We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

3.0 of 5 Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    84
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
26
133
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Back for the fifth time and loved it so much we have booked again for end jan. Refurb is now complete and it's looking good The food and staff were excellent as usual. Rooms comfortable and clean We had a great walk up Pike o Blisco in a blizzard but otherwise just relaxed in this lovely peaceful place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rural Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came to eat here after a walk and rendezvous with family between Christmas and New Year. Food was hearty, tasty and filling and the atmosphere was lovely with walkers and families all settled in to eat and rest. Very basic but just what is needed after being out, no fuss, no frills and good beer too! The guy behind the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a short break in the hotel over the New Year which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is situated in a lovely position in Langdale with excellent views along the valley. The hotel is vey comfortable and cosy, the staff are really helpful and the whole experience was marvellous. It was so nice that we all decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The New Dungeon Ghyll hotel (NDGH) is located in beautiful Langdale. By just driving up the road to the hotel, it gives you a feel for the beauty of its location. We were very fortunate with the weather - clear, frosty and the hills had just a topping of snow. I stay in lots of 'business style' hotels where the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a small walking party of 7 people. From the moment we arrived I was very impressed by the warm welcome and lovely surrounding of the resident lounge and reception. My room (twin) was a good size, nicely decorated with very nice shower room. After a drink or two in the lounge we were called to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Freezing temperatures, storm force winds, and driving sleet and snow on the tops, and apparently the whole national park to ourselves: not a soul up Coniston Old Man except us two. Three great days in The Lakes. And how better to recover from our wind-swept expeditions than with a couple of great nights in the NDG. It maintains its usual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Stopped by for a breakfast after camping on the hills Saturday night. A great disappointment - a breakfast place that has no sausages, and offers toasted crusts; dreadful planning for a food establishment. Very poor value for money. The espresso was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Myself and a friend first visited this hotel in order to 'fuel-up' before wild camping in the hills for a few days, and were pleasantly surprised by how friendly and engaging the staff were. Not only did they seem genuinely interested in our trip, but were happy to let us fill up on water from the bar; something that from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

You have made our day!! What great comment, thanks very much and hope to see you again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel quite a few times before and had booked to spend a couple of days away during the half term holiday. Unfortunately, my husband fell ill and we had to cancel. We cancelled more than 24 hours beforehand, but they rigidly stuck to their policy of charging the full rate (room and meals!) because we hadn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear about your husbands illness but as I have said in a previous e mail we tried out hardest to relet the room for you, we have to stick to our cancellation policy as you would be amazed at the tales we hear from people trying to cancel rooms, the best ones because of the weather!! We... More 

Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My son and I had had a very early start and had completed our walking route by 12:45 and were ready for something to eat and drink and called into the Walkers' Bar at the NDG. The signs said they were open from 11:00 but there was no one behind the bar. No problem, we sat at a table taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

In our quieter times we do not have a full time bar person in our walkers bar, there is a bell on the bar that clearly states to ring for attention, on autumn and winter days there can be very little passing trade and that does not justify a full time bar person so this option works well for us.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay