We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sopwell House

4.0 of 5 Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St. Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sopwell House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sopwell House
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    262
    146
    80
    54
See reviews for
157
320
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (967)
  • Mar-May only
    (212)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (274)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (259)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (222)
All months
south-east
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was very excited at being invited for afternoon tea at Sopwell House. The venue was very attractive and the welcome on arrival was warm and inviting. I have experienced many "afternoon teas" in similar establishments so I had a good idea of what to expect in terms of food but whilst the tea (pots of) were replenished regularly, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of Afternoon Tea at Sopwell House and I am very sorry you were disappointed. I am glad you liked the hotel and setting but I have passed your feedback on to the team regarding the service you received on this occasion which does not live up to the very high standards we so... More 

St Albans
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Brasserie was very nice great atmosphere and great food would recommend visit. Worth a visit to celebrate a birthday or just a nice meal. The look makes any picture look great. Food was very nice would recommend the burger..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation of our Brasserie here at Sopwell House. I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and food and I will certainly share your positive feedback with the team. I hope we will see you again very soon. Kind regards Derek Hiscoke General Manager More 

Edinburg, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My lover and I have been here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The rooms are excellent - big, well appointed and with superb showers with enough room for couples. We booked the Superior Double Room which lived up to its name. It came with a good selection of toiletries and good quality bathrobes. Room service was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your fantastic review and description of Sopwell House, particularly as a regular and loyal visitor. It sounds as though our romantic Valentine’s packages might be ideal for your next visit! We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to warmly welcoming you back again for your next stay. Thank you for choosing Sopwell House. Kind... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Works do last night. All good except for the dessert when I asked for cheese and biscuits. I was told very curtly by a lady with long red hair 'we don't have any madam!!!". I understood that the waiters and waitresses were at their max, so said nothing and accepted that I wouldn't get a dessert (I don't eat anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Sopwell House for an event. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your visit but am sorry that your initial request for an alternative to the dessert was not met with a more positive outcome. However I am pleased that Piers came to your rescue and I will... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pro - It was a great hotel for a weekend break. Nice bedroom but I wasn't expected to see a view of the car park and the entrance of the hotel, which wasn't very good for our weekend break. But I have to say the breakfast was the best overall package. Con - When I arrived to the reception after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Sopwell House. I am pleased you liked the hotel, breakfast and your bedroom but am sorry you were disappointed with your view. Whilst we cannot offer everyone a garden view, we would do our best depending on the type of room booked and how busy the hotel is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked a corporate event with Sam who was helpful & accommodated all our requests with ease. When we arrived, we had a great guy to assist our meeting needs, followed by a delicious dinner in private room, again with a helpful team to fulfil our requests in a polite and professional manner. Our team seemed to enjoy themselves to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your fabulous feedback following your recent corporate function here at Sopwell House. We are very proud to have been crowned the winner of the 2015 Condé Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category “Best for Meetings‟ and so I am delighted this was your experience. I must add you were in great hands with... More 

London, England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sopwell House has long been known as a stopping off place for top football teams - as the framed and signed shirts which adorn the corridors testify.So it was a fitting place for the well known radio and television personality and former player and manager to celebrate his 70th birthday on a memorable night. Needless to say the invited guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the very special birthday celebration you attended earlier this month. Having recognised your party from your fabulous description, I have passed on your wonderful feedback to the whole team who looked after you but in particular to Daniella who was your ‘guardian angel’ for the night. I am absolutely delighted you... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made to feel like special guests by warm and welcoming Grazia at Sopwell House, who obviously takes great pride in making guests welcome. The place was buzzing on a cold January weekend & we headed straight to the spa where we enjoyed sitting in a very bubbly, hot, restorative jacuzzi. The three meals we had were all good,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your fantastic review of Sopwell House following your recent visit. Grazia is a wonderful ambassador for the hotel and takes great pleasure in warmly welcoming our guests so thank you for taking the trouble to give her a special mention. I have made sure your lovely comments regarding your dining experiences have been passed on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place was busy which contributed to a nice atmosphere. Every one seem to enjoy themselves included the staff which was attentive to our every need. Our room was spacious and beautifully refurbished - the spa is perfect with all the equipment required. I would not hesitate to recommend it - really worth trying out for yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive review and recommendation of Sopwell House following your recent visit. I am so pleased you like our new refurbished rooms and we are now very excited about the redevelopment of our Mews Apartments which will be complete in the Spring. I hope we can warmly welcome you back very soon and thank you... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a lovely weekend stay at Sopwell House. The staff were very welcoming and the service was fantastic. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The pool and spa were so nice and relaxing. I only wish we could have stayed longer! I could not have asked for a better stay! Everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5 star review of Sopwell House following your recent weekend stay. We are all delighted you had such a comfortable stay and very much appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. I hope on your next visit you manage to stay a bit longer and we will be delighted to look after... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sopwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St. Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell Hotel Country

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay