We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Hotel amenities
Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #48 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015
Cefnboy Gwent
Add Your Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
colchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for weekend and had hoped for a bit more than a premier inn/ travel lodge experience. Room was clean but drawer front fell off onto my partners foot when we put clothes away. The shower tray filled up every time we had a shower and the side lamp bulb didn't work. Being 8 months pregnant the lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Gwent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Having seen the earlier reviews only after I stayed last night I wondered if I was in the same place!! I stayed overnight and the the room was excellent, very comfortable. I had a few pints at nght and a meal which again was very good. Breakfast this morning was also very good. I have travelled a lot and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford Essex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Have stayed at the Old Gate a number of times now and it is still a lovely place to stay. The rooms and bed linen etc are spotlessly clean and staff as friendly as ever. Our Bathroom (Room 6) didn't have a bath just a shower but it was quite large with modern fittings that worked very well. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We arrived not really knowing what to expect, mixed reviews had been made. We had been given the stay as a present using Virgin experience days, I cannot fault the place, the service was excellent from beginning to end, always with a smile and prompt. The room (No 6) was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. We ate in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper' s Lodge Canterbury on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible. More 

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

four of us stayed here in 2 rooms and had a brilliant time. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the actual bar/restaurant itself was fab too. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night to experience Christmas Canterbury and to shop. We ate lunch in the bar, good quality and value but rather slow service, before walking round the corner to catch the Park and Ride bus. The hotel is on the perfect position if you want to ditch the car. We arrived back at the room quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible. More 

Wolschwiller, Alsace, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We stayed recently stayed here for one night prior to taking an early train through the tunnel back to France. Our room was comfortable, warm and well-furnished. Before checking in, we had a delicious lunch in the bar, the steak & Kidney pudding was sublime! We also ate in the bar in the evening, we both had fish and chips,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight trip to Canterbury as a gift from my son . The pub is lovely and has old world charm and the menu sounds good and at a reasonable price. Canterbury town is about a mile away easily walkable but there are buses for the way back if you have lots of shopping . The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Loverly place with real fires that smell devine Excellent location for Canterbury £1.70 on the bus which stops outside and 15 mins from Dover port by car or 32 mins by bus Rooms fantastic and cozy Cheap food and drink

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed one night while visiting the kent coast and canterbury. This innkeepers lodge is well placed and right next door to the park and ride which made a trip into canterbury very easy. Our room was comfortable and clean, no. 6 although you did get noise from below from the kitchen door although this didnt cause us any problems.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question