We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE SAVER - 15% OFF
Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
66%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Derek K Norwich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    138
    93
    40
    18
See reviews for
52
173
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a decent value for money 3 star hotel. Accommodation is very acceptable if a little dated. All lights and appliances worked in my room during my one night stay. The staff were all very friendly and willing to assist with any queries or local advice needed. Restaurant food in the evening was very good indeed, a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived with friends for new years eve,warm welcome clean rooms helpful staff. Upon returning from our meal out we were welcomed to join in the celebrations for Lowing the dinner dance disco and count down everyone really friendly and sociable. Drinks reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Thank you for your generous review. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope next year you will join us for our celebrations - we are starting the evening with a glass of bubbly and our piper is piping everyone through to dinner. It promises to be a brilliant night. Best wishes David More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well it's an interesting place. Like the look of the old building, but it could do with a revamp. Some of the window don't close properly, which creates a bit of a draft. I think they have really tried to fit a double bed in a very small room, which created a closed in feeling for me. Not the worse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was dissapointed to read that you had difficulty closing your window and that you found the room too small. There are many advantages when staying in a historic hotel and one of the differences with the standardised new build properties is the large variety of room types and sizes, it is essential that we... More

Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a spacious,comfortable hotel..I stayed overnight on business in a large,well appointed room.The stay was slightly marred by the antiquated plumbing,,a problem of which the hotel are aware but unable or unwilling to rectify. The restaurant food was very good,as was the service.The D,B &B (Wine Deal) rate is exceptional for a hotel of this standard.I recommend this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recomendation. I was very pleased you found our food and service very good and will be staying with us again. I am sorry that you had problems with the plumbing in the room and we would like to solve this for future guests, could you drop me a a quick email with either... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went on a short trip with national holidays and stopped at this hotel for one night. It looks lovely from outside,very grand,it is also in an excellent location as well with shops just across the road,inside is really nice too. The room we stopped in was excellent,clean and tidy. The staff are friendly & polite. The evening meal and breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review. I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the room excellent and the team friendly and polite. Many thanks David More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite being sandwiched between the railway station and a busy main city centre road the room in the centre of the hotel was quiet (and small but comfortable) as requested. The reception staff were efficient and courteous. The room was clean and satisfactory for an overnight business stay. The tap for the shower was incidentally very stiff and difficult to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on your recent visit at the Mercure Royal Hotel Hull. We all pleased to read that you had a good stay at the Mercure Royal Hotel Hull and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. I will distribute your comments to the team of the hotel as... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in your hotel over the weekend was a nice stay but i found 1 of you bar staff very rude ignorant her name was christine i asked for a coffee twice and when she finally served me she put it on the side by slamming it down and very rudley asking for 2.35 she i will not be returning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on your recent visit at the Mercure Royal Hotel Hull. We all pleased to read that you had a good stay at the Mercure Royal Hotel Hull and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you have received from... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used a gift voucher for a "deluxe" two night brea with breakfast, so perhaps my expectations were too high. First impression of the twin room was that it was clean, but very small somewhere at the side of the hotel overlooking the side of neighbouring buildings. The loo did not flush properly so as we had not unpacked, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on your recent visit at the Mercure Royal Hotel Hull. We are dissapointed to hear of your experience and please accept our apologies. I will distribute your comments to the whole team as they too, I am sure will be disapointed. The next time you are planning to visit the... More

Market Weighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfy room, lots of nice extras in the room, grand hotel entrance. There is limited parking, and the football was on when we arrived so we had to park @ St Stephens. We were attending a wedding and the food was absolutely fantastic, incredibly generous portions and really tasty - my vegetarian option was enormous and different for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on your recent visit at the Mercure Royal Hotel Hull. We all pleased to read that you had a good memorable stay and I am glad to see that the wedding was a sucess. I will distribute your comments to the catering team as they too will be pleased to... More

Been to Mercure Hull Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Royal Hotel

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull
Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hull Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, ACCOR, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hull Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hull Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mercure Hull Royal Hotel to your Saves list