We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 83 Ambleside B&Bs / inns

Thorneyfield

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thorneyfield to your Saves list
Thorneyfield
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
93%
Ranked #49 of 83 Ambleside B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
hjm123 liverpool
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned home from Thorneyfield guest house and it was a lovely place to stay. Alison and Alan were excellent hosts and the place has a warm home from home feeling. The room was airy, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was not en-suite but I knew this beforehand. I had my own lockable bathroom which was very modern,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Lake District after many years and randomly picked this place from the list of B&Bs and it certainly was good value for money. We were made welcome. The room was comfortable. There was a small fridge to keep drinks and water.. a welcome on warm days. Due to the masonry work going on outside walls, the windows could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting with friends. Was made very welcome and shown to my room. I had a separate bathroom for use only by myself so the fact that it wasn't actually in the room was not an issue. The whole place was wonderfully clean and comfortable. Breakfast was so plentiful that I only needed a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed recently at thorneyfield . The room we had was very clean with spotless bedding and bathroom. There was 2 folding chairs in the room plus a 5 star range of tea , coffee and biscuits. Better than some of the starred hotels. The breakfast was also above average for a b&b, a large bowl of fresh fruit including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your comments which are appreciated. Please don't think that the front of the house is always like this! We are currently waiting for work to be done on the bay window and like anything in these parts it is taking a frustratingly long time to sort out. Hopefully if you come again you will see the... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from thorneyfield guest house and it was amazing. Alison and Alan where amazing hosts. They accommodated for our pushchair and helped us to our room. The room was beautiful more than enough space for the 3 of us and a wonderfully clean space. The bathroom was great! Having an en suite was brilliant and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for the Great North Swim. Lovely welcome, great situation & delicious breakfast with lots of choice. We stayed in a room at the back of the building, there were only 2 of us but we had the family room which was lovely. They provide a tea & coffee facilities, mini-fridge, and even wine glasses and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spent 3 nights here over the bank holiday - large family room v comfortable with great coffee making and biscuits in the room. Good location in the heart of Ambleside. No problem that we arrived really late on the first night. Would use it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in May 2014.....and could not fault the service provided....perfect location for Zeffs in the evening....breakfasts were consistently very good....room and bath room decorated to the highest standard....try it....you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had stayed at Thorneyfield for 3 nights with my Husband and my parents and sister, hence we had booked one family room and one double room. Since the time I had a word with Alison for the booking on a phonecall, I had got a feeling that it's somehow going to be awesome, and it proved to be exactly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this review

HI guys we just wanted to sincerely thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. More

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while we did the Brathay Windermere marathon. hosts were very friendly and welcoming, allowing us to keep our bike inside, and have breakfast a little earlier due to the marathon. Comfy room, even if the bathroom was a little small, great location and we would consider staying here again if we are lucky enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorneyfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorneyfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thorneyfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?