We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 83 Ambleside B&Bs / inns

Cherry Garth

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cherry Garth to your Saves list
Cherry Garth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
54%
Ranked #75 of 83 Ambleside B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
kay i Salford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (151)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    38
    24
    7
See reviews for
10
92
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positive points - large rooms, very close to Ambleside town centre, friendly owners, good breakfast.. The rest - an extremely tired, dated room rated at 4 star, which in my opinion was completely out of step with the reality. There was mould around the bath, the carpets were stained, the net curtains were dirty, the paintwork was mouldy and cracked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Deluxe room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated. This hotel should not be a four star i would rate it a 3. One of the sisters really needs to work on her attitude . My partner was having trouble getting the wi fi on and when he went down to ask for help she sighed at him... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you thought the room was clean as we do try to keep them as clean as we possibly can. We had our annual AA inspection less than 2 weeks ago and were once again given a 4 star rating after he had had a good look... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked last minute on our way to Glasgow so it was perfectly adequate. It was clean and adequate for a short stay. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty. There was just a lack of warmth and hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Newcastle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Not the best b&b in the world but for a b&b in central Ambleside it is reasonably priced for what you get. Clearly run by a family and not staffed like others it is quaint but tired. Gardens are well maintained, and has ample parking. The bathrooms are in great need of updating, and perhaps more attention to detail to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are constantly updating and decorating but obviously it is always an ongoing process. We do try to accommodate everybody but can't please everybody all of the time, unfortunately. We have once again been awarded a 4 star award from the AA for this year after a recent... More

Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Room badly needs renovating / painting as all paint worn off on window frame. Bathroom filthy, mildew around bath and taps. Breakfast appalling. All in all a tired run down b&b that needs a major overhaul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that it wasn't to your tastes. I hope that you can find somewhere in the Lakes to suit your needs and wants so that you can enjoy our beautiful area again. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed in room 14 had great views over the mountains. Very clean. Prompt check in, girls very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. Location excellent for both town and to the lake, had an excellent stay thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The room we stayed in was lovely, clean and bright, nice bathroom/ shower, and the hotel is situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Ambleside. Thats the positive.... On the negative side if you enjoy a full English breakfast prepare yourself for a long wait. The breakfast window is between 8.00am and 9.00am, we got down for breakfast on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Over the past 10 years we have tried many different breakfast times and by far the most popular time if between 8 and 9am. Every Christmas we extend our breakfast time but 99% of people still come down between 8 and 9am. As all breakfast are cooked specifically... More

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for my Hubbys birthday.17/07/14. We paid £80 for standard double in the eaves .Amazing views. However room 8 was very tired looking , three sets of double wall lights, crooked double socket with a 3 way adapter plug attached to it, very ugly.You could not sit up in bed due to the slope of the roof. The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the room that you were staying in has a sloping ceiling the best lighting is wall lights. I am sorry if it was not to your taste. We try to use plug adapters wherever we can so that there are as many empty sockets as possible for guests to... More

burnley
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend as a gift from our daughters. Arrived and check in was prompt, we had room 8, which was on the second floor. The room was a decent size, if not a little dated, but was very clean. The bed was lovely and comfy and had an extremely good and quiet sleep. The en suite bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here 21/06/2014 in the so called Superior room no. 5, with four poster bed more like a make shift 4x2 frame that was very wobbly. The cost £102 a night we had no water for a bath or shower due to plumbing probs. No other alternative as all rooms full. My partner had to fill the kettle time and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I apologise again for your hot bath tap not working during your stay. We tried our best to fix it but I am afraid that we are not plumbers. Most people would appreciate that we were unable to get a plumber to come out to fix it at... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cherry Garth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ambleside with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cherry Garth is a 19th-century traditional Lakeland house situated in Ambleside village in the heart of the Lake District. Cherry Garth is family owned and run by sisters Amy and Viv and is superbly positioned less than five minutes walk from both the centre of Ambleside and Lake Windermere. Guests benefit from a sunny south-westerly aspect with wonderful views over the surrounding Lakeland fells. We have a large private car park at the bottom of our garden, just off the main road into Ambleside. Cherry Garth is a non-smoking house which welcomes well behaved pets. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster, deluxe and family sized rooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV with built in DVD. The landscaped garden features level lawns, attractive sitting areas, an ornamental pond and a wide variety of mature flowering shrubs and bushes. The house and garden are floodlit each evening, allowing guests to take in the view and watch the sun setting whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cherry Garth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer