We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 St. Albans hotels

St Michael's Manor Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St Michael's Manor Hotel to your Saves list
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Liz M St. Albans, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (300)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    73
    30
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
128
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had dinner with four of my friends in the conservatory a couple of nights ago. This is a beautiful place with wonderful surroundings. The presentation of the food was excellent and the food in general was pretty good. I had the pork dish and the pork was a bit on the tough side. The lemon meringue dessert was fantastic.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We came here for my husbands 30th birthday, and I couldn't fault it, the location is beautiful and peaceful, the mulberry room was so lovely and the bed was super comfy, we slept like logs! Friendly staff, and best best best of all we had two evening meals there and it was probably some of the best food we've ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The management here really need to think about their attitude which has been adopted by their staff. Very much, " not bothered what you think, take it or leave it". Rip off prices in many areas, food less than average. Lots more reasons to avoid this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment. I can assure you that I take these matters very seriously and would be grateful if you could respond to my e-mail sent via Tripadvisor today to give more detail of your stay. More

Barnet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had our wedding at St Michaels Manor on the 12th June 2014. We had an amazing day, the staff were very professional and helpful. Our wedding co-ordinator was Lucy Judge and did a great job of making the day run smoothly. We had our ceremony in the Cedar suite, it is a good room for a smaller wedding. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and congratulations again! Our cedar suite is a lovely private room that can accommodate intimate weddings like yours and Lucy indeed is a great asset to our team. We take great pride in our policy that we have guests, not customers or clients, and are able to create an elegant and homely atmosphere for such... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I attended a wedding and reception at the venue. The grounds are spectacular and the venue itself is glorious. The reception staff were friendly and our room was superb. Food and service was outstanding. Definitely going to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently for a wedding party at the hotel. Thank you for your compliments which have been passed around the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An excellent stay. The location is beautiful and conveniently located near the city centre and major historical sites. The hotel was well appointed, the room reasonably spacious and clean. It ticked all the boxes. The only niggle would be catering. We had dinner at the in-house restaurant, which seemed to be aiming high but missing the mark: expensive, niggardly portions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and compliments on the hotel. We were sorry to read that your dinner did not quite meet your expectations as we do receive many fine compliments across the board on all of our menus. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in due course to restore your confidence in... More

Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My relative had a bad experience at this hotel. A review was posted on this site, raising several issues and giving negative feedback. Strangely enough this has been removed from tripadviser, who claims my relative neither stayed at, nor ate, at the hotel. Since my relative had 2 meals there, with me, and was booked into accommodation this is strange.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in the area on business, but this evening was a birthday. Whilst we had a description of the hotel we must admit as we approached we were somewhat concerned as it was so near to the town centre. Our concern was unnecessary. The setting in the grounds and lake are delightful. we stayed in the Rowan room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and all of your detailed comments which we will be taking on board accordingly. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to St Michaels Manor. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I went here for afternoon tea on a Monday afternoon. I had reserved the table and said that I was a vegetarian, when we got there, I reminded them about this, but they seemed to have forgot. Nevertheless, I was still given egg mayonnaise and cucumber sandwiches. The scones were delicious with the clotted cream and jam.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recently visiting us for afternoon tea. We are very grateful for your comments which we have taken on board in order to continually improve our service and afternoon tea selection. We are currently in the process of redesigning our afternoon tea menu and selections which we hope that you will have the opportunity to... More

Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a Sunday night in St.Michaels Manor Hotel for a business meeting on Monday morning. Its a lovely small 4* hotel and if your expectations are for a 4* you won't be disappointed. I stayed in a luxury room called Cherry and this was extremely spacious and well decorated. There is very little to do within the hotel, except eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Cherry is indeed one of our lovely luxury rooms in our main house with all the benefits of being in a quintessentially English manor house yet with all the modern conveniences. Regrettably we do not have the space for a spa... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St Michael's Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965, and continue to own and run the hotel. Bedrooms are individually styled, many overlooking the lake and gardens, with the award-winning restaurant sharing the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

See which rooms travelers prefer