We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Ambleside B&Bs / inns

The Old Vicarage

Save
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Vicarage Road, Ambleside LA22 9DH, England
Hotel amenities
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #43 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    61
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
57
140
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very friendly bed and breakfast in the heart of the lake district. Run by the family dedicated to give the best, friendliest service..Very clean and comfortable, and everything in good order. An excellent breakfast, with plenty of selection. Good facilities, including indoor pool, sauna and hot tub. Pool table, DVD's, books and board games. Off-street parking, though it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I love it when people start their reviews saying we are a 'very friendly' bed and breakfast, as this is very important to us. We try hard to make ourselves different to the many 'faceless' hotels in the Lakes and a part of that, is to be warm and friendly to everyone. Thank you also... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

wife took me away for 60th birthday break we had a great time . the room was great the breakfast was tasty and the staff were very helpful ambleside centre was 2 minutes away a nice easy stroll would certainly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

Hi Peter S, thank you for your review. Thank you for recommending us - there is no greater plaudit than people willing to tell their friends, family and complete strangers (!) that we're a great place to stay! I hope you had a great 60th birthday in the Lake District. It's not a bad choice for a special celebration and... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my fourth time to the Old Vicarage. This time to take my 9 year old son for his birthday treat. I took him and his older brother when they were 5/9years and they talk about it all the time. The pool is surely a great pull for a 9 year old. Added to that, the pool table and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a real pleasure to have you to stay again - we seem to do quite well in terms of repeat visits and, as you say, I'm sure the Swimming Pool is part of it! You were brave going out on those walks, but those who do are usually rewarded with a fantastic day out... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night as a treat from my partner & I'm really happy we did. Are room was nice had a lovely big bed & was very comfy slept really well. I loved the spa bath could have stayed in it hours. Big tv & sofa in the room also. Was a really good b&b had everything you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - you've highlighted nearly all of our good points!! I'll pass your comments onto our team - we're family owned and managed and have a lovely group of people working with us, so it's great to get this kind of positive feedback. We hope you'll visit us again soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here room very good and easy going staff, good breakfast and no problems with the dog .so close to shops and bars spot on.good walks every where in great location ,hotel a tad tired but would go there again no problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

Hi Peter C, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and for being so positive about our rooms, staff, dog friendliness and location! We try and invest back into our B&B whenever we can. In January, we're redeveloping a couple of our rooms and ensuites (as we try to do every year). We hope you'll be able... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

stayed here before and loved it, tried to book for Christmas so rang earlier in the year and was told in a surly manner to 'just give us a minute to get our breath back' and to 'phone back later' no advice given as to when later would be a good time to call back, no offer to take my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

We're finding your review very odd indeed. Firstly, we are a family owned and run business, so would never speak to a potential customer like that - we need our customers to come, so we can make our business as great as possible! Secondly we don't open for Christmas and never have done, so we are likely to have mentioned... More 

Up North
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
91 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here before, quite some years ago, and we always kept it in mind as a good place to stay in Ambleside. We returned recently, just for one night, and it was just as lovely as we remembered. The building looks tired in places but it's a massive building to maintain so I am not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

Hi Cheesecake 5059, Thanks for taking the time write your review. You really are very generous with your praise and it's reassuring to us that we are getting so many things right (in your opinion!). WiFi is an ongoing challenge for us. As you hinted, the building is old, big and very well constructed! Although we've spent a lot to... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights in a standard double/twin room. Despite charging a premium rate (over £100) per room per night, the room was of a poor standard. Both beds were so horrendously uncomfortable that neither of us could sleep all night. We were forced to sleep on top of the bedclothes, due to the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldVic, Owner at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read your review. As with most B&Bs, we have a rolling programme of replacing beds and mattresses as well as room / ensuite refurbishment. We rarely get a complaint about a bad nights sleep, partly due to our quiet location away from the main road (though still near Ambleside town centre). As you mentioned (and... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We booked this guest house because we wanted somewhere dog friendly and it certainly is that. The guest house is well situated close to the centre of town but on a quiet side street very close to the park. It benefits from having its own on site parking and lovely gardens. The place is certainly very pet friendly and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed for three nights in this lovely old house which is really warm and cosy. (It is obviously a family run B & B) and we were made very welcome by the family who own it. We had a comfortable room with a four poster bed, and lovely views from room 5 which we shared with my lovely Golden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Vicarage Road, Ambleside LA22 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Vicarage 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel Ambleside
Old Vicarage Ambleside
The Old Vicarage Ambleside, Lake District

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay