We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Add Photo

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    116
    87
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
28
151
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have just enjoyed two wonderful nights at the New Dungeon Gyll hotel. We had a small but well appointed room with a lovely view. Everything we needed was on hand. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and reasonably priced - 5 courses for just under £30.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
423 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Absolute pleasure to stay here. The restraint is nice too and never really busy. The bar does get busy and outside was just flooded with people but inside was secluded and quieter Early morning and late night, no other tourists and it's heavenly quiet here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After a long walk in the Lake District decided to stop at the New Dungeon Ghyll for a couple of drinks and lunch. Thought that with this place displaying an AA 3 star sign that we would be more than happy with the food. We didn't want a large lunch and so decided to have the cod goujon and tartar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel. Superb room. Very good breakfast. My only regret was that the stay was too short as this was once of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. And the location is unbeatable. It's ideally placed for walking in the Langdale area with a main path up to Stickle Tarn and the Pikes literally on the doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here whilst walking the Cumbria Way. Being such an isolated spot I was expecting something downmarket, but on the contrary this hotel has a modern interior fully up to 4 Star standard. My room was spacious and comfortable, and the food was excellent. Ii give this place a s strong recommendation .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

,a very busy and popular place with walkers and cyclists, on the plus : dog friendly. Walkers bar is part of the hotel set separately from main hotel. The place seems new and is modern decor inside and clean, there was a good selection of food, portions for what we paid could have been better. Quality of food was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We booked to stay in a double room at this hotel at least two months in advance. When we arrived, after a long drive, we were shown to a terrible grotty and shabby room on the ground floor, which didn't even have a double bed (just two beds pushed together). The furniture was old, looked like it'd be scratched repeatedly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Why wait a year to comment on our hotel if it was that bad, I must agree our corridors and lounge bar did need decorating but have both been done since your visit and are looking great. All our bedrooms and bathrooms have been refurbished, in fact the bedroom and bathroom you were in the room had only been finished... More 

Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times on their 5 night package. It's such a lovely place with warm and friendly staff and management. The location is superb but it's the dining experience that makes this unique. The locally sourced food, cooked by a chef who cooked for royalty on HMS Britannia, is of an exceptionally high standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

What great comments, thanks very much. We do have a great team of chefs and your comments will be passed on to all. Hope to see you soon. More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We had a great weekend camping near the New Dungeon Ghyll and thoroughly enjoyed our evenings spent in the New Dungeon Ghyll. We were made really welcome and enjoyed the amazing atmosphere, especially on our second night when there was live music. Very clean toilets. Highly recommended. Will definitely visit again! A 'must visit'!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely comments, thanks. We have some great music nights coming up, all on face book with times etc. In fact Marc is back this weekend. Hope to see you soon. More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We always assumed that this was just a hotel, however after a long day's walking in beautiful sunshine, the adjacent pub was full, so we thought we would just see if the hotel served food. How glad we were! They now have a walker's bar, with a unique beer only available here, and gorgeous food. The staff service was exemplary.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you lovely comments, we have been here for 24 years and people still walk pass us , even with new bar signage. You know where we are now so see you next time. Thanks for the comments about our staff, we have 4 new members who are all lovely and Anton is back!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay