We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fisherbeck

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fisherbeck
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fisherbeck
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    78
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
246
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (380)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

House has been modernised to provide real quality accomodatiion for up to six adults. We have no negative comments and will be returning. Even the potential "Ambleside issue" of car parking had been addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from our second stay in a garden room. The staff are superb, the room was wonderful . The only comment I would make is the mattress could do with turning over as we felt the bed was a bit wobbly. The rooms are big enough to take a super king just a suggestion . Love the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed for one night, good value for money and priced competitively. Good location near centre, set back off the road so very quiet. Stayed in Room 1, was lovely and clean, all amenities needed including hairdryer. Breakfast included with the price which was 2 courses! We were stuffed, but would set you up for the day. Fabulous stay, was recommended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and so very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Perhaps if you have the opportunity to visit the Lake District in the future you might stay just a little longer. We would certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck. Kind regards Gillian Lane More 

Leyburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Lovely B&B, staff were very friendly and welcoming and really nice with our toddler even bringing a cushion for her to sit on at breakfast. Very clean and presentable and welcoming. We stayed in room 16, the family room, it was a nice size plenty of floor space to play on although We ended up putting the mattress from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Should you decide to return some time in the future might I suggest that you think of one of our very spacious Garden Rooms where a cot can be placed if your daughter is still a little young for a... More 

liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Just returned from the Fisherbeck. Hotel clean and warm and nicely situated. Friendly staff and lovely breakfast with local and own made products and a special each day. Asked for advice about a run and a walk and directions/details given excellent. Will return if rooms available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Raymond is usually pretty good at directions and advice for driving, walking & running...shame he doesn't get to do it himself too often!!!!! We do hope you will think of us again if you... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

If I was chatting to a friend I would say this a good little hotel, clean, friendly and accommodating. On check in, my partner and I were asked regarding dietary requirements, this is important to me as on telling them I was a vegan was provided with soya milk and vegan options for breakfast. This was significant for me, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review. It is much appreciated. We do try very hard to accommodate all our guests who have particular dietary requirements and keep a good range of vegetarian, vegan & gluten free products in stock at all times. Fortunately today all sorts of milk types are readily available ....not the case so very... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

Attic bedroom had a beam which unfortunately was easily bumped into, but otherwise everything was excellent. Pleasant lounge areas for evening drinks. Having the non-cooked breakfast items on a buffet basis might be more convenient but one would then miss out on the service from the pleasant, well trained waitresses. The starter/cereal dishes were exceptional, and the main breakfast dish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I will pass along your comments to our wonderful team of waitresses who will appreciate your words. I think we only have one second floor room with a beam so should you return to us please do ask for an alternative. Thanks... More 

Gateshead UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Stayed at the Fisherbeck Hotel for 2 nights in late February. The hotel is very clean and rooms are quite tastefully decorated and clean. The lounge and dining area are a little dated typical bed and breakfast decor. It's within walking distance to the town centre so if the area was to be busy you would be well away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in the Lake District. Should you ever decide to take another short break in the UK, and to the Lakes in particular, we would look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck. Kind regard Gillian Lane More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

This is a 5 star self-catering cottage in the grounds of the hotel and has on site parking. It has everything you would need from a fully equipped kitchen, fridge. freezer, washing machine, dryer, double bedroom with en-suite toilet/shower, twin bedroom and separate toilet/bathroom. It even boasts 3 televisions but you may not wish to watch them as there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review of Woodside Cottage. We have 3 self-catering properties and this is the smallest sleeping 4. Woodside Cottage was in fact the first property we developed and it has been very popular since it's conversion from what was originally an 18th century property that in it's history has been residential, a tannery... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

This property is owned by The Fisherbeck Hotel, its one of three self catering accommodations that they let out. Ralston sleeps six, well this property is perfect!!! under floor heating, gorgeous kitchen,bedrooms,bathrooms all to a very high standard. In an ideal location for staying in Ambleside close to all shops,pubs and restaurants.What a great find will definately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your Ralston review. As you mentioned we have 3 self-catering properties and Ralston is the largest sleeping 6 with 3 en-suite bedrooms. I only wish I could show you photographs of the before and after..it went through quite a transformation and I must admit that if given the opportunity I wouldn't mind spending some... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question