We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

3.0 of 5 Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    83
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
25
130
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself and a friend first visited this hotel in order to 'fuel-up' before wild camping in the hills for a few days, and were pleasantly surprised by how friendly and engaging the staff were. Not only did they seem genuinely interested in our trip, but were happy to let us fill up on water from the bar; something that from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

You have made our day!! What great comment, thanks very much and hope to see you again. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed at this hotel quite a few times before and had booked to spend a couple of days away during the half term holiday. Unfortunately, my husband fell ill and we had to cancel. We cancelled more than 24 hours beforehand, but they rigidly stuck to their policy of charging the full rate (room and meals!) because we hadn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear about your husbands illness but as I have said in a previous e mail we tried out hardest to relet the room for you, we have to stick to our cancellation policy as you would be amazed at the tales we hear from people trying to cancel rooms, the best ones because of the weather!! We... More

Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and I had had a very early start and had completed our walking route by 12:45 and were ready for something to eat and drink and called into the Walkers' Bar at the NDG. The signs said they were open from 11:00 but there was no one behind the bar. No problem, we sat at a table taking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

In our quieter times we do not have a full time bar person in our walkers bar, there is a bell on the bar that clearly states to ring for attention, on autumn and winter days there can be very little passing trade and that does not justify a full time bar person so this option works well for us.... More

Berkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As per the title - our 5th visit to the NDG, and first time in the Autumn season. As with all our previous visits we received a warm welcome, even warmer than usual as the log-burning stoves were going, lovely! The colours on the fells and woodlands were breath-taking - definitely a good time of year to visit the Lake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you again, hope to see you for your 6th visit next year. More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Surrounded by mountains, the hotel is superbly located. Dinner was great but would have preferred the pub next door. We left here to hike over Stake's pass, the best hike I have done. The staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you and glad you enjoyed your visit, looking forward to seeing you again. More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Spent a great weekend walking and this Hotel could not be better. To be totally honest the rooms are good but not fantastic. What is fantastic is the food - five course dinner, large choice, great service and very very good quality. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such great comments, hope to see you soon. More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A very nice old hotel situated in the heart of the lake district. Great base to explore the surrounding hills and only a short drive to Ambleside and other towns. Service was excellent and the food very good. Bedrooms were very comfortable. Definitely would come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such nice comments, it does mean a great deal to our team and comments are frequently passed on to all. Our kitchen as never been as busy as this summer and they have all done a great job. Hope to see you again. More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A late decision for a trip to the lakes landed us at this unusually located hotel which were still one of the few offering good reviews at a decent rate. But boy was this a gem of a find. The location is not too central but an easy drive from Ambleside and 30 minutes to Windermere. Your own car is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

What lovely lovely comments, thank you very much and hope to see you again. More

Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Well, when in the langdales there is no better place to rest eat and have a well earned ale, only best when weather allowed one to sit outside this is a walkers brill stop off, recommend. Should be more like this

Was this review helpful? Yes
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments, we have had a really busy but great summer, hope to see you all again. More

northumberland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have visited this hotel many times over the years. We hadn`t been in this area for some time and thought we would go back for a change. We had forgot how beautiful the area was and how relaxing the hotel is. We stayed in the garden room, which has beautiful views and a good size room and en-suite., very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments and have passed on you comments to Ursula who was delighted. We are decorating our bar lounge and corridors in November so are finally getting there. Hope to see you in October. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay