We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Ambleside

Certificate of Excellence
Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Ambleside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Ambleside
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    53
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
29
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just enjoyed our second stay here and can't speak highly enough about this hostel. The views are stunning, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the amenities are excellent. We self catered and although the kitchen was busy everyone just seemed to get along without any issue. We also availed ourselves of the bar facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Bethany, we may be a little biased but we completely agree that the views from here are the best in Ambleside! More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To begin with, the location was stunning. Much of the building looked out onto Lake Windermere. It was walking distance from the town and there were buses every 20 minutes. The staff were lovely, cheerful, and helpful. Our rooms were of a high standard considering it was a Youth Hostel! It would appear that many if not all the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a full description of our hostel Lydia. It's great to see you had a wonderful stay! Next time you visit you should find a fully stocked self catering kitchen as we've just been on a buying spree for new cutlery, sharp knives and even some new toasters and kettles :) More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed here before we returned for a weekend walking. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms and showers are not to be faulted. HOWEVER having an early start for a walk up Scarfell Pike the next day was mared by very little sleep. There was a group of teenage boys which were supervised by adults poorly. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

I'm really to hear that you were disturbed so much by the noise other guests were making and that on this occasion our staff were not able to resolve the issue. More 

Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the service at this YHA was second to none :) all the staff we had any dealings with were extremely friendly and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. they were friendly, chatty and helpful. The bedroooms were extremely clean and comfortable and ALL the rooms we used/saw were spotless. The breakfast was fantastic value for money and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

What you've written is so lovely, thank you Debbie :) More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Love the location of this hostel. Stunning views. The beds are uncomfortable, I was travelling with a large group and no one was able to get a good nights sleep. Still worth it for a short stay. The toilet and shower are impressively clean. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious! They also have gluten free and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for giving a shout out to our friendly staff and delicious breakfasts! More 

Strachur, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Everything was amazing beautiful location, clean rooms and great facilities! Had trouble sleeping though, there were children (tour groups) walking around late at night,slamming doors, you can hear most noices from the hallways and all surrounding rooms. Great place during the day, a little less nice when your trying to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're glad you like the facilities. Sorry you were disturbed by the noise of the young groups, to help to minimise any disruption we do try to separate where we accommodate the groups from the family and individual bookings, although this isnt always possible. We do have staff on site 24 hours a day though and... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

First thing to note is that this is a Hostel, not a hotel. Bearing this in mind, it is a great place. Clean and tidy as expected from this recently re-furbished hostel. The location coulld not be better, with the restaurant and bar overlooking lake Windemere so you can enjoy excellent views whilst having the decent quality food. They even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it made our day that you think we're one of the best Hostels :) More 

Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I've stayed in a number of youth hostels but my friend was a first timer. She was pleasantly surprised and said that she'd happily stay in another based on our visit. The room was small with an amazing view and had space for storing things with a small hanging area (the bottom cupboard would be more useful if it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Robyn, it's great to hear that both yourself, as a hosteler, and your friend, as a first timer, enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having really friendly staff and so I am disappointed to read that one of our reception staff was 'snappy'; I am going to feed your comments back to her. We have... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent charity trek with work. I was more than a little apprehensive, having never stayed in a Youth Hostel. However I was pleasantly surprised. The building is fantastic, with superb views across the top end of Windermere. The bar and restaurant area are on a par with that of any hotel. The rooms are naturally basic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it's great that we managed to surprise you! Now you've seen what we are about I definitely recommend checking out some of the other Hostels in our network - from the tiny cottage that's only accessible on foot, to stately homes, to snoozeboxes and even a castle; there's so much to explore! More 

Ambleside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Staff are unhelpful and the place is dirty. Been here 4 nights so far and room hasn't been vacuumed once. Garbage overflows and every couple days they remember to change it. Also, had all my good clothes ruined with using their washers. Choosing a delicate wash cycle washed everything in hot water! All my good merino wool is shrunk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Dear 360solotraveller During the time of your visit we had two primary school groups staying at the Youth Hostel, while we appreciate that as they came to breakfast and dinner it could be a little noisy they were not on site during the day times as they were out enjoying various outdoor pursuits; the children in these groups were supervised... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
Waterhead
Waterhead
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#2 of 10 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#38 of 109 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay