We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Bank

Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
Wansfell Road, Ambleside LA22 0EG, England
Offers & Announcements
£66 (GBP)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Red Bank
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My second visit to Red Bank - just what one needs from a B&B, very comfortable, quiet, lovely breakfast (fresh fruit, granola, yoghurts, just a great selection), 5 mins walk in to town. Forgotten your mobile charger? No problem, George had one. I look forward to my third visit to Red Bank.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not sure how many reviews you're allowed to write about one place but I do restrict it to one per visit! Yet another new year at Red Bank and another faultless stay even though it was strange to have the place to ourselves for most of our visit. Unfortunately some people think the Lake District was closed due to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LonelyBlade
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Another lovely weekend stay. There is only 3 bedrooms so it is very cosy comfortable. Our room was lovely as usual. Great breakfast. Everything is done to a very high standard. We would highly recommend Red Bank, wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Sue F
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and as we cook our breakfasts to order they are always fresh and hot. Look forward to seeing you again in the 2016. More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

This is the third time we have stayed with George and Val at Red Bank. They are so welcoming and look after us. The room and house is so cosy and spotless. The beds are so comfortable. Our breakfasts are superb. Thoroughly recommend this place highly. Booked for next year already to avoid disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you agin next year. More 

Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

George and Val great hosts in their wonderful house - breakfast faultless - location ideal for Ambleside night life and walking the fells - leave your car on their private car park from arrival until departure.

Helpful?
Thank James S
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Our private car park with parking for each of our guests cars is a plus for Ambleside. As you state many of our guests do not use their car while visiting as there is easy access to the village and walks from Red Bank. Hope to see you both again in the near future. More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We have stayed before at Red Bank and were not disappointed this time. A warm welcome, coffee on arrival, a cosy spotless room and a tasty breakfast. Val and George were good enough to dry a mountain of very wet gear for us after hideous conditions on Wetherlam. Would we stay again? Of course we would!

Helpful?
Thank Aquahat
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry for the rather wet weather! Hopefully, next time you visit the weather will be kinder. More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We were offered a very friendly welcome from George the owner. We were shown to our room which was absolutely spotlessly clean. The en suite bathroom was immaculate with plenty of toiletries and towels. Some nice touches included were a complimentary decanter of sherry outside of the bedrooms on the landing... More 

Helpful?
Thank DB146000
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you both again in the near future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

We had two lovely nights staying at Red Bank. The room was spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard; there were also nice little touches like lovely toiletries. George and Val were really friendly hosts and happy to give advice about things to do in the area. Little extras like letting us borrow a walking book and leaving the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our private car park with parking for each of our three guest rooms is a great plus in Ambleside as quite a few B & Bs do not have the parking by the front door of their B & Bs. Also we a short easy walk to the centre of the village with all the... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

We visited the Red Bank for the third time for a 2 night stay last weekend. George and Val welcomed us with a lovely cup of coffee and showed us to The Gold Room which is a beautiful. Once again they provided us with local knowledge which helped us choose our walk up Wansfell Pike to Troutbeck and back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alibali226
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Good to hear you enjoyed the walk over Wansfell Pike and into Troutbeck and I would assume you visited the Mortal Man hotel/pub in the valley. Good to see you again and we look forward to your return. More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

My wife and i stayed at Red Bank for four nights. We found the accommodation to be first class, we were welcomed by Val who immediately made us feel at home, after showing us to our room she invited us to have a cup of tea with her which was very welcome after our long journey. Val and her husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank adrianclews
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review

Always good to hear that new visitors to the Lake District enjoyed their stay bot in the Lakes and at Red Bank. We hope to see you on your return to the Lale District. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterhead
Waterhead
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#2 of 108 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes B&B
The Lakes B&B
#9 of 108 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities