We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Ambleside

Certificate of Excellence
Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Ambleside
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    56
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
45
29
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I cancelled my room booking 4 days before the checking time, well before the "48 hours free Cancellation" advertised on Booking.com. When I cancelled, they charged me the full amount for 2 nights' room booking! When I asked them, they said single room require 5 days to cancel! The the Booking.com's advertisement was rather misleading and confusing! I asked the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first stay in any UK youth hostel since 1983 and WOW, I was shocked, what an improvement! (And no, it seems one no longer has to do a job before one checks out.) This is an absolutely fabulous hostel - clean, modern, and a location to die for right at the tip of Lake Windermere. My 17yo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review and full description of our Hostel, we hope you can make it back again before another 32 years passes by! The WIFI is only available on the ground floor I'm afraid, and while a lift would be nice our lads are nicer and are always willing to lend a hand if you're struggling with your... More 

Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on our Holiday and had been visiting a number of Youth Hostels. Very small room for the three of us and a couple of the toilets and showers were out of action near our room which wasn't great. The Kitchen was ok although for some reason the guests here kept leaving knives in sinks and their cookware all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry about the toilets and showers by your room, we do our best to keep them all in action but unfortunately sometimes it can can take a little longer to get things running again if we need to engage the services of external contractors. With numerous toilets and showers along the fully length of the corridor... More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as a group consisting of about 30 teenage school children and four staff. The position on the lakeside is fantastic. If in a room at the front the views are amazing. The facilities which include a well stocked and very large kitchen area, a dining area to eat your cooking. A quiet room which had some books and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review for your group! Great tip about families staying in different areas to groups, we do always do this as far as possible for both the comfort of the families and the groups. I'm glad you all had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you back here next year. More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Standards are still fantastic all round since I last visited this hostel 12 months ago. Courteous friendly staff,quality food and a good choice of beer. On this occasion, I booked a single room and was surprised to find the bed already made something, that not all hostels do. My friends who stayed in the dorms were also pleased that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we hope to continue to live up to the same high praise again next year! More 

manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ambleside YHA The sunlight is winking on the water, No amount of photography can convey, The other assaults upon my senses The gentle sound of Spanish guitar in the background The shout, splash, scream of children Diving, dive-bombing, off the jetty All my summers were like this, When I was a child, Yes, they were... We cultivate the British unconscious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thank you for such a unique review, we think you capture the setting perfectly! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location.....great staff and yet one of the worst nights sleep ever. We stayed in room 205 and the noise due to the plumbing was ridiculous. All through the night....whenever a toilet was flushed on our floor it caused the wall to knock and bang. Its now 23.24 hours and the pipes have banged a further 3 times in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read here about your poor nights sleep, had you have made the staff on duty aware of the disturbance you were experiencing we would have done our best to find you a different room to stay in. The problem you report isn't one that has been brought to our attention previously but since reading your review our... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel locates just around Ambleside lake, so you can actually see the lake everyday when you open your eyes. They have a very large common room and kitchen, where you can hang out with your friends! The accommodation is clean and tidy, and the people we stayed with in the same room were very nice. The english breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sophie, it really is a lovely view to wake up to isn't it! Our price of £5.25 for a full cooked breakfast and unlimited hot and cold drinks and a continental buffet is pretty hard to beat, I'm sorry that you thought it was a little expensive. We are always looking for ways to improve and... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

My husband and I have just enjoyed our second stay here and can't speak highly enough about this hostel. The views are stunning, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the amenities are excellent. We self catered and although the kitchen was busy everyone just seemed to get along without any issue. We also availed ourselves of the bar facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Bethany, we may be a little biased but we completely agree that the views from here are the best in Ambleside! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

To begin with, the location was stunning. Much of the building looked out onto Lake Windermere. It was walking distance from the town and there were buses every 20 minutes. The staff were lovely, cheerful, and helpful. Our rooms were of a high standard considering it was a Youth Hostel! It would appear that many if not all the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a full description of our hostel Lydia. It's great to see you had a wonderful stay! Next time you visit you should find a fully stocked self catering kitchen as we've just been on a buying spree for new cutlery, sharp knives and even some new toasters and kettles :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
Waterhead
Waterhead
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
4.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#2 of 10 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay