We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 St. Albans hotels

Quality Hotel St. Albans

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1JQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel St. Albans to your Saves list
Quality Hotel St. Albans
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
A27Lincolnshire Lincolnshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    43
    24
    18
See reviews for
28
53
27
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We used this hotel as somewhere to sleep only, as we were guests at a friends wedding in St Albans. The hotel was ok, but in need of TLC, the rooms were clean, but in need of maintenance and there were bits hanging off the wall in the bathroom. Staff were helpful and polite, but slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read some fairly damning and poor reviews of the Quality Hotel, but only after I had booked 2 rooms for a 1 night stay on what turned out to be the hottest day of the year (Fri 18 July). Windows don't open, no air con, smelly rooms etc so I arrived with some trepidation and thought it best not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHVict, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We do strive to provide a high standard of customer service and it really pleases us when our efforts pay off with reviews such as your own! We look forward to welcoming you at our hotel once again in the not too distant future! More

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A one night stay in order to attend an event, this hotel only had to be practical and basic. It actually turned out to be comfortable and inviting. I enjoyed staying and can say that the place would be a good place to base yourself if you were visiting the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHVict, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review. We very much value such reviews as the kind words motivates all that serve guests. Thank you once again. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I expected a higher standard of cleanliness and maintenance from such a well established chain hotel. The carpet in some of the corridors was very worn and frayed and some fixtures in the room were poorly maintained -the loo roll holder came off the wall. Service was ok but one member of staff was very friendly and accommodating which stood... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHVict, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

We would have liked the guest to complain whilst at the hotel so that we can identify and resolve the issues highlighted. We are struggling to find the "very worn and frayed carpet...". More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having planned a get together with friends we travelled from various parts of the country. We used the hotel in 2012 and whilst cheap it was ok, sadly this time it was an epic fail. Returning to the hotel and entering the room for the first time I discovered my booked twin room was a double bed and a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KHVict, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

it seems that there was a misunderstanding with the booking and so due to shortage of a twin room, a Family room with a Sofa bed was provided. Clearly the guests were not happy with this arrangement and upon checking out after having their breakfast at around 10 a.m. a full refund was given. Did the guest really sleep in... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My company put me up here for one evening & it was disgusting. First I was given room 220, which stunk of vomit, so I was moved. Others were also complaining at front desk & asking to be moved. I was given the only other available room which was 109. It didn't smell of vomit but was very musty. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you very for your reviews regarding your stay here at the Quality Hotel St.Albans. I was very sad to hear that your original room was not to your satisfaction and the second room although comfier, housekeeping standards let the room down. We regularly inspect our rooms and I have had a good look at room 109 with our head... More

Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in room 216 in June. The room was as I expected for a single room. The bed was very comfortable and the pillow was also. A small bit of advise would be to leave the water pot, coffee and tea in an area easily in sight, mine was in a drawer which I didn't expect and only found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feed back on your recent stay here at the Quality Hotel St Albans. I will pass on all your positive views to all our team and thank you once again. Kind regards Andrew Antoniades Operations General Manager More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our weekend stay in St. Albans was made very welcome by the very professional, friendly staff of the Quality Hotel, London Road, St. Albans. With excellent facilities and food and a professional and dedicated work team I look forward to my next stay at this establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for your Wonderful review. Customer Satisfaction is our main aim , so I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met all of your expectations . I do hope that we see you back at the Quality Hotel St Albans in the very near future . Kind regards Andrew Antoniades More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was unfortunately booked into this Hotel by my company . After one sleepless night in a hot stuffy grubby room , I tried to find alternative accommodation , but the area was busy and the nearest vacancy was too far out . I stay away often with work and this by far is the worst I have ever stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Having read your review I am amazed at your comments, particularly as you did not raise ONE concern during your stay!! I considered having your review removed as I am suspicious of your veracity and creditability but decided it was better for our other guests to judge you and compare this with the many very complimentary reviews we receive. We... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Rooms equipped as you would expect in a three star hotel, very comfortable if anything a little too hot. Clean and tidy all round. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast choice was varied and plentiful. No great issues good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A_Antoniades, General Manager at Quality Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recent stay here at the Quality Hotel St Albans. I will pass on all your positive feedback to our team. Thank you once again Kind regards Andrew Antoniades More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Hotel St. Albans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel St. Albans

Address: 234 London Road, St. Albans AL1 1JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel St. Albans 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel St Albans
Quality Inn Saint Albans

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
43

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer