We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
36 New Dover Rd, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    190
    61
    28
    15
See reviews for
68
258
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (517)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed only 2 nights, but was very impressed with the whole stay. Restaurant wonderful. Parking a possible problem at busy times (but once parked, we used trains and buses). A good example of what we've come to expect from Best Western.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great place to stay in Canterbury, 10 mins walk into town and all it has to offer, which is a lot! Good looking hotel from the outside too, nice gardens and outdoor areas. Food is among the best I have had in ANY hotel, the service too is spot on, many thanks to Aura in the dining room, who won... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed as a small group of seven friends (smaller than anticipated due to ill health). The management and staff could not have been more helpful. Food was good, especially the extensive breakfast menu. Overall the service, food, rooms and location were excellent. Our little group all agreed that we should re-book for the same time next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your delightful review. My staff and I are pleased your small group had a great stay, we look forward to seeing you again, same time, same place, next year. Best regards Christine and Staff. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service at the last minute due to booking in at the premier in on the same road. We had issues with the premier inn and at the last minute drove to the best western to try our luck there. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is very clean and offers good food with a buffet style... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and choosing the stay at the BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton rather than the "other" hotel close by. My team and I are pleased you had a great stay, Pietro is the head breakfast waiter and is unique to the hotel, I have passed your comments to him. We do hope if you are... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us stayed there over Easter for 2 nights on a half board basis, which we thought good value. Everything about the hotel we found to be good but it became excellent because of the outstanding staff. We were asked to nominate the best, which we did, but they were all superbly trained and consistently went the extra mile.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your delightful review, my staff and I are very pleased to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for the nomination of a staff member, this goes to BEST WESTERN head office and they are entered into the selction to become a "Jewel... More 

TAD520
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would have liked to have given this hotel a 5 star review however our stay was let down by a number of things which were raised at the time and I hope that the management read this review and can use the information constructively. Firstly to be balanced let's consider the positive points. The hotel is well located for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. My staff and I are pleased to hear that overall your stay was a pleasant one, it is nice to hear you sampled our lovely tasty breakfasts and chose to dine in the Fountain restaurant and enjoyed the delicious duck. I have addressed the housekeeping issues that you have mentioned, my apologies for... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only stayed one night but I was made very welcome by staff throughout the hotel, from reception to the dining room. My room was large, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There was a good selection of toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. The grounds and building are pleasant and well located for Canterbury city centre. I left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank for your review,my team and I are very pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. We would love to see you again. Warm regards Christine More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel both for the quality of the room and for the excellent customer service from everyone. We stayed for one night as part of a coach trip to Canterbury but would certainly return for a longer stay. Special praise for the restaurant staff who were always efficient and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have passed your comments to all of my staff and in particular the restaurant team who are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards Christine More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was well maintained and we were given an upgrade to the twin room we had requested. There were three beds in the large room (room 6) and an excellent sized bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, being the usual sort of buffet. However, there was a major drawback, and that was the truly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments to my team. I have taken notes on your disappointment with regard to your evening meal in the restuarant and have spoken to the Duty Manager and Chef on duty that evening, who offer their apologies for the food being not to your satisfaction. I am aware that... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights, with our 2 quiet dogs. Breakfast, dinner and service were all excellent. Perfect location for centre of Canterbury, which was just down the road. Staff could not be faulted, so friendly and helpful. Nice touch providing duvet and water bowl for dogs!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, my staff and I are delighted you had a great stay, especially with your pets, we always like to make sure that they enjoy themselves as well. We look forward to seeing you again should you plan a visit to Cantherbury. Best regards Christine More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question