We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Ambleside

Certificate of Excellence
Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Ambleside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Ambleside
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
24
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here in late March 2015 and would highly recommend it to everyone. The views of the lake are amazing and on our first night we were treated to a fantastic sunset that just bounced off the lake, fantastic. The accommodation itself is everything you need if your not expecting top end luxury, you have a comfortable bed and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here night before a race in Coniston. What a beautiful place great location with views to die for. Very good clean rooms . Shared toilet n shower but again spotless . For £4.99 the breakfast is also quality also the food at night in bar is also very good. Can not recommend this place enough will be staying here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We hope you had a great run, it was a beautiful weekend for racing! More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a yha member for more than 15 years I love hosteling it's the only way to go, but for the first time ever in all those years I have found myself in the unenviable position of having to leave because it was impossible to stay here. I have never ever come across staff who are so rude and indifferent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. As your stay was back in October it is unfortunately now not possible for us to investigate what went wrong, which we would very much like to have been able to do as your experience wasn't acceptable. Had management have been aware at the time we could have taken... More 

manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

had an en suite room with the lake view. The service was good,the kitchen and communal areas are small. Bar and restaurant attached to the hostel serves a decent food but the bar service was very slow anf poor during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that our bar service wasn't up to standard during your stay and we hope that you have a faster experience on your next stay. More 

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the newly refurbished 'trendy' YHAs. A large hostel in a great location on the lakeside. Front bedrooms have fab views over the lake. Plenty of communal areas to sit and relax, in the evening the bar was busy and the dining room area was popular with families. Car park can be busy and parking is on first come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we love our lake view :) Our car park is small and on a first come basis, but if we're full the guys on reception can advise on places close by to park. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights February half term in s family room with 3 boys aged 4,8 & 11. Room was comfortable and clean with en suite. At the front of the YHA with s stunning view of the lake. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. Tried the lakeside restaurant one night again good good with children under 10 eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

It's great to hear your family had a brilliant stay, welcome to the YHA family! We hope you have a great time exploring the many varied Hostels in our network :) More 

Southport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Location is great but if you like your sleep find somewhere else. Banging doors and a room full of what sounded like hippos playing leapfrog in the room above. We tried to get the staff to sort this out this out but to no avail. looking at other reviews we may have just picked a bad day but we wont... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at our Hostel. We do try to rectify problems as soon as they are brought to our attention, I can only apologise that we did not succeed in sorting out the noise issues you experienced. More 

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stunning location,friendly,helpful staff,food great.this was our first stay in a youth hostel as a family and we loved it! Already looking at where to go next... There was a party of 40 teenagers away from home for the first time staying when we were there and you wouldn't of known they were there! The whole place so well managed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, it's so nice to hear that you had such a great time! If you dont already have it make sure you get yourself a family membership before your next trip as it will save you money on your stays. Wherever your next trip takes you have a great adventure :) More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

One of best weekender on my birthday weekend it very a lively hostel and I had a brilliant time meeting new people It a short walk to the Village. it got lovely views of the lakes . i will definitely will come back here again Keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Public Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Happy belated birthday!! It's great to hear that you had a brilliant birthday weekend :) More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at this hostel. It's an impressive building with a fantastic restaurant. It was an adventure to sleep in bunk beds after 20 years of marriage, but this just add to the adventure. Breakfast, at an additional charge, was varied and filling. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again with beautiful views from your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, it really made me smile :) We have all types of Hostels around the country from Castles to Snoozeboxes and all sorts inbetween......I wonder where your next adventure will take you?! (If you didnt sign up for membership this time look into it before you book again as it will save you £s) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question