We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Ambleside B&Bs / inns

Thorneyfield

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thorneyfield to your Saves list
Thorneyfield
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
95%
Ranked #42 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
redperyl .
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed recently at thorneyfield . The room we had was very clean with spotless bedding and bathroom. There was 2 folding chairs in the room plus a 5 star range of tea , coffee and biscuits. Better than some of the starred hotels. The breakfast was also above average for a b&b, a large bowl of fresh fruit including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your comments which are appreciated. Please don't think that the front of the house is always like this! We are currently waiting for work to be done on the bay window and like anything in these parts it is taking a frustratingly long time to sort out. Hopefully if you come again you will see the... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned home from thorneyfield guest house and it was amazing. Alison and Alan where amazing hosts. They accommodated for our pushchair and helped us to our room. The room was beautiful more than enough space for the 3 of us and a wonderfully clean space. The bathroom was great! Having an en suite was brilliant and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights for the Great North Swim. Lovely welcome, great situation & delicious breakfast with lots of choice. We stayed in a room at the back of the building, there were only 2 of us but we had the family room which was lovely. They provide a tea & coffee facilities, mini-fridge, and even wine glasses and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spent 3 nights here over the bank holiday - large family room v comfortable with great coffee making and biscuits in the room. Good location in the heart of Ambleside. No problem that we arrived really late on the first night. Would use it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in May 2014.....and could not fault the service provided....perfect location for Zeffs in the evening....breakfasts were consistently very good....room and bath room decorated to the highest standard....try it....you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had stayed at Thorneyfield for 3 nights with my Husband and my parents and sister, hence we had booked one family room and one double room. Since the time I had a word with Alison for the booking on a phonecall, I had got a feeling that it's somehow going to be awesome, and it proved to be exactly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this review

HI guys we just wanted to sincerely thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. More

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while we did the Brathay Windermere marathon. hosts were very friendly and welcoming, allowing us to keep our bike inside, and have breakfast a little earlier due to the marathon. Comfy room, even if the bathroom was a little small, great location and we would consider staying here again if we are lucky enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here at the weekend due to attending a friend's wedding close to the venue. We were made to feel very welcome and breakfast was fantastic. Pros: - Run by a very friendly couple who, although they sadly could not be there to greet us (which was totally understandable), made us feel very welcome at breakfast the next morning.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

B&B was fab, very friendly staff and great service ... BEWARE the 'local' bus service ! Walked with the family to Grasmere from Ambleside on the coffin route with the intention of returning on the bus ... THE BUS ARRIVED .. realised (after the event) that the tourist bus plans to arrive just before the local advertised bus service ...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Really good value for money. The single room may not be en-suite but the private bathroom more than makes up for it - there's a heated towel rail, a beautiful lit mirror, it's fully tiled, has a great power shower and even a dressing gown! The breakfast in the morning was lovely. Would definately stop again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorneyfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorneyfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines