We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Michael's Manor Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Add Photo

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    211
    97
    42
    23
    12
See reviews for
93
153
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (385)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Many years ago I lived in St Albans and often walked past St Michaels Manor, not realizing that there was a fine hotel with remarkable grounds behind the walls and entrance. A board of historical documents tells that it was bought in 1953 for the sum of GBP4,600. Today it is a very comfortable country hotel. The staff are exceptionally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The restaurant was beautiful _very light and elegant,with a lovely view of the colourful gardens and the lake.The staff were superb,so friendly and professional.The menu is not vast,but it was unusual and interesting.We really enjoyed our meal.every dish was so artistically presented.This was our first visit.We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had afternoon tea today, which was a gift to my parents in law for Christmas... Scones were nice, everything else was nice... Had to ask for a linen table cover though - this went over the grubby outside table they were sort of setting up for us as we sat there... All a bit odd really, like I say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked afternoon tea at st Michaels manor,it was delightful,staff very attentive, but disappointed with there choice of crockery tea served in small white cafe style cups and a big yellow teapot,someone surly at such a beautiful establishment should realise a change is needed,that was the only down side to a pleasant afternoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BelindaandTrevor Thank you for your review of your afternoon tea experience at St Michael’s Manor Hotel. I will share your comments with my Team and I am delighted that you were well looked after on this very special occasion. Ironically I am very pleased that you have highlighted the inadequacy of the current afternoon tea china. I agree with... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for tea for a special birthday . I and a friend had done this several times before . The setting is magnicent - building and gardens a delight. Everything went to plan - however - please management get rid of those brightly coloured tea pots - not in keeping with the style and elegance of the hotel. Reds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meatherts12014 Thank you for your review of St Michael’s Manor Hotel following your most recent visit and thank you for your continued custom. Afternoon tea is as popular as ever and I acknowledge the comments you have made. We have in the last couple of weeks placed an order for an entirely new set of crockery for this service,... More 

Colby, Isle of Man, British Isles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit, just for a lunch meeting. Top quality in all respects - service, ambience, menu, food, value. Likely to make a return visit for a leisure stay and to sample the dinner menu. A gem of place - almost a mini country estate in the middle of a town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear edgarjessop Thank you for your review of St Michael’s Manor following your lunch meeting; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us and I do hope you will find reason to return in the near future, to stay and enjoy dinner. Sincerely Julian Tee General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a real gem of a hotel, one of the best locations I have ever stayed in, excellent services, beautiful hotel and grounds. Really great food, I would highly recommend a stay here and to eat in the hotel, it was excellent value!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly D Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at St Michael’s Manor and a belated Happy Anniversary from us all. I will share your comments with my Team and I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you are happy to recommend us. Thank you. Sincerely... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Lake View Restaurant was "fine dining" perfection - but as I said WAS. Beautiful setting, excellent staff, but the food was really a huge let down. With a main course at £24 without any veg or pots its not exactly budget. My fish arrived dry and tough (how do you do that to a piece of Halibut), additional pots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline W Thank you for your review following your most recent visit to the Lake Restaurant at St Michael’s Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience was not entirely satisfactory but note there are also some very positive elements too. Having researched your comments I understand that we did fail to accurately communicate your request to change a... More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a "deluxe single", this is a standard room and is not deluxe. It was small and only had a shower. At reception I asked if they had a room with a bath, initially they wanted an extra £60 but did reluctantly changed my room to a double with a bath. The public areas of the hotel are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon M Thank you for your review following your recent stay at St Michael’s Manor Hotel. I am delighted that your enjoyed the property and note your comments concerning the bedroom allocation I cannot readily determine the date of your stay and so cannot check on the level of availability we had on the night to offer a different... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy relaxed atmosphere, plenty of parking , committed staff that know how to provide service, everything is created to a high standard, there is nothing not to like, beautiful surroundings excellent facilities, clean and well presented, food is freshly prepared, a great place to hold formal and informal meetings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian_M_Tee, General Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seayeaitch Thank you for your very positive review following your stay at St Michael’s Manor Hotel; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience. We do have a beautiful setting and although our meeting room facilities are small in comparison to some venues, we are perfect for groups of up to 24 delegates depending on the room setup... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay