We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    141
    66
    38
    5
See reviews for
56
252
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (465)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a wedding and was very impressed with attentiveness of staff, quality of food & drink and overall decor/design of the hotel. Checked in early afternoon and then went straight to the wedding downstairs. When we retired to our room in the early hours of the morning we noticed the room was vibrating and the noise from kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We went for a meal in the bistro and a night in hotel (without kids!) For a friend's birthday. The staff were really welcoming and the venue like a period drama house beautiful yet clean and modern. The room had a massive very comfortable bed.a beautiful free standing bath and monsoon shower.it had all facilities you needed too.Only negative is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We always can rely on du vin to have a great stay! Once we have choosen another hotel (it had a swiming pool) in the area and regret it! We should have stuck with the prooved and tested. Its always have excellent service, good comfy bed, great breakfast. Views are fantastic, great gardens. Close to all the essentials to vsit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Julia B. Thank you for finding the time to write to us on trip advisor and for your kind words ,we really appreciate your comments especially when they come from a regular visitor of Tunbridge Wells. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind regards Francesco Deputy General Manager More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a beautiful building in the heart of the town. The gardens in high summer are stunning with an area to eat outdoors with a quirky smoking area for those who partake in such things. The bedroom was well laid out with all you need together with an extremely comfy bed. The breakfast was great, the baked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Steve E, Many thanks for taking the time to write to us ,we are delighted that you had such a lovely stay ,it was a pleasure to read such a great review which will be definately shared with the all team . Looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Hotel Du Vin . Kind Regards Francesco Deputy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for one night last week. This was a birthday treat arranged by my daughter. The hotel is lovely, rooms very nice, we had a wonderful view over the gardens and beyond to the surrounding countryside. The room was a bit small, but very well appointed. The only negative was lack of room lighting when it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Islandbird52, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write such a lovely comment on trip advisor ,I am really glad that we have contributed to make your Birthday celebration a special one to remember. With regards to the poor lighting in the bedroom we are in the process of upgrading and increasing the lighting system,... More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed a both the Bristol & Winchester hotels, we specifically went 'out of our way' to stay at the Tunbridge Wells Hotel. Th room was O.K. but smaller than the rooms at the other 2, But ou restaurant experience was very poor, when we pointed out that the Duck was dry, the Restaurant Manager came over, & made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ball, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor and for bringing to my attention that there has clearly been a misunderstanding. When I spoke to you at reception I understood that there was a problem with one main course only and not dessert, hence why a complimentary main course was offered at your... More 

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An aestheticaly very pleasing hotel - tastefully decorated and beautiful Georgian style building. I agree with another reviewer regarding the location being slightly disappointing and beware of parking under the trees in the parking area at the front of the hotel - you may find it covered in bird excrement in the morning. The staff were wonderfully helpful and courteous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found all our staff helpful and courteous. We are currently looking into the possibility of removing the tree, not just for the reason you have bought up but it has outgrown its environment and this will... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I dropped into here with my girlfriend on Friday 13 for drinks and was served by Jamie the head bartender. I was very impressed by his knowledge and passion about his products which helped in suggesting a cocktail for my girlfriend that made her feel special. He was clearly enthusiastic and proud to lead his team, and happy to share... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. It is always a pleasure to read a review about individual employees and I will certainly pass on your feedback personally to Jamie. Jamie certainly enjoys what he does his passion and creativity for the job clearly shows to our guests. He has come a long... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst this hotel is a beautiful Georgian building, it's location leaves a lot to be desired. Police Station opposite and ghastly 60's office block next door. The Pantiles area is about 20 mins walk away. The welcome at Reception was good and the general ambience very nice. The bistro style restaurant was good although the drinks were pricey. Dinner for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that your were slightly dissapointed with your stay and wanted to come back to you regarding your comments. The, beds I agree are too large for some rooms. New beds will be in situe by the end of the year however the single matresses on a double bed... More 

kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for two nights over a very busy weekend . This time we stayed in the Brown Brother room which was enormous , the bed was extremely comfortable and huge. It had a little seating area , a roll top bath and a monsoon shower . The room overlooked the park at the rear of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikki D, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and you were able to have our ever popular Sunday brunch. Sunday is becoming a firm favourite at the hotel and pre-booking is advised! I will certainly pass on your feedback to our F&B Manager who works very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question