We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Tunbridge Wells

Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8BU, England (Formerly "The New Wellington Hotel")
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    25
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
29
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding at High Rocks. Free transport back to the hotel. The bar was still open. The hotel is a close walk to the local shops. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel has been refurbished to a good standard. Value for money was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 1 night as we had a wedding in a nearby village. The hotel has limited parking for which there is a charge. We arrived shortly after midday and paid the £10 for early check-in (available from midday, normal check in is at 3pm). The reception staff were extremely friendly, professional and helpful and exceeded any expectations that you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

made a last minute booking and quite frankly, wished we'd shopped around for a B&B. Room was stiflingly hot and on the 3rd floor and the lifts were supposedly out of order although we saw staff using them? Every floor in this old hotel creaked and the breakfast was over-cooked and poor quality. The staff were lovely; very friendly but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s great that you found the staff to be helpful and polite during your stay. We want our customers to enjoy their experience in our café so we are sorry to learn that we did not deliver this on this occasion. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature spoiled your stay with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pillows were extremely uncomfortable (ended up not using them as they were so high they gave me neck ache) and the room was very sparse, not that attractive, but not terrible. Generally all was clean and staff were friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Tunbridge Wells hotel. It’s great that you found the staff to be helpful and polite during your stay with us. We strive to make our customers stay as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a good night's sleep. Feedback is invaluable... More 

Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked very much in advance and got an average room rate of £33 a night, so no complaints there. The building is impressive - originally a 19th century grand hotel, and still has many of the original features. The new beds were comfortable and the room spacious. The bathroom has a bath with shower. We were able to borrow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i have stayed at this travelodge each year for the past 3 years, okay, it was a bit run down in the past but you should expect that from a very old building, nethertheless the rooms i had were clean and comfortable. this year ,i have just stayed 4 nights last week and travelodge have done the whole hotel up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night due to being at a nearby wedding reception. I've stayed at other Travelodge hotels before, and for the price I certainly don't go expecting five star luxury. Good comfortable bed, in fact the room in general was fine. Reception a little chaotic due to there being only one computer which meant quite a wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. We are really pleased to hear that your experience with us in our Tunbridge Wells hotel was overall positive. We aim to be the best hotel for value and offer our guests an excellent service and a comfortable good night’s sleep. We have noted your comments regarding our check in process, lift,... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My company booked me in for 1 night for a business stop over. The hotel itself oozes old style charm that would not normally associate with this chain. The decoration was crisp and the room although on the small side was all that was needed for a nights sleep. I was greeted by 2 staff, Anita and Josh. Very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't expect a 5 star hotel, but do expect excellent value for your money. The staff really tried hard to make the stay special, and worked their socks off. The whole hotel had recently been refurbished, and was quite adequate throughout. A bit annoying they charge for parking in their car park (though the machine was out of order when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely spacious room! Really enjoyed my stay overall; although paying over £7 for a bowl of cereal seemed a bit ridiculous! Also right beside my room (108) seemed to be a a room that the staff used. Which caused me to be awakened each time they walked in and out of the room!! It was so loud the wall shook!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Tunbridge Wells hotel Rebecca. We are sorry to hear that internal noise affected the comfort of your stay with us. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. We have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as continuous improvement is our main focus. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.5 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.4 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?