We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westgate Hotel

2 Romsey Rd, Winchester SO23 8TP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Westgate Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Lovely, quirky hotel with a large room (8) clean, crisp bed linen and towels. Only downside, no wardrobe or hooks to hang anything. I believe this is work in progress. The staff were great, friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast was 5-star with a good choice menu. Great value considering it is in the city centre.

Helpful?
Thank RojjerB18
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

I stayed here 1 night with my friend it is a friendly hotel the staff are very helpful. the room was clean and no problem that we had to share a bathroom!! no good if you are an invalid as there are quite a few stairs to climb!! and no lift had a lovely cooked breakfast. and the Hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizgilpin
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

A very basic room,no homely touches or cosiness. there was nowhere to hang or put clothes. Luckily we had taken clothes on hangers in a suit carrier so hung this on the back of the one chair in the room. We knew this was a family room but the 2 single beds were not made up and were literally divans... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui020
helen s, Owner at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry your stay wasn't satisfactory. We will be addressing all of these issues during a refurbishment in 2016. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

Had to stay at a hotel due to working a particularly late shift at work nearby. Had never been to the Westgate before but knew of it. Called to book, landlady was very polite, helpful and friendly. When I arrived to check in, she was very welcoming and helpful, showing me round the hotel as I was going to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giles A
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

Exactly what we were looking for, we loved the quirky old building with really friendly and welcoming staff and it is in a perfect location within Winchester. The room was spacious and clean. Extremely reasonably priced with cooked breakfast included which we couldn't fault !! Will definitely be staying here again.

Helpful?
Thank nic c
helen s, Owner at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We certainly are quirky and we are definitely friendly. New refurbishment plans afoot for 2016 so watch this space. Helen More 

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

If you want to be in the centre of Winchester, it's cheaper than the opposition, but you can see why. Décor is not great, room looked like something you'd see on the 'before' photos on Under the Hammer. Saniflow toilet not great for a quiet pee(pooh) in the night. Breakfast was OK but 'sorry we don't have any muffins, is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul N
helen s, Owner at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry not to have replied to your review sooner. I can agree with certain of your complaints but I would like to say that we will be undertaking a refurbishment in 2016 and hope to correct them. More 

Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

I really enjoyed staying in the Westgate inn hotel. The room was nice ,full of character, very nice. The landlady was lovely ,friendly, polite and very nice. She was the one who cooked our breakfast in the mornings and we loved it. The way she cooked our breakfast it could be my first best cooked breakfast which I have seen.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Centrally located hotel with a public car park nearby. Friendly hotel who waited for me to arrive. The room looked tired and there was a fair amount of road noise. The ensuite bathroom also has a really loud pump as well. It's not really a place you want to spend any amount of time in apart from sleeping.

Helpful?
1 Thank spindoc
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Great location for train station & city. Friendly, character inn. Comfortable, clean room. I was at the rear of the hotel, and no disturbance from road. Appreciated being able to check in early and drop off bags. Excellent breakfast. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
Teigngrace
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

All the staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. The hotel/inn was characterful and ideally located for easy acces to the city. The room was clean and commodious. However a little inexpensive TLC wouldnt go amiss, to fix the shower and broken plug chains. The corridors could do with a thorough dusting. The food was good, hot and well presented and... More 

Helpful?
Thank HallofTeigngrace
helen s, Owner at Westgate Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you had a poor nights sleep because of some idiots outside. I too was woken by them and it takes a lot to wake me. As you say though it is out of my control. Sorry again though. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel
Winchester Royal Hotel
#7 of 12 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#3 of 12 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 12 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#12 of 12 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hannah's
Hannah's
#1 of 53 in Winchester
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities