We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Ambleside

Certificate of Excellence
Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Ambleside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Ambleside
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
26
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
stamford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Big and busy, but you're sure to find a corner in this spacious, clean, well-run hostel where you can get away from noisier groups - and on the week I went, it was relatively quiet. Restaurant was so-so, with an industrial pub-cafe sort of menu, but it's okay if you can't be bothered to cook after a long day out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Lynn More 

Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We regularly stay here approx once a year and always enjoy our stay. Lovely countryside and Fell walks. The restaurant overlooks the lake and there is outside seating for the rare fine weather days. The kitchen is large and roomy and there is parking outside although this can get very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, General Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We've got our fingers crossed for some more fine days so we can enjoy relaxing outside on the decking after a day in the hills! More 

London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great place - you don't have to be young to stay here!! Beautifully set overlooking the lake. Lots of buses nearby. Food was pretty good, good selection and not bad price and the bar reasonably cheap. Ambleside itself is lovely and three quarters of a mile down the road. The rooms are also good and facilities excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we love our view too! More 

Zilina, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at YHA Ambleside for two nights and it was a nice hotel with a great value for the money (we were a group of travelers so we didn't mind the shared room with bunk beds as well as shared bathroom. It is placed in a lovely environment and it offers a nice restaurant so overall it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I'm glad you like it here and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels :) More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
36 hotel reviews
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group of Meet-Up photographers / walkers were well accommodated at this YHA for two nights. Good location, everything that mattered was clean and efficient and the staff were very bouncy and responsive. Very much echo previous reviewers comments that YHA accommodation shouldn't be seen exclusively as something only for younger people, this one certainly managed to attract a diverse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and found us to be reasonably priced. Unfortunately we only have internet on the ground floor which is why it would have been unresponsive on the other floors. Your description of your room mates snoring cracked me up so much I snorted my tea! :) More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having previously had good experiences in YHA hostels I was expecting great things from YHA Windermere, both from their website and the high cost of £30 per person per night (for a room of 2 or 3 people sharing). I was vastly disappointed. My husband and I were in a room that we could not even stand up in due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, please be assured we appreciate and take on board all feedback. I apologise that the wifi was not working during your stay, the router we had developed a fault and although we were in touch with our internet provider on a daily basis it still took longer than we would... More 

Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a family room with its own toilet and bath. There is a restaurant built in which is great value or you can cook your own food in the kitchen. Staff are busy and helpful. The toilets are clean which is great. The other guests were a mix of families and groups. Located next to the lake it's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 1st May - 2nd May - with entire family in tow. Reception is laid back - friendly and easy does it - not rush and relaxed - good stuff. Got key to room at 1500 - dropped stuff in - had booked a private room for all of us so not a worry. Went downstairs at the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review, it's great to hear you are a returning visitor and that you would recommend us. Regarding the points you raise we are going to run a training session with all staff to ensure that all members of our team are up to the same levels of courtesy with the... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have not stayed in a youth hostel for many years, but wow, they have certainly changed up several gears. I can't rate this hostel highly enough. The quality of the facilities were akin to a four star hotel. Restaurant, bar, customer care etc. truly amazing! I stayed with a mate for four nights primarily to go hill walking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I've passed it around for all of the staff to see and Alex positively beamed about his special mention! Any time you talk to most of us about hiking or generally anything to do with being in the great outdoors and you wont be able to shut us up!! The Korean Choir made our... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Loved the position of this hostel right on the waterfront. Room was fine and staff helpful. Good value food in the lakeside cafe bar. This is a big and busy hostel. I prefer the small quiet ones but this was ideal for us to spend the night after finishing the Dales Way as we could arrive in style by boat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Congratulations on completing the Dales Way! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities