We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    202
    127
    54
    30
See reviews for
74
251
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (618)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is right on the railway station platform but don't let that put you off, we had our meals watching the coming and going of life in hull. You can't hear the trains. Service was spot on and very attentive, although it was a quite time of the year. The meals on the menu are just a guide so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

this hotel has great situation as it is directly off the station. That means you can ditch your case as you arrive and be virtually on the station when it's time to go. It's right by the shops and public transport. It is shabby but my room had bath, heating, air-conditioning (which sadly didnt work), a few towels and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you thought your room 'shabby', although adequate and that your air conditioning unit did not work. I am pleased, however,that you did find the lounge had a jovial atmosphere and that you enjoyed your breakfast. The Hotel, is as you say, ideally... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right on the railway station, in fact sit down for breakfast and look at the platforms! This place has a lot of character and it's very pleasant to stay here I was very surprised how quickly the atmosphere of the place got under my skin I love it! Everything was lovely but car parking can be a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. Like you i think the hotel is ideally situated and a great place to sit down and watch the world go by. I also agree it has loads of character and atmosphere. It was nice to see you thought the food and service you received were... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival it took a while to get the attention of the reception staff. We had booked an executive double room - it was clean and tidy but only had one comfy chair, one glass and one bottle of water. We only had breakfast in the hotel during our visit but it was poor on both days. The fresh cut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologise that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Firstly that you had to attract the attention of reception and then that your room had only been set up for one person, not two. Breakfast, should be, what... More 

Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I both originate from Hull/East Yorkshire so a real memory trip staying at the Royal Hotel (which we knew as the Royal Station Hotel) lots of lovely features from days gone bye. Food was fine and great to watch the world going by on the station forecourt whilst in the comfort of the hotel. Allocated a superior... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel was able to bring back such pleasant memories of Hull. Philip Larkin would agree with you about just sitting down in the hotel and watching the world go by. As you also... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Mercure Hull Royal Hotel which is fantastically located. Arriving late at night you don't even need to leave the train station! Friendly, clean and surprisingly quiet. And a great place to have a cream tea waiting for your trip back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and agree totally with regards to our location, it could not be any better for visitors to the city, whether on business for pleasure. and, yes, our afternoon Cream Teas are to die for... More 

Milton Keynes UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Royal Hotel is a mature building adjacent to the main railway station in Hull. Clearly this isn't going to be one of your carbon copy hotels, all of which come out of the same mould, of which there are plenty to choose from in the location if you like that sort if thing. Instead you're going to get something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read your comments and have already passed them onto the staff. We are not a 'lego box' hotel, all sparkly new with no character and never will be. Instead we are a hotel steeped in history, a little frayed... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with friends for New Years eve gala dinner & new years day as well. The food at the Gala dinner was excellent as was the 3 course meal the next night. We have been to this hotel before & also had great food.The breakfast are also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed, as did so many others, our New Year's Eve event, the whole night was a joy to be part of. I am also please you thought the next say went so well both with your breakfast and... More 

Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been twice before to this Hotel and have enjoyed the stay but this time it certainly has confirmed this will be our last. We tried to book the All Inclusive deal by phoning the hotel but was told by reception to ring back twice. On the third attempt we were put through to a lady called Sarah in reservations and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David C, Customer Service and Training Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologise that your stay failed to meet with your expectations across a number of areas which have highlighted obvious deficiencies in communication and training of some staff. The points you have highlighted will be raised with the individual department Managers... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Hull Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hull Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hull Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay