We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 St. Albans hotels

Quality Hotel St. Albans

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1JQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel St. Albans to your Saves list
Quality Hotel St. Albans
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
60%
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in St. Albans
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Ray M Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (209)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (47)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    63
    45
    27
    18
See reviews for
30
55
28
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stay in this hotel whenever we're in the area; on business and for short pleasure stopovers. OK it's not the most luxurious hotel in town but quite adequate in all aspects. The rooms could do with a bit of updating but they are clean. The pool is small as mentioned by others but when all you need is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your descriptive review. We will shortly be looking to redecorate some of the rooms. The trouble with Hotel's when you have finished renovating it is almost time to start again. However, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the compliments regarding the staff. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again shortly. More

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean but very basic accommodation. I would only recommend this for a short stopover and use discount websites to get a better deal than the full price. Rooms were very stuffy. The hotel could do with an update, the gym is very cramped and the pool are very claustrophobic. We didn't have breakfast preferring to go into St Albans to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly, we have coffee and tea making facilities in all our rooms. They are housed in a draw but the kettle is on view. In addition we have an information card to let ur guests know what facilities are in the room and the hotel. You refer to the Hotel as a "budget" but in... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently travelled to the lovely city of St Albans and stayed at the Quality Hotel in London Road. Situated for ease of access, plenty of safe parking and just a short distance to Verulamium and the Cathedral. A short distance to the railway station with just 20 minutes to the centre of London. Our stay was enhanced by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed St Albans and the Hotel. I will pass your kind comments regarding the staff and meals to those concerned and very much look forward to welcoming you here again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Start from the exterior. On approach very difficult to see. The signage is a bit poor. I drove past and had to turn around further up the street. Front car park was full but they have a rear car park. If your a new driver I hope you have parking sensors you will need them to get through the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. With regard to the front of Hotel parking there are two entrances, one which takes you directly to the back car park. The rooms nearest to the railway are generally our AC rooms. With the windows closed the railway can barely be heard. Hope to see you again shortly, albeit for a two day stay. More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Quality Inn with my mom for about a week. The staff is very friendly and really try to accommodate. The hotel is only 15 minute walk from town centre and right next to the bus stop, so not a bad location. Breakfast was very good. Sauna and pool are nice add-ons. The only thing I didn't like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasant review. With regard to WiFi you will be pleased to know this is something we are currently looking at. The reception in all areas is often pot luck but we are trying to improve this. Also many guests believe WIFI is free at some Hotels when it is actually hidden in the accommodation costs. We... More

Alford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Quality Hotel is the one for me. I have stayed at this hotel countless times and have been accommodated in almost every room in the DE bracket (I think this means Double Executive). In my experience, I have never (I really mean never) had any issues or cause for complaint and as such, I rate this hotel highly. For... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Wow what a lovely review. What pleases me most is your comments regarding the staff. It is not always easy to please everyone but all the staff try really hard to achieve this. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room nice, 4 poster bed but then they go & put a really bad mattress on it which was awful. Clean. Staff very nice. Drinks pricey but we went into town so they only got my atm & not my leg! Good parking, close to town & M25. Pool ok but no loungers to sit on. Breakfast was plentyful &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad that overall you were satisfied with your stay and hope when you return we will quicken our service of tea and toast!! Look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon entering room 304, it looked fairly good although a little dark partly due to the small window. The bed was fairly comfortable and the tv was reasonable size for room size, but this is where the positives stop. There is no full size closet, just a hole in the wall which is only tall enough to hang a shirt,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You do not say whether you informed reception that you had concerns with your room. Whilst you are entitled to your opinion I strongly dispute your indication that Travel Lodge is half the price! All the hotels in the area work closely together, especially if one is overbooked, whereby we contact other Hotels to help... More

swansea
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here before. I use it because it is near to my Fathers' surviving sister, and so convenient to visit her. Dad is now 88, and quite doddery, and to him, it's a lovely hotel. In actual fact, it could do with a lot of refurbishment. On arrival, despite having put specific room requirements on booking (ie 2 single rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are always striving to improve the Hotel and have indeed renovated all the rooms and public areas many times. You do not say if you mentioned to the staff about the Wedding function but I do know if other rooms were available they would have moved you. We are a 3 star Hotel and... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good points: close to city centre, clean, air conditioned rooms. Plenty of parking out the back. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Bad points: Breakfast quality is average. Competent but nothing really stands out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do expect to be middle of the range being a 3* Hotel but strive to be better. The chefs are frequently complimented for the quality of the food. The Head chef has been here for many years and takes gret pride in his work. However, you are entitled to your opinion and I will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Hotel St. Albans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel St. Albans

Address: 234 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel St. Albans 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel St Albans
Quality Inn Saint Albans

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St. Albans with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
43

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel St. Albans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer