We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Canterbury B&Bs / inns

Magnolia House

5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 St. Dunstan's Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Magnolia House to your Saves list
Magnolia House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
72%
Ranked #38 of 71 Canterbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
LindaPanda Oslo, Norway
  • Overview
  • Reviews (81)
  • Photos (1)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
42
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Perfectly situated in a quiet street just a block away from the city center. We experienced very helpful service, well equipped room with toiletries and snacks/drinks. The breakfast was delicious and homemade. The bed was large and comfortable. All In all a very nice experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at Magnolia House at least 10 times when regularly visiting Canterbury and it never fails to please. It is way, way better to other similarly priced accommodation in the city which I have to resort if I've left it too late to book Magnolia. The house is always warm and welcoming and I really don't recognise some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had booked two rooms in Magnolia House for one night as my daughter was graduating on the following morning. On booking several months before, i was asked to give my exact arrival time which i thought was a little odd. I promised to let the owner know nearer the time and emailed her a couple of weeks beforehand with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to stay for the friday, and saturday nights, whilst in Canterbury for a wedding, and the owner, Isabel, could not have been more welcoming. Once allocated rooms, we adjourned to the beautiful garden to sit in the sun, before going out for a meal. The location is so close to the city centre, it was easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night this week. From the outside it looks beautiful. We were early for our room( we had to state a time for arrival) but it was ready for us . We're shown to our room , it was small for a double ,just enough room to walk around the bed,very cluttered with chintzy bits and pieces... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
parbold lancs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this place through late rooms and was so looking forward to a nice break for my husband and myself. However when I rang the proprietor the night before to arrange final details ie arrival time, she was totally unhelpful (rude). She informed me that she needed to know the exact time of our arrival even though I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Magnolia House C, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you interpreted the telephone conversation in this way. We by no means ask for an exact time of arrival as this is impossible for anyone to do when travelling. We do need to know an estimated time so we can arrange for someone to be here to greet you and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night with 2 rooms during graduation week july14. Canterbury gets fully booked up, so its somewhat a providers market. I didn't mind the décor, classic B+B I thought, clean room & en-suite, fitted out probably 8-10 yrs ago. It is probably not to minimalist younger tastes. The main problem, as stated before, is that the female owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Magnolia House C, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really value all comments and suggestions. I am sorry that you had to miss a cooked breakfast but as we discussed at the time, you had to be at your ferry for 8am and therefore it would be necessary for you to be in the dining room at 6.30 to eat a... More

east midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The house's vibe is very much to my taste - lots of bric a brac everywhere, little interesting trinkets, plenty of drawings and paintings on the walls- but not to my wife's, whose tastes are for the much less cluttered minimalist feel. The room was a bit small for the price, but actually very comfortable, bathroom small but well appointed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We slept in the garden room, it was accessible via a small corridor, in which a dressoir was standing in the way to comfortably enter the room. The room itself was large with an even as large bathroom. All very victorian furnished, with a four-poster bed filling the room. The next morning, the breakfast was good, well prepared. But we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
67 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The place oozes English charm is that slightly overstuffed, Victorian way. We stayed in room 6 upstairs which with heavy cases is a bit of a haul. Our room was large and in impeccable condition, decked out in a kind of Laura Ashley English Manner house style. The bed and pillows were a bit firm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Magnolia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Address: 36 St. Dunstan's Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Magnolia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Canterbury with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnolia House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer