We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 83 Ambleside B&Bs / inns

Cherry Garth

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Hotel amenities
Cherry Garth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cherry Garth to your Saves list
55%
Ranked #76 of 83 Ambleside B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    39
    24
    8
See reviews for
10
97
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed just one night at Cherry Garth and it suited us very well. The location was very handy, both for Ambleside and the pier at Waterhead, and there was a lovely garden. Our room was pleasant, clean and quiet. Breakfast catered for all tastes, with good range of cereals, juices, jams, etc. and the cooked breakfast went down well,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North West England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not go by what is on advert for this place. This was a wedding gift and chose this hotel as it was classed 4* no way. Outside path in needs attention no lived in feel on entry. Room 8 up 2flights of narrow stairway up in converted attic. Warm day very hot bed creaks as do floorboards toilet takes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decor is dated and the whole building needs some TLC. Considering it is a 19th century house it is lacking in character. Breakfast was average, eggs either overdone or underdone, bacon was just shown to the pan and the grilled tomato was almost raw; and a very short breakfast serving period of 1 hour from 8 a.m. to 9 a.m... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lytham st Annes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here 14th September for one night. Plenty of parking space and nice gardens. We stayed in room 8 which was clean and spacious and bed was mega comfy! Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice. Ambleside was only a 5 minute walk up the road. Some people might say it was a bit outdated and in need of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cherry Garth is located a 5 min walk away from the lake and from the centre of town which was wonderful!. Clean, cosy, quiet rooms with excellent service and ample parking space. we enjoyed our two night stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Positive points - large rooms, very close to Ambleside town centre, friendly owners, good breakfast.. The rest - an extremely tired, dated room rated at 4 star, which in my opinion was completely out of step with the reality. There was mould around the bath, the carpets were stained, the net curtains were dirty, the paintwork was mouldy and cracked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Deluxe room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated. This hotel should not be a four star i would rate it a 3. One of the sisters really needs to work on her attitude . My partner was having trouble getting the wi fi on and when he went down to ask for help she sighed at him... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you thought the room was clean as we do try to keep them as clean as we possibly can. We had our annual AA inspection less than 2 weeks ago and were once again given a 4 star rating after he had had a good look... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked last minute on our way to Glasgow so it was perfectly adequate. It was clean and adequate for a short stay. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty. There was just a lack of warmth and hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Newcastle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Not the best b&b in the world but for a b&b in central Ambleside it is reasonably priced for what you get. Clearly run by a family and not staffed like others it is quaint but tired. Gardens are well maintained, and has ample parking. The bathrooms are in great need of updating, and perhaps more attention to detail to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are constantly updating and decorating but obviously it is always an ongoing process. We do try to accommodate everybody but can't please everybody all of the time, unfortunately. We have once again been awarded a 4 star award from the AA for this year after a recent... More

Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Room badly needs renovating / painting as all paint worn off on window frame. Bathroom filthy, mildew around bath and taps. Breakfast appalling. All in all a tired run down b&b that needs a major overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that it wasn't to your tastes. I hope that you can find somewhere in the Lakes to suit your needs and wants so that you can enjoy our beautiful area again. More

Do you own or manage Cherry Garth?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Cherry Garth