We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart and Simple Hotel

54 - 57 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smart and Simple Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smart and Simple Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
22
54
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice, quirky hotel which is just round the corner from the train station. Simple amenities but their are an abundance of restaurants and bars near by. Only downside is having a room on the front as road noise will keep you awake if you're a light sleeper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea and was looking forward to a treat! Not the case!! On arrival we were treated as though they weren't expecting us. We asked to sit in the garden and were offered tea or coffee. Coffee arrived quickly (one tiny pot for 2 of us) and then the chocolate afternoon tea. (No better than)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner bought the chocolate afternoon tea deal via Groupon as something nice for us to do one weekend. It was a waste of money! The items mentioned in the deal were clearly unavailable, not that this was explained to us! The brownies were ok, the roulade and éclairs were something you'd expect from an Iceland value pack, I ended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived there was a very pleasant receptionist who took us to our table. Unfortunately she was the only positive thing from the experience. The tea arrived (no sandwiches??) smelling of burnt chocolate. There were 4 tiny brownies that had obviously been nuked for too long in a microwave.... The eclairs were ok ish. They had obviously been to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A cute little place that looks unassuming from the front, but has an amazing garden view which is all opened up. The afternoon tea was amazing, a delicious selection of tasty treats and in this case, my partner's tea was replaced with a soft drink. The staff are really friendly and we were really pleased with our visit. We'll definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've drove past this a few times on my visits to Tunbridge and never thought much of it. The outside doesn't look very appealing. However, last year I needed a place to stay an extra night and this place came up on a website. I booked it and drove straight there. Having booked so fast I got there before my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hockleycolbran, Public Relations Manager at Smart and Simple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. More 

Aylesford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived the reception area smelt awful and we believe this was due to the very dirty fish tank. The receptionist was very abrupt and unfriendly and she could not even help my friend with advice on where to park her car!! When we were seated the cutlery and crockery was absolutely filthy. We decided to ask to sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hockleycolbran, Public Relations Manager at Smart and Simple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. I'm sorry you were disappointed in your visit. Our staff are highly trained in customer care and you obviously felt that this was not the case. Please always make you feelings known when visiting a restaurant, hotel or any public service as nothing can be done when a review is left at... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whenever we are in Twells we always stay here. We have stayed in many different rooms within the hotel and they all are so different some of the bath rooms are huge and modern and some aren't so grand bearly fitting one person in. But all the rooms have been roughly the same size. Overall I am very happy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hockleycolbran, Public Relations Manager at Smart and Simple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. I'm sorry you were disappointed in your visit. Our staff are highly trained in customer care and you obviously felt that this was not the case. Please always make you feelings known when visiting a restaurant, hotel or any public service as nothing can be done when a review is left at... More 

Gemsie26
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took my mum here today for the chocolate afternoon tea. The food was lovely. We were the only people there but was disappointed when staff sat opposite us having a meeting about apprenticeships, couldn't concentrate on our conversation but could tell you how many weeks it was, the finance and what skills they would be learning... And who head chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's definitely more like 3.5 stars, but unfortunately I can't give it that. We stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding at High Rocks. The Hotel is in a convenient location for a number of wedding venues in the area. The room was clean and relatively spacious. Bed was comfortable and all the linens and towels were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay