We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 St. Albans hotels

Quality Hotel St. Albans

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1JQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel St. Albans to your Saves list
Quality Hotel St. Albans
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carol C Brighton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    40
    24
    15
See reviews for
27
48
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans was a lovely surprise. On arrival we were disappointed as our room seemed very basic for a family of 4 - beds lined up as in a dormitory with no separate space to relax - but the longer we stayed the more we liked the hotel. The room proved to be more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your valued feedback and comments, such feedback is vital to maintaining and improving standards. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Quality Hotel St Albans very soon Regards Andrew Antoniades Operations General Manager More

London UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed here and for the money it was good value. The staff were very friendly although it was a fair walk into town. I booked a single room which was actually a good size, I had expected it to be tiny. The room was spotlessly clean with no smell of smoke as another review had raised. Being on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent stay here at the Quality Hotel St Albans. I will pass on your positive reviews to all of our team who all take pride in their work and our Hotel. Your views on the bedding have been noted and housekeeping will be looking into... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is on the outskirts but is easily walkable from the city centre amenities and attractions. I had a comfortable 2 night stay. Despite the room being on the small side it had good facilities. One or two of the bathroom fitments could do with upgrading but everything worked satisfactorily. I didn’t master the radiator valve but fortuitously the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for choosing the Quality Hotel for your recent tip to St Albans and for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate your kind comments about the Hotel as well as the detail of your review. Thank you for highlighting our location plus the quality and variety of our breakfast service. I will certainly share your comments... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Needed a short notice booking for St Albans and this was the closest and the cheapest, with free parking. Staff were helpful and friendly, the room was clean if slightly cramped. Freeview TV had all the usual channels, but wifi in the room was extra. Didn't go for breakfast so cannot comment. Only gripe was the lack of any smoking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are a smoke-free hotel and have been so for a number of years. Since the smoking ban was introduced in 2007 we have seen a progressive increase in expectations for all bedrooms to be non-smoking. Whilst I appreciate that there is still demand for smoking rooms,... More

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just spent two nights here and had a lovely time, We were on a bed/breakfast/dinner deal but chose to eat in a local Indian restaurant the second night as we found the dining room to be a bit canteen like and lacking in any atmosphere- although the food was excellent. The staff we came into contact with were all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for choosing the Quality Hotel for your recent trip to St Albans. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed some of the highlights of St Albans during your trip. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the quality of food on offer in the Restaurant. I will certainly discuss your comments about the atmosphere with the... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We only stayed for one night and found that the hotel met all our requirements. Decent location for St Albans, free parking, nice bar area. The twin room was a little tired especially the bathroom but we had no major complaints. The breakfast was superb with lots of choice and very good quality. The only real negative was that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Quality Hotel St Albans. Please accept my apologies that you were unable to use the Swimming Pool on the morning of your departure due to swimming lessons being held in the pool. We do have some signage at Reception and the Leisure Club area detailing... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I will begin by saying, that for the area, the rates are pretty good, and although a little on the outskirts, St Alban's isn't very big place, so 10-15 mins walk into the centre of town, no big deal. However....The place was clean and tidy, in good condition, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel for your recent stay in St Albans and for your subsequent review. Please accept my apologies that you found the bed to be smaller than you are used to – it would be advantageous if you could inform me of the room number occupied so that we can look into your comments in... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for my Mum's birthday and the hotel were kind enough to provide complimentary wine and chocolates, plus a birthday card. Very much appreciated. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel so can't comment on the other facilities, but everything looked welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to share your comments. I was delighted to read that you had a good stay with us. We certainly hope to welcome you again in the future when you will hopefully have the time to use our Restaurant, Bar and Leisure Facilities. More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Due to a family bereavement, at short notice we had to make our way to St Albans from Aberdeen. The hotel was well located for the arrangements and we needed an economic stay. We opted for the Quality Hotel and our only complaints would be the bathroom and shower were very poor and dated, our choice for the evening meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read of your reasons for needing to visit St Albans on this occasion. I believe that I have identified the room allocated to you during your stay – it is indeed in an ‘older’ section of the Hotel. We are currently undertaking some... More

Southport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I found the hotel a bit dated and tired looking - especially in my bathroom (see attached photos). No complaints about the staff, they were all friendly and helpful. There were a couple of other disappointing points - the heating only comes on at 17:30, I finished early one day and my room was freezing, the receptionist did offer use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ed_Flanagan, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to share your comments with us. Please accept my apologies that you found the room allocated to be below our normal standards of decor and comfort. We do have an ongoing programme of re-decoration of bedrooms and the room allocated is due for... More

Been to Quality Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel St. Albans

Also Known As:
Quality Hotel St Albans
Quality Inn Saint Albans
Address: 234 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel St. Albans 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel St. Albans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.