We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11a Anlaby Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2PJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gilson Hotel to your Saves list
Gilson Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (146)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    19
    20
    49
See reviews for
20
26
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just came back from a weekend at the Gilson Hotel in Hull. As you may gather from other peoples reviews its predominantly an old hotel with a few age related issues such as odd (bolted, but by no means soundproof) connecting doors between adjacent rooms and, at least on warm days & nights, amazingly warm rooms with no aircon (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Obviously some very miserly picky reviewers have been to this hotel. It is a little drab and dated but it does the job. The breakfast is very good for the price and I had a good night's sleep. I paid for it myself as staying over was a cheaper option than travelling home to York and back again the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Myself and my husband generally stay in Hull at least once a month, our usual hotel was fully booked so we thought we'd try the gilson hotel....huge mistake! Don't believe the free parking spaces available, there is around 10 spaces! We checked in fine, went straight to our room (132) if you get this room I recommend you change immediately!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at 9.30pm & checked out at 9.00am, I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer. The rooms were clean but very basic & dated. There is no air conditioning in the rooms so it was very difficult to sleep on a hot humid July evening. We couldn't opened a window due to the noise from the main road,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night and would never return, it's like sleeping above your local nasty football bar. rooms are not too small and not too clean, staff are confused (if you can find them) I waited 15 mins for both check-in & check-out. it is, however, cheap and central, right beside the train station, so if that's what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is being refurbished. My room was excellent: modern furniture, a BATH and shower. No surcharge for single occupancy. Despite a room at the front it was not noisy (with window shut). Breakfast is excellent value. Two mins from train and bus stations: excellent value. Staff are friendly, helpful and keen to please. Bag left (for free) on final... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a conveniently sited hotel - near to the train station and the city centre. For the price it is good value. It is clean and comfortable. I would not recommend it for longer stays than a couple of nights, however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I'm sorry to report that I was not at all impressed with this establishment. It is run down, needs demolishing and not fit for people to stay in. We stayed on Saturday 21 June 2014 for 1 night only. Our weather these passed few days has been wonderful but the heat in the room was like sitting in an oven.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We treat all our comments with utmost seriousness and we will be investigating your issues accordingly. Kind Regards Manuel Pannu Sales & Rooms Division Director More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I booked for 3 nights but stayed 2 ,it was dirty i got bitten by bed bugs ,the walls where all stained and the staff where very grumpy not welcoming ,avoid this place like the plague ,awful experience .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy W., Thank you for taking the time to review our property in Hull. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience here at Gilson Hotel. I clearly remember you have been asked to leave the premises because you breached our internal smoking policy. Unfortunately we do apply a Zero Tolerance policy with these... More

Hornsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed and have been a few times with friends, good price for staying the cleanliness could improve but we know what we're going to get, the staff was brilliant and helpful especially Jess who was on reception who was very helpful and jolly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manuel P, Director of Sales at Gilson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property in Hull. We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you here again in future and should there be anything we might do for you on your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gilson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gilson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilson Hotel

Address: 11a Anlaby Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Gilson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the centre of Hull, the Gilson Hotel boasts free Wi-Fi and limited free parking on site. This vibrant hotel also boasts a bar. Hull Railway Station is opposite the property.The contemporary rooms feature a flat-screen TV with movie channels, along with a work desk. The modern en suite shower rooms have a walk-in power shower and/or bath tub.In the mornings, the Gilson Hotel serves continental breakfast. The in-house bar serves a great selection of drafts and spirits. Central Hull is home to numerous restaurants, pubs, and shops.Hull’s busy city is renowned for its famous university, along with the world famous Humber Bridge and the Deep and Kingston Stadium. Hull Arena is a 10-minute walk from the hotel and Hull University Campus is within 3 miles. The Gilson Hotel offers stylish meetings rooms, available for business or celebrations.Hotel Rooms: 59 ... more   less 
Number of rooms
59

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer