We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 St. Albans hotels

St Michael's Manor Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St Michael's Manor Hotel to your Saves list
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
81%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jennifer C London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    77
    31
    20
    10
See reviews for
71
130
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had an informal business meeting over coffee and lunch mid-week in the bar area. Charged £5 for a few biscuits. Chips not cooked, hard in the middle, steak sandwiches ordered but meat was just slice of beef on normal bread, crab lasagna glutinous and overcooked. Spoke to manager who basically blamed the waiter for not having explained the menu properly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This privately owned hotel is set in stunning grounds with a lake. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was large, lovely bathroom and extremely clean. The food at dinner was excellent, my choice of main course was unavailable so we were given free desserts. Had a very comfortable bed, unfortunately the duvet cover was torn. Breakfast was also very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this stunning hotel for one night for a girl's weekend away and have to say it was utterly brilliant. The reception team were quick to check us in and we were blown away by the gorgeous rooms that we were shown to. With an eclectic mix of luxurious modern furniture and pieces of Asian influence, the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on a saver deal 140 with breakfast. Reception very friendly .. Hotel is a beautiful house. Stayed in May room on top floor.. Good size room with modern bathroom , super comfy bed. Very clean and all mod cons... Modern bathroom only let down as only had shower. Ordered room service took 45 minutes but tasted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and particularly pleased to read your comment that the hotel is a beautiful house. We take pride in our homely atmosphere and welcoming service which evidently you were able to take full advantage of. Some of our rooms indeed only... More

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To mark a special occasion, I wanted to treat a good friend to a traditional afternoon tea in a beautiful, tranquil setting. The gardens did not disappoint - absolutely stunning scene as you drive in and the building itself is also attractive and well maintained. However, the afternoon tea lounge is small and we were squashed at a minute table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us recently however were disappointed with the size of our lounge and your table. We do have multiple requests each day to have a table by the window and regrettably we are unable to fulfil all of these. We often receive many compliments... More

Letchworth Garden City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were at a wedding at the hotel and spent the night in the accommodation. Rooms had obviously recently been refurbished as had the bathrooms. Very good indeed. Plenty of space in a very tasteful room (Poplar). All the facilities you could want in an hotel room. Bathroom with walk in shower and full size bath was tremendous. Can't praise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast which we will certainly take on board and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Please do see our website for our latest rates and special offers. More

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed here for one night. Room was excellent, staff were polite and very helpful. Arrived too late to eat at the hotel (just after 9.30 p.m. but apologetic, helpful receptionist did offer sandwiches and suggested places in town that might be open. Most weren't!) Good breakfast in delightful room overlooking the lake. Our plan was to leave the car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and thank you for your kind words. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate you for afternoon tea on the day after your stay however this was due to an exclusive hire of the hotel and grounds.... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If, like me, you enjoy Afternoon Tea, need a gluten free option and are considering booking St Michael's Manor you may want to re-consider. Firstly, the good bit: St Michael's Manor is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting - ideal for Afternoon Tea on a fine sunny afternoon (which is why I booked it for me and three friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your gluten free afternoon tea with us recently. We would like to apologise for the delay that evidently occurred but would also like to take this opportunity of reassuring you that items are not brought in from local supermarkets but from the finest suppliers we... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on the 23rd August 2014 for one night, picked this hotel as it was in good location and as we was going to the Harry potter studios the next day only 8miles away seemed perfect. When we arrived reception staff were helpful and check in was quick, room was lovely and spacious and clean!!! Food was average and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay with us recently. On Saturday evenings we do only have our a la carte menu available with a good selection of different dishes however thank you for your comments. We did also have a wedding here that day which we are very mindful... More

Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel as a stop over after a long touring holiday and wished I had booked for longer. Set in the centre of St Albans but in a quiet tranquil setting the experience was worthwhile. The receptionist changed my room when she realised the stairs might be a problem. Afternoon tea is served and is well supported by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RichardMarrett, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to hear that we were able to find a suitable room for you when you checked in and that you enjoyed our tranquil setting just a few moments away from the city of St Albans We look forward to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St Michael's Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near St Michael's Manor Hotel