We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Regent Hotel

3.0 of 5 Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES , England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Regent Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    137
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
72
385
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (563)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My husband treated me to two nights here for our first anniversary. We had a two room suite with vast double bed - two singles pushed together. New bathroom with smart slate floor and coloured stone pebbles in the shower but we could not unhook the huge umbrella-like shower head! Lovely attentive staff and a large range of cooked dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception when we arrived met by the lovely Emily who looked after us superbly. a great start, Room had all we need, nice and clean and warm . we had dinner food lovely service also very super. and we had a good sleep .breakfast also very good enjoyable 2 night stay . Only one thing could be improved and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on 1st dec for three nights.on arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist.the room was very good clean and nice and warm .evening meal was very good good selection of food excellent waitresses,waiters nothing is to much trouble.very hard working staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review, thank you we are delighted that you enjoyed you 3 night stay with us and we will pass on your kind comments to all the staff. Regards Andrew Hewitt More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned after spending a week at this hotel absolutely loved everything about it would definitely return even the weather was on our side. The late breakfast such a great idea we stayed in the garden room no 40. would recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review we are delighted that you had a great week with us, enjoying Room 40 which is a lovely room with it's own little balcony. Regards Andrew Hewitt More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's been over 12 months since we have stayed at the Regent on the Lake hasn't been for the want of trying to get back they have just been full at the times we have wanted to go so have ended up in three other places two of which were very good the other abysmal Regent on the Lake is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review, thank you, it's great when guests come back for future visits, hopefully we can welcome you back when you do another trip. Regards Andrew Hewitt More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel to stay in. Just across the road from Lake Windermere. Stunning views. The rooms were lovely. Would recommend eating in the hotel. Good value and lovely surroundings. 10 minute walk into Ambleside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback. Regards Andrew Hewitt More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this hotel..our 4th stay with you we've been visiting Ambleside for some years now and frequently passed when walking down to the Lake. We decided to book up following refurbishment, weve stayed in one of your garden and courtyard rooms which were great, and twice in main hotel. This time we had room no. 2 which was absolutely gorgeous.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you 4th visit with us was a success we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit. Regards Andrew Hewitt More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

just spent a weekend at the Regent in Ambleside, a first time experience although we have eaten there in the summer. We booked two rooms, dinner, bed, and breakfast for a special Christmas lights weekend, having been there in the summer I knew what the place looked like from the outside and the a bar area but nothing else, to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

“absolutely brilliant!!!!” love this, thank you so much for this amazing review, really pleased that we didn't disappoint for your Xmas lights weekend away. The staff will be delighted with your complimentary comments it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Thanks again, Andrew Hewitt More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the Regent at half term for a relaxing break, upon arrival checked into room which was attractive, spacious and very clean in a pretty setting. We decided to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant and we were very disappointed; small portions on barely warm plates, microwaved vegetables and overly expensive for the quality and what it was. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read this review and disappointed that you have had a bad experience. You will see from previous reviews that we get lots of complimentary comments about our dinners and breakfast. If you had mentioned at the time there was a problem it would have given us an opportunity to put this right for you. We appreciate... More 

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at this hotel and can definitely recommend. Firstly, the location is excellent with the ferry to Bowness just across the road and the town just 10 minutes walk away. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We just enquired if they had rooms suitable for a disabled person (for possible future visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for this fantastic review we are delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us at the Regent Hotel and even better that you would recommend us. We look forward to future visit. Regards Andrew Hewitt More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside

260 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (121)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay