We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 157 Lake District accommodations

Great Langdale Campsite

Great Langdale Valley, LA22 9JU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Great Langdale Campsite to your Saves list
Great Langdale Campsite
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
82%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Kingofgeography Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (124)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (18)
  • More
true
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    34
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
28
40
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Only grumble was down to a group of students who were extremely noisy and swearing and clearly drunk. There are site managers who were on site and told about it so it could have been dealt with better. But good facilities, nice shop and all the great walking outside your tent makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi Kingofgeography thanks for your review, sorry you were disturbed, you were not the only one. The chap involved was removed from the group and other arrangements were made for his accommodation off the campsite. Obviously still can't make up for you experience, Hope it doesn't put you off. John Kelly Manager 015394 37668 30/08/14 More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent time at Lower Wray during the May bank holiday, my expectations were high for another National Trust campsite. However, I was sorely disappointed. Despite booking a month earlier, we were not given a pitch but told to 'find a space' on a field at the very edge of the site. Our companions who booked separately with the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi sifi sorry you didn't enjoy the Langdale site. We had a few problems last weekend and we're sorry they detracted from your stay. To address some of your comments, there are three NT sites in the district, only Low wray runs with fixed pitches, Wasdale has none and Langdale has a mix. There are pluses and minuses with both... More

Formby,Merseyside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

everyone has just about said everything so i'll list the pro's and con's Con's: 1) Showers may be a little too hot for youngsters, suggest mums and Dads bring a flannel into the showers to take the edge off the initial hot water. 2) No Phone Signal in the area, so warn anyone who may want to contact you. I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi Mersyside W Thanks for your kind review, you raise a few points some of which i may be able to help with, we have two types of showers push button (fixed temp) at western toilets and at the reception block, near family field, we have showers with adjustable temp controls and these would probably be best for very small... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I camped here for three nights in July and was very impressed with every aspect of the site. It was clean, well run, well organised and quiet. The facilities were excellent and the shop superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful and of course the location is second to none. Can not wait to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi Philip Thanks , I've got nothing to add, if all our reviews were this good we would be laughing, hope to see you again soon cheers the Langdale Team Tim, Jamie, Iza, Jilly, Bob, John, Dan and Max More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I haven't gone camping since moving to the UK and was quite skeptical of my first foray into again being something of a "car park camp"...yes, you set up right near your car parking, but this isn't a bustling road you're camped next to, it's the beautiful hills and valleys! The campsite was at capacity the weekend we were there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Thanks Mtaylor for your kind review, glad your return to camping was a success, we try to make sure everyone has enough room to be able to enjoy their time on the site and we hope to see you again soon cheers The Langdale Team Dan, Iza, Jamie, Jilly, Max, John, Bob and Tim 015394 37668 PS sorry for the... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time this summer we have gone camping and we really enjoyed it. We originally tried to book but thought it was a little expensive per night to prebook however we then found out that there was a field that you didn't need to reserve a pitch it was just on a 'first come first served' basis... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi Becki2311 Thanks for your kind review,your becoming a regular, brilliant. Booking charge, it's a fiver and is only charged once per visit, it covers the cost of the booking software and of course if you prefer to go' first come first served' you don't pay it, idea is you only pay for what you get and the choice stays... More

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The campsite pictures do not show the feeling you get when surrounded by great peaks that are sometime visible or hidden by clouds (or rain). The setting could not get better. The staff were very helpful and always pleased to help. It cant be easy as this is the UK and we do have UK weather in August. My sons... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thanks for taking the time and sorry for delay, very kind review, have posted more pics on trip advisor of surrounding hills, hope you got the email, Campsite Team and John 015394 37668 30/8/14 More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had not camped for more years than I care to remember and both my son and I approached site with a little trepidation. From the moment I checked in at reception for our pre-booked pitch I was impressed with helpfulness of the staff and their success in managing a well run campsite in which all the facilities were clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Hi Ken M Thanks for your review, very kind, the Langdale team are working hard to keep service and facilities up to the mark, we don't always make it but its great to get positive feedback when we do, we have 4 more weeks of high season so its heads down to the finishing line, Cheers Max, Jamie, Dan, Tim,... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our 4th visit to the site. Lots of rain this weekend but nothing spoils this magical area. A good well organised site operated by the National Trust. A well stocked store on site and a choice of different field locations within the site. Good for accessing the langdales and other peaks. The nearby pubs are well worth a visit too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Thanks Moyman - it was a wet one, glad it didn't spoil your stay, best regards from all at Langdale Campsite 015394 37668 4/8/14 More

North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a group of 6 lasses we wanted a campsite with nice facilities near a pub, as well as being in a beautiful area, and we struck gold with this one! I was a little worried because I'd read somewhere that it could be a bit of a bad place for the rain, and the forecast was terrible, but despite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
john k, Manager at Great Langdale Campsite, responded to this review

Thanks Sunseeker-kelly - very kind review - don't think you missed anything off, see you next time from the Team at National Trust Campsite Langdale More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Great Langdale Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Great Langdale Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Langdale Campsite

Address: Great Langdale Valley, LA22 9JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Great Langdale Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Langdale Campsite Hotel Lake District

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lake District with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Great Langdale Campsite and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Great Langdale Campsite staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer