We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 St. Albans B&Bs / inns

Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Colney Fox | 1 Barnet Road, London Colney Street, St. Albans AL2 1BL, England
Hotel amenities
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #11 of 16 St. Albans B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sightsmellsounds
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
18
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The colney fox is an inn as well as a pub. Good food, exceptionally nice staff and wonderful atmosphere for lunch, dinner or just a drink! Pies are delicious and the churros...yummy! It has a nice fireplace for the winter and nice outdoor seating for warmer weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd like to think I drew the short straw on room allocation maybe . Instead of a £70 nights stay I had the comparison of a £35 nights stay . The room was tiny ( room 6 ) and right next to what sounded like an external extractor fan . I realise that the room next door having a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great rooms, service and nice complimentary breakfast. Staff very helpful and food in the restaurant good too. Would recommend it as a stopover place for business or leisure travellers to St Albans if you have the car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we found this a very friendly and ideal location. We were met by very efficient and helpful staff. The room was well presented, clean and had everything required, if you did need extra then again the staff were only to pleased to assist. We had a very good sleep as the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was well presented and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review. . More

Blackpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an old pub and in the old part of London Colney which is quite nice with the river, swans and walks. It is in a good location near to St Albans and surrounding areas. New additions to the village of London Colney are not attractive. We arrived late on a Sunday evening and the pub was deserted so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge st Albans, London Colney. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments. More

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

the colney fox, the outside very impressive,first thought must be haunted ,look of old coaching inn... Loved it.warm welcome,taken to room,room clean,warm,and nice quality wood furniture,good tv,clean comfy bed..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney . More

Doha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Lovely old pub accommodation. Yes the floor boards creak but what do you expect in an old place. It was lovely. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was included in the price and was more than adequate for us. A good choice of cereal, fruit, breads, cakes, yogurts. Cooked breakfast available for extra cost if you wanted it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge, St Alban's, London Colney a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible More

Kernow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and found it generally adequate but always lacking in one way or another. On the latest stay we asked for a quiet room but were placed next to a ventilation system running noisily way into the night and starting again very early in the morning. We were refused service in the bar at 10.15 on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Alban's was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review. More

England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

For the price paid it was a good base. The rooms however are not the biggest and the bathrooms are small too, but on the plus there is everything you need for an overnight stay. Beds ok, a matress topper on would be nicer. Staff are all very nice, we ate in the pub on the first night and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney. More

Notts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I booked this as my usual Premier Inn was full, but very glad that I did. Very friendly staff, clean & comfortable room. The only downside for me was the lack of a fan in the room as it was a very warm night (I did mention this in my feedback review so maybe next summer). I will definitely stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you were happy with your recent visit here. We will reply to you personally, as all feedback really helps us to ensure that our guests are not disappointed. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Address: The Colney Fox | 1 Barnet Road, London Colney Street, St. Albans AL2 1BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay