We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Dover hotels

Loddington House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 East Cliff | Sea Front, Marine Parade, Dover CT16 1LX , England
Hotel amenities
Loddington House

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
83%
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Dover
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013
Ken A Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Robert welcomed us when we arrived at about 4.30pm. As we were the only guests that night he gave us a choice of which room we wished to have (although we had only booked and paid for the cheapest room at the back of the hotel). My wife chose a lovely en-suite twin room overlooking the front and the harbour.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were met with a great welcome. Lovely room, with sea view. No elevator so had to walk up 3 flights, but Robert the Manager/Owner looked after our bags etc. Great sitting room and Library to relax in. Breakfast was served in an ocean view room and was very tastefully set, and all we wanted, only had to ask. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Robert was an excellent host. A tip if you have a lot of luggage, is to pack a smaller one for the night. There are stairs, and it would be hard to carry much luggage up. Our room was on the second floor, it backed up to the Cliffs of Dover, and faced the Channel. Very large room with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The setting is fantastic. The inn is right below the white cliffs and our room (the “Cream” room) faced right out onto Dover harbor. The view was amazing though there is noise from the road, which could be an issue for light sleepers (there are rooms facing the cliffs in back of the house which are doubtless much quieter). There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
scarborough , north yorks
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to our cross channel ferry. Our room was the pink room at the front of the building. Unfortunately it was probably the hottest day for some time and the room was just too warm even after leaving the window open all evening . The window had to be closed at night as the traffic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert C, Owner at Loddington House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Website states 'Pink room' double-bedded room, with bathroom across corridor. Windows/secondary glazing can be closed at front, as there is an air cooling unit right next to the window, for this purpose. I am sorry you didn't see it, it is marked as such. Breakfast, is £5/person only. We do offer cereals, yogurts etc, refills... More

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked this via Expedia and hoped it would be OK for one night before a cruise, and it was quite delightful! Lovely old house in a row of similar houses opposite the seafront on one side and the cliff face on the other. We had the room with en-suite at the back = cliff-side of the house, so missed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Location is close to terminal but need a taxi if you have luggage.The room was clean but the one we had was small with a 13" tv. and a sink. Bathroom is outside the room shared with others.. Parking is in the back and if you have luggage you have to be ready to carry it about 40-50 steps up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert C, Owner at Loddington House, responded to this review

This review baffles me from the gentleman 1. televisions are all 19 inches. 2. Taps, are marked blue for cold and red for hot, pretty commonplace in the uk 3. Car park is at the front of the hotel, well sign posted 4. All our rooms are either ensuite, or private, which means across the hallway for that rooms usage.... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Quiet place really close to the terminal, so we stayed over before a day trip to Calais. Room all correct and functional with a nice sea view, a little old fashioned perhaps. We got told we could get in round the back using the key, but getting back at 23.30 found the gate locked and no answer to bells on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert C, Owner at Loddington House, responded to this review

As I stated to your wife, we don't lock the gate, I also sent you a text message on your phone to apologise for your struggles getting in. There is no locking device on the gate, yes, there is a Barrel bolt, with nothing to slide in to, it just goes back and forth serving no purpose, We took it... More

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My GPS directed me to the back of this property where only street parking was available. After check-in our host kindly directed me to the onsite parking at the front of the building. We booked online through a 3rd party accommodation website and had no problems checking in. Our room was on the top floor at the back of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had just one night to spend in Dover prior to boarding a ship for a cruise, and found the perfect little B&B in a historic corner of Dover overlooking the harbor. Loddington House is a quaint and lovely hotel with a splendid view over the water and, on the day we were there, a clear view of France across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13

Been to Loddington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loddington House

Also Known As:
Loddington Hotel Dover
Loddington House Dover, England, UK
Address: 14 East Cliff | Sea Front, Marine Parade, Dover CT16 1LX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loddington House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Loddington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loddington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loddington House to your Saves list