to the character of such a beautiful hostel. The staff were very courteous and offering sound advise which helped, will Go again! The surroundings are fantastic too! Love Coniston water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I hope we will see you this winter, do take advantage of our competitive deals. You need to see our amazing scenery during the winter, its really spectacular. More

Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As only occasional hostellers we were prepared to not expect too much for our one night stay. The location is lovely and the hostel is charming, exuding character and making one feel like an Edwardian explorer. The room was completely adequate, clean and aired. Toilets and showers modern and clean. The common rooms were all tidy and pleasant places to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope that you will come and visit again. Make sure you visit us this winter, the scenery is spectacular . More

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the third year I have stayed together with my friends for our annual cycling weekend. The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful and the hostel offers everything we need as a base for our activities. Wholesome grub is on offer for breakfast and evenings, if required, which is significantly cheaper than eating in town. The bar is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Holly How with a group of outdoor swimming friends for the Coniston End To End swim event. Couldn't have found a better place! Holly How ticked every box for us... outstanding value for money, EXTREMELY comfy beds, really fab food, easy walk to the lake and into Coniston village, fantastic drying room, cheap bar onsite, lovely garden for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed your visit and look forward to your next visit. I can confirm that we are looking into more flexible reception opening hours for 2015. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We reach the hostel at approxinately 12pm but the reception is suppose to open at 5pm. However, the hostel workers check in for us cause we're so tired that we fell asleep at their couch. Definitely worth the money. Great place for backpackers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

I'm so please you enjoyed your stay at Coniston Holly How. Hope to see you again soon. More

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I debated whether to leave a review from my summer visit, However reading the recent reviews I have to comment, on the awful state of the hostel and the room we stayed in. Yes it was room 9 to small for a family of 4, you couldn't access the sink area, it was smelly, dirty and bedding although clean was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad experience. Since your visit in August I can confirm that we have replaced the fridge in the self-catering kitchen and have passed on your feedback about your room cost to our central office. I can also confirm that we have carried out various cleaning and maintenance tasks... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A group of 6 walkers booked a private room and stayed 2 nights. We have never stayed in a quieter hostel in terms of noise - it was bliss. Even with a family staying next door. We found the hostel very clean with comfy beds and extremely friendly staff. We stayed in an 8 man room on the second floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TEWKESBURY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Whilst the beds were comfortable and the place was clean I was disappointed that 2 cold water taps in the bathrooms on our level were not working and in the one that was there was no plug for the sink, I mentioned this to the manager on our arrival who said that he hoped to get them fixed sooner or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to confirm we have taken all the appropriate actions required. Look forward to seeing you soon. More

Wrexham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the hostel. We found clean well maintained facilities.( unlike the review). Good restaurant, we bought breakfasts which were excellent. Members kitchen perhaps not as well kitted out as other YHA' s we have stayed in. Bar available in the evenings. No complimentary tea/coffee here as charge £1.50 a pot. ( so bring your teabags). However a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Slightly confused by the review below mine! I have just spent a wonderful two days at this splendid hostel, beautifully clean, the friendliest staff, delicious food (freshly cooked) and chocolate flapjacks at reception too! There are obviously some areas which could do with a refurb but I understand these are in the pipeline. Coniston is a stones throw away, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage YHA Coniston Holly How?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Coniston Holly How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Coniston Holly How

Address: Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Coniston Holly How 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Coniston Holly How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay